Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 S80

Consumer Reviews

2004 Volvo S80

$995 - $6,819  MSRP Range
2004 Volvo S80

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Volvo S80?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best family car I've had

by family father from Jersey City, NJ on Tue Dec 29 2009

We bought this 2.5T used and haven't even had a single problem, the car just needs the regular service. If you are looking for trouble free, spacious and quiet ride in a safe car, this is the model to go for! We'll keep ours for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great drivers car

by love to drive from boise,id on Tue Feb 07 2012

i bought my 2004 s80 used in sept. 2011. it was a one owner with 65,000 miles. i have put 25,000 miles on it in a year and a half. i have not had a single problem & the car runs & handles fantastic. every electronic item in the car works. i can't say that for any american car i have ever owned. the only thing i don't like about the car is $65.00 oil changes. the fact that you don't see a hundred of them every time you drive is a big plus. my next car will be another volvo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable luxury, poor suspension

by Volvo enthusiast from NE on Sat Dec 01 2007

This is my second S80. It is a great car for the mnoey (especially if you buy it used) -- my on-going problem with both cars has been with the suspension. The 2.5T is also a bit sluggish for a car of this price (also as compared to my older 2.9L). Overall a nice, comfortable car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

safe and dependable vehicle

by volvo owner from Louisville, KY on Sun Apr 24 2011

definitely lives up to Volvo's stellar brand name. Clean, solid ride for the money. Definitely like this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

VOLVO SPECIAL EDITION

by Rich from CARY NC on Fri Feb 15 2013

BOUGHT A S80 T6 PREMIER EUROPEAN LIMO VERSION OF WHICH THERE ARE A LIMITED AMOUNT. TV/DVD/PHONE/EVEY SEAT IS HEATED INCLUDING REAR ONES/AUTO SHADE IN REAR WINDOW/FRIDGE IN THE BACK/MULTIPLE CD AUDIO/ CRAZY WITH TWIN TURBO/AWESOME FOR THE PRICE FROM MADSEN MOTORS

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Swedish Tank

by Olaf from on Thu Sep 22 2016

I bought this as my first car and man is it a tank. It's a very solid, reliable vehicle. It's twelve years old and nothing has gone wrong with it, all of the electronics work(stereo is loud and very high quality sound) Everything on it feels like it's going to last a long time. The Vehicle feels so sturdy and solid. When you close the doors it has that satisfying thud you want to hear, the seats are so comfortable and could easily drive cross country. If this thing ever dies(probably won't), I will definitely buy another S80. It's a very handsome car, it's a car that ages very well. My dad has always bought American cars and refuses to buy anything Japanese, but he loves this Volvo. He will never buy an American car again, only Volvos. This is a very nice solid, reliable, sturdy, and safe vehicle and I feel very safe driving it. I would recommend it to anyone. I haven't driven it in the snow yet but I bet it will plow right through it. My dad and I have never had a super reliable vehicle because he has always owned Fords or GMCs. I know I'm repeating my self, but this is one heck of a nice vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Car

by DocNyto from Tallahassee on Wed Aug 02 2017

Never one bad thing to say about this car. Beautiful and comfortable. Mine had every option available in 2004 on this model. Everything worked really well. My one caution is that part replacement can take a long time to arrive and sometimes costly. Ouch. But worth it. This body style better than today's version.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car we ever owned

by MartinCityBoyChicago from Chicago IL on Wed Oct 25 2017

Everybody is complaining about Volvo Cars We Own our Volvo since Day 1 Best car we ever Had Yes there where some Problems but what car has no Problems ?!? Car is really reliable, great on gar and if you really take car of the Car and use Original Volvo Parts Not Aftermarket Parts many people use than you will have a great Car you can't count on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

safe and comfortable

by Scott from Dowling, Michigan on Mon Jul 02 2018

This Volvo exceeds in comfort and drivability. It is very well built and that makes a driver feel safe and knowing the car is reliable to keep me going down the road. Has many more ammenities then I actually need, and they never rust. I've owned several Volvo's over the years and not one of them has ever rusted and I live in Michigan where rust is the beast that kills most vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car For Anyone

by JNess13 on Thu Aug 03 2017

This car is very safe, comfortable, powerful and retains luxury features. The car phone is cool feature that's out of place but nostalgic. The mini fridge has been surprisingly helpful as times. Weather this would be your first car or last one it's a great one. It German power and luxury without getting all of the looks of BMW or Mercedes

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 Volvo S80

A Nice, but Passionless, Ride 2004 Volvo S80 AWD

The trouble with "nice" is that it leaves you wanting more.

The 2004 Volvo S80 AWD sedan is nice. It is a luxury runner replete with leather-surface seats, plush carpeting and simulated wood accents. It feels rich, safe and invulnerable. It leaves something to be desired.

It would have been wonderful, for example, if Volvo could have found a way to use its adjustable Four-C suspension system in the all-wheel-drive S80 -- the newest car in the S80 model line.

Four-C allows the driver to choose ride feel and vehicle handling within two basic modes, "Comfort" and "Sport." Variations within "Comfort" offer a soft, limousine ride -- along with... Read More