2002 S80

Consumer Reviews

2002 Volvo S80

$1,085 - $6,457  MSRP Range
2002 Volvo S80

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

9 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 Volvo S80?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Bad car company

by C4 corvette fan from Kansas on Sun Jul 01 2012

Volvo has recalled the throttle body on this car and if you are buying this second hand I recomend you don 't buy one the parts are absurdly priced the dealer with wring out your wallet with ease and the car does some strange things like the air conditioner turns on when you aren't even in the car it has numerous electrical problems it does get pretty good mpg but it costs about 75 bucks just to change your oil by yourself just plain easy thing to say is don't buy a newer volvo second hand

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Calling out earlier reviewer!

by gtr from on Sun Jun 21 2015

The AC does not come on with this vehicle while sitting. The cabin air sensor detects when the cabin air gets too hot, and it circulates air from the outside to cool the cabin air. This is an awesome feature on a great car. This year is a great German engineering car, well worth the $ that it can be found for, don't let the guy that doesn't know about the car turn you off.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What a car

by TheLman from Orlando on Sat Aug 15 2015

The comfort is beyond any american car, my 10 year old son, says its like sitting on a marshmallow flying on a space-ship. - well, I wouldn't give it that much but it is very comfortable. The pick-up is nice but not over the top. The engineering is very evident in design. - you will have to get used to the querks, like valet switch that looks the trunk and glove box, it looks like a trunk release.all controls are easily at your finger tips and rides very quiet. - Ive owned 13 cars - from American, Japanese, and italian, but Im sold on the volvo. its better than the 5 serious BMW without the "look at me" flash.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by driver1 from Frisco tx on Tue Aug 28 2012

Had only Volvos so far, not the sexiest, but they are great to drive, comfortable and reliable! I am a Volvo fan for life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4TH volvo I have owned

by dadeo481966 from jackson,mi on Sun Feb 04 2018

I have owned a 2002 s80 t6,2001 xc70,2008 s80 and now I have a 2002 s80 project car. parts are no more expensive then any other make of car, easy to get, I do my own work on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

used purchase in 2014.

by svenska from Lawrence, KS on Mon Mar 21 2016

I bought a used 2002 S80 in July 2014 with then 115,000 miles on it. mine is the 2.9 straight six which I highly recommend but not for gas economy. lots of torque steer pulls to the right. this is FWD but not really done right - far too much torque steer that is my main complaint. great highway car / long wheelbase. large trunk and huge gas tank 21 gallons! now at 126,000 I don't drive that much really. strong recommendation. have owned 2 previous Volvo and recommend them over Audi or BMW.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Wonderful Volvo

by Mercedes-Benz Enthusiest from Cleveland, Ohio on Sat Nov 20 2010

This car has been very reliable for it's earlier years, but once it has reached 90000 it started to rattle, squeak, and make noise. It also has lost a ton of retail value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfortable ride

by Frontseatgetter on Tue Dec 26 2017

Solidly built. Quality parts. Surprisingly good on gas for large car. Very comfortable on the road trips. Responsive suspension. A very safe vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellant car

by DB from Joliet, IL on Sun Mar 18 2018

The car itself is excellent, however I have a hard time getting in and out mainly getting my right knee past the steering column. Another issue I have is that I also drive a few other vehicles regularly and they all have the Tach on the left on the speedometer to the right where as this Volvo has the Speedometer to the left with the Tach to the right. Doesn't sound like a big deal but as I'm driving and glance down I find myself glancing at the tach first. The 3rd item is I have big wide feet and the gas pedal and brake pedal are closer than most and I find myself stepping on the brake and gas with my right foot at the same time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2002 Volvo S80

Taken any first-class flights at ground level recently? It can be done in the 2002 Volvo S80 75th Anniversary Edition sedan. To be sure, this is a limited-production special from the Swedish automaker - commemorating the first Volvo car, called the "Jakob," in 1927 - so it's not like you're going to find long rows of them on dealer lots.

But the car that made its North American debut at the New York International Auto Show and went on sale in April is worth noting. . . if not for your garage, then for its myriad special features that could end up as standard fare in other models - even those produced by competitors.

The tested S80 was so loaded with features that it boggled the mind. That first-class... Read More