2017 Jetta

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Jetta

$8,994 - $26,985  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Jetta

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

192 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Jetta?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2017 VW Jetta - not your father's Jetta

by chuckoncars from Pittsburgh, PA on Tue Nov 01 2016

The 2017 VW Jetta is a nice mid-sized sedan with all of the features needed to satisfy this engineer. 1.4L turbo engine from Germany delivers 40+ mpg on the highway and has the power to climb steep Pittsburgh hills. 6-speed automatic helps to deliver a quiet ride with power when required. Sunroof and heated seats add to the deal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jetta GLI

by AdamSTL from on Fri Mar 31 2017

I recently purchased the Jetta GLI and have zero complaints. This car is stylish, and has very good power for its class. Another aspect that really surprised me was the amount of room. I am 6'3" and can sit comfortably in the drivers seat and in the back. I have not had the car long enough to comment on the reliability

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great overall car.

by Corpsman319 from Kaneohe, Hi on Sun Apr 30 2017

The thing I like the most about the vehicle is the simplistic design on the interior and exterior. Plenty of new tech on the inside as well. The handling is my favorite part about Volkswagen. It has a stiff steering wheel and while going high speeds it never feels like you aren't in control. Love my purchase and will be a VW owner for life.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice car, excellent value

by ThreeTimeVW from Illinois on Fri Nov 04 2016

1.4T puts this in the "budget" performance car category. get it in the 5 speed manual if you like to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'd buy one over and over again!

by Jenny Pettit from Sallisaw, OK on Thu Apr 27 2017

I LOVE our new Jetta. Amazing gas mileage, awesome look, comfy, and love the German engine!! I would highly recommend this car to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GLI has excellent engineering

by VW buff from Seattle on Thu Jun 29 2017

This 2017 GLI is my second, previous one a 1989 16V GLI. The GLI is an upmarket model, and when driven displays the typical German engineering and performance "DNA". Once you get used to that, you will miss anything that is not Teutonic in origin. I am demanding and compared this auto to other German makes, but for value this model can't be beat. NO disappointments. Do all recommended maintenance, as with any German make. It is reasonable; but other makes can be very expensive in this regard.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort, Style, Efficiency Combine for Great Value

by Martikus_ from Concord, NH on Thu Jul 12 2018

This vehicle, for having a small engine is sufficiently zippy once the turbo kicks in. However, it was purchased for its efficiency, reliability, and comfort, of which needs it more than met. Fortunately it added great features such as a moonroof, enjoyable sound system, and leatherette seats. Also added were decent aesthetics-both interior and exterior with great safety features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Vw Jetta S Auto

by Thinklikejay from Edison,Nj on Tue Apr 25 2017

good value for the money, standard LED daytime running lights are my favorite feature. As well as back up camera, cruise control, touch screen radio with bluetooth. Love the two tone black and grey interior. Seats are a little uncomfortable over time but they work. Very sport Vw cars have a very sturdy feel to them. the 1.4 Turbo is impecable in comparison to its competitors in its class. Drove the Corolla, Civic, and Mazda 3 but Happy with my choice with the Jetta and i know you will be too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Jetta SEL

by mclarkn_ny from on Sat Mar 25 2017

Nice little car. Quick good gas mileage and packed with technology at a very good price. I can recommend this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Needed a safe economic reliable car for daughter

by Dean smith from Arlington on Fri Sep 01 2017

This can has 5 start safety rating, gets 42 miles to a gallon, steering and handling felt like my BMW. Small turbo charged engine has a lot of pep, was not a problem getting on freeway or passing. No blind spots to worry about, just wished there was a fog light options without spending for the series option upgrade and couple grand later. Car does not have a lot of sound insulation so road noise is a little noticeable,but not a problem where your conversation requires raising your voice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 20

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Jetta

The verdict:

The Jetta isn't the trendiest or flashiest compact sedan out there (by far), but it's one of the most satisfying to drive.

Versus the competition:

Almost a stealth entry in the segment, the Jetta SE quietly holds its own against many newer compact sedans.

Volkswagen's Jetta compact sedan is like an old friend — familiar and aging well, but aging nonetheless. The current generation was launched with great fanfare as a 2011 model (VW had Katy Perry dance on the hood in New York City's Times Square). It was a Jetta redone for American tastes (and sales), replacing the European model that had been a little too small and expensive for the U.S. market versus mainstream compact rivals.

That model's cheaper interior materials and other cost-cutting factors were justifiably criticized for creating a car that was less special, yet "good enough" for Americans. But it brought more buyers, so maybe the Germans were right.

The car... Read More