2020 Jetta

Consumer Reviews

2020 Volkswagen Jetta

$14,898 - $28,606  MSRP Range
2020 Volkswagen Jetta

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

24 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 Volkswagen Jetta?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Vehicle

by sportzy_3 on Wed May 06 2020

I had a few manual BMW’s several years ago and missed having a German car, but did not miss the BMW maintenance. This car has succeeded my expectations and is absolutely fantastic as a commuter. It’s quiet, handles great, and the overall interior layout has a more premium look to it. Would highly recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this Jetta!

by Jetta Lover from SLC UT on Fri Apr 17 2020

I was looking to get into something with better gas mileage than the SUV I had been driving. To go from 22mpg to 40mpg is amazing! Easy to handle, great to drive. Strong VW!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle

by chartolman from Lone Jack MO on Mon Jul 27 2020

I had a Volkswagen before, but this is my first Jetta and I’m in love with this car. For the base model, it has a lot of the bells and whistles that others charge extra for. The safety standards are high as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW Passat

by Jerry and Laura from San Leandro, Ca on Wed Jun 24 2020

Car is all I expected, we love VW reliable cars, gas savers and fast. Can’t say enough about this car. VW car lover for ever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car by far

by allstar414 from Milwaukee, WI on Wed May 06 2020

I wasnt expecting to purchase a brand new car, but I ended up test driving the car and truly fell in love with my new car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bump Stops Removed

by Mike from Chicago, IL on Mon Jun 08 2020

Thanks Enrique & Chris for expediting my service needs today having just purchased the 2020 Volkswagen Jetta R-Line over the weekend. Really smooth ride makes for driving on Chicago roads much better. Thanks again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car that I have ever purchased!

by Dnichole27 from Pittsburgh, PA on Thu Aug 20 2020

I love how the Jetta performs I love the style of the body everything about my Jetta is great! I would recommend #1 Cochran Volkswagen to all my friends and family!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by Irish Woman from Neoga, Illinois on Sat Jan 02 2021

Only complaint so far is that my seatbelt alarm will beep when it’s on. Enjoying not having to fill up my tank as often. Gas mileage is great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Keeping It in the Volkswagen Family

by Mike from Chicago, IL on Mon Jun 08 2020

Our purchase of a 2020 Jetta R-Line was the first time we purchased a second vehicle w/ the same company, having traded in our 2012 Volkswagen Passat SE (130K miles). The interior & trunk space is not much smaller than the Passat we owned. The handling feels so smooth! Though I had to return the vehicle for service to remove the foam bump stops from the front suspension, overall we’re satisfied thus far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love Volkswagen Jettas!!

by I love my R-Line Jetta! from Atlanta, GA on Tue Sep 08 2020

My VW R-Line Jetta meets all of my wishes. I wanted a manual shift and the 6 speed provides the control I want. Its beautiful inside and out. I got the exact color I wanted and the two tone seat pattern is attractive. The alloy wheels makes my car super sporty looking. The R-Line is powerful and fast along with being sleek and sexy. The large sunroof is such a bonus that feels like luxury. Its a bit bigger than my 2016 Jetta but I LOVE MY NEW CAR!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2020 Volkswagen Jetta

The verdict:

The redesigned 2019 Jetta has gotten up to speed on features, tech and comfort, as well as value.

 

Versus the competition:

Always competitive in driving fun, the new Jetta now offers bang for your buck that helps it go head-to-head with compact sedan leaders.

 

It’s an SUV world now, even for traditionally car-centric Volkswagen. Its best sellers this year have been its new SUV stars, the Tiguan (Car.com’s most recent Compact SUV Challenge winner) and Atlas mid-size SUV (Cars.com’s Best of 2018). But automakers still sell a lot of compact cars in the U.S., and the full redesign of the 2019 Jetta shows VW is serious about competing for a bigger share.

The previous generation held its own in terms of driving manners, but it was bland. The 2019 gets up to speed with features, tech, comfort and, notably, better value. If you want more driving grins, Volkswagen has the sportier Golf GTI compact hatchback — a darling of enthusiasts (including me... Read More