1995 850

Consumer Reviews

1995 Volvo 850

$4,400 - $4,400  MSRP Range
1995 Volvo 850

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 Volvo 850?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo 850

by Wolfspiritky from Louisville, Ky. on Mon Nov 10 2008

Reluctantly bought one for my Son. 6 months later another driver forced him into the median and head-on into the cable barrier on I-265 in Ky. at 70 MPH!! Heavy damage to the front. From the fire wall back it was in perfect condition. He and two friends walked away UNINJURIED!! In a lesser vehicle I'm sure they would have been injured..or worse. I bought him another and and one for my 16 year old Daughter. I bought my Wife an S80. Now you know what "VOLVO FOR LIFE" means

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Keanu Reeves from Lexington, KY on Sun May 03 2009

I bought this car to my daughter recently. It is safe, and reasonably priced. I think that it is a great first car: reliable and low maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1995 850 T-5R is a beast!!!

by RSpi from Little Rock, AR on Mon Feb 28 2011

I did not know this car exsisted until the spring of 2009. I knew of the base and turbo model but not the T-5R trim. I was surprised of the deal I got on the car but the market was right, I had the car inspected, and cash on hand. I had to travel 1,500 miles to purchase it but it was worth the effort. The car had low miles and is the yellow color which is very rare. I did not test the car's ability until after I had the motor mounts checked and the timing belt replaced. Took the car to D-Max in Charlotte and was able to do the 1/4 mile in 14.6 seconds. No tune up, no mods. I would NOT recommend you get this car for a teenager, just to fast. I put 30,000 miles on it in about 12 months, loved almost every minute of it. Very little in the car has fallen apart. The only thing that was broken on the interior was the arm rest and the front edge of the drivers seat had a small hole worn in it (very common). The exterior was also in good shape other than the fact that the front lower spoiler was replaced with the standard turbo style, common because the T-5R lip is low and usually broken on parking spot stops. Common problems for this car include the following: A/C Evaperator leak ($1,500), Two engine mounts, PCV breather system, Headlight wiper motor. Good: The motors, when oil changes have been done, will go forever, likely over 400,000 miles. I get 25 mpg around town and 32 on the freeway (63 mph), when I drive like it matters. Seats are very comfortable, car pretty quiet, smooth ride. BAD: T-5R low profile tires are easily damaged by road, ride is sporty (not luxary soft), and did I mention that the low profile tires suck?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My First Car

by Happy teen from Annapolis, MD on Thu Feb 16 2012

You know the idea "Your first car should always be an old one" well this is the car i got, its been in my family since 1995 and the repairs can get expensive, But the car is great. its a comfort to know that if i were to ever get into an accident i would most likely walk away safely. And i get great gas millage for an old car, i get 30mpg and more if i drive economically! i highly recommend this car to new car drivers.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Swedish cars are great

by Macnasty Macdaddy Anaconda from Macon, Ga on Mon Aug 07 2017

Wonderful, so quiet and full of all kinds of power, love the performance, leather, moon roof, wish I was rich, would buy a new one and yes they are built for the miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

On of nicestest cars I have owned

by Valarievolvo from LAWRENCEVILLEL Georgia on Thu Jul 19 2018

Can't believe all the extras this car has especially for its age example side air bags heated leather front seats both moon and pop up and full open sunroof great speakers FABULOUS AC

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I LOVE THAT THING

by JOHN (CAR ENTHUSIAST) from ATLANTA GA on Wed May 09 2007

I HAVE HAD MY 850 FOR THREE YEARS AND HAVE LOVED EVERY MIN. IT IS ONE OF THE BEST CARS I HAVE EVER OWNED. IT IS RELIABLE, SAFE, SPORTY, AND GOOD LOOKING. MY ONLY BIT OF ADVISE IS GET THE TURBO MODLES THE POWER IS WORTH IT, AND REMBER TO SERVICE AT A PLACE THAT KNOW VOLVO

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo

by Jsims38 from Jsims38 on Sat Nov 18 2017

its a good car. May need a new alternator. I spent a lot of money repairing this car, but now it is in good shape.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Volvo

by Jsims38 from Jsims38 on Sat Nov 18 2017

I think the vehicle needs a new alternator. The paint job on the car is a little chipped. On the other hand, its works work

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1995 Volvo 850

The Swedish automaker Volvo AB doesn't make a minivan. With its 1995 Volvo 850 Turbo Wagon, it figures it doesn't have to.

Based on a controlled test by Motor Trend magazine of the 16 fastest cars under $50,000 sold in North America, the turbocharged Volvo wagon was the eighth quickest.

Its top speed was 152 miles per hour. That not only makes it the fastest station wagon sold in North America, but maybe the fastest sold anywhere as a mass-production vehicle.

"Our buyers are generally those who owned sports cars in the '80s," said Ward Lamon, Volvo specialist for Tom Wood Volvo. "Now they have need for a minivan or a station wagon for family reasons, and the 850 turbocharged station wagon gives them... Read More