Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 S40

Consumer Reviews

2008 Volvo S40

$2,819 - $9,423  MSRP Range
2008 Volvo S40

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

21 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Volvo S40?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Volvo!

by Megh from Jacksonville, FL on Sun Mar 14 2010

My husband and I bought our 08 S40 in July 2009 slightly used with only 9,000 miles for an incredible price. We are so happy with our decision to purchase this vehicle. It is stylish, affordable, and comfortable. I could go on and on.. I simply love our Volvo!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super Swede

by Greggles from Danbury, CT on Sat May 09 2009

I love my T5 AWD. It gets great gas mileage and grips the road in snow. I was able to custom order mine from the dealer and it came from Europe in 3 months. Passion red with 17 in rims and beige leather interior. I am frequently complemented on the car. It is a zip to park when I bring it into Manhattan. I am very surprised more people don't own this car. It is a bit of a best kept secret and very reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE MY S40t

by Volvos40Enthusiast from Rapid City South Dakota on Fri Sep 03 2010

This has been the best car i have ever owned. The reliability of these cars is great...i drive ALOT for work and i have never had one issue with it. I desided i would give up a little room for the sportier look of the s40 over the s60. In comparison the my last car (audi a4) i think there about the same, i am a hugh audi fan but i wanted to try something different and i tell ya this is one choice i am glad i did.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am an official Volvo Girl!

by EFlores from Chicago, IL on Sat Jan 23 2010

I just purchased my Volvo, and I feel like a Million bucks! This car responds, it?s very agile, and comfortable. I would absolutely unequivocally recommend this car... I love all the little compartments and the interior/exterior features, it was a great value!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

SIMPLY THE BEST

by CARFREAK from SA on Thu Aug 16 2012

I Bought a used S40 T5 a couple of months ago, love the power, styling & luxury. I fitted the Polestar conversion this week, makes a big difference! Throttle response is extremely sharp and the extra power comes in handy when I want to have fun. Bottomline, I love my Volvo.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Poor man's beemer.

by EverettW from Everett on Thu Jan 25 2018

I've only owned it a week but what a car...tight smooth and quick. Im getting 27 mpg city/hway combined. Most comfortable seats I've ever experienced on the road. 100k and it looks and drives like new. It's a t5 so the insurance is a bit more spendy but so worth it. I recently spent some time behind the wheel of a BMW 328xi., a great car but it doesn't have much on the s40 t5. I love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wife's happy, I'm happy!

by Jimmy "V" from Lemoore, Ca on Tue Jul 29 2008

Purchased a 2008 S40, 3 months ago and I have not regretted a moment of ownership. My friends love the look and the ride. The interior is a breath of fresh air. On another note, I have to say that with the increase in gas prices, our new Volvo has exceeded our expectations with respect to mileage. I also own a full size 4 door pickup, and the Volvo has definitely lessened the sting of driving my truck. At this point, I'm pretty sure I have mastered all the bells and whistles, but the whole experience has been a pleasant one. This is definitely an auto maker we will stick with for years to come.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great on gas and loving the Volvo experience

by I drive like a Cullen from Pittsburgh, PA on Mon Nov 07 2011

Owned the car since July and have loved every minute of it. It averages anywhere between 22 to 28 mpg and that's around town. I can only imagine what it might get on a highway trip. With gas prices as they are today the MPG is great. The sporty styling is what caught me eye and the reliability and safety rating the Volvo name carries drew me in. I am loving every minute of driving this S40. I would definitely recommend any Volvo to my friends and especially the S40.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Hidden Gem

by ShopCars from Gaithersburg on Sat Oct 18 2008

Do not over look this car. Its sharp, Classy, one of the most comfortable seats you will ever sit in. For an All Wheel Drive it gets 22 in heavy city traffic and close to 30 on highway. So easy to park. The upgraded sound system that comes standard in the T5 is better than most and is a breeze to operate once you get it down. When behind the wheel you feel like you a in a secured environment and in a much larger car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sleek Vehicle

by JRF08 from Corpus Christi,TX on Thu Nov 08 2007

I've had my 2008 S40 T5 for a week and it's great, handles very nice and is an attactive ride inside and out. Highly recommend it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3