2009 S80

Consumer Reviews

2009 Volvo S80

$4,820 - $11,676  MSRP Range
2009 Volvo S80

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2009 Volvo S80?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

We love our S80 T6

by MadVolvo from on November 4, 2008

This is our sixth new Volvo since 2000 and it is the best so far. In terms of comfort, poise, and overall performance, it can't be beat. The combination of the all-weather capability of All Wheel Drive, Bluetooth phone interface, and Dynaudio entertainment system make the T6 a joy to drive in town or on a long road trip. And since it is not one of the "usual suspect" german sedans, it isn't as common on the road. Finally, once you sit in a Volvo seat, you will be spoiled for anything else. Imagine a six hour drive and arriving fresh, unruffled, and ready for more!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent car very strong love it

by Vilma A from New York on March 23, 2018

Excellent car very reliable and very safe and strong love it is not to good with mile per gallon. Nice interior love the leather :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i've owned

by red51 from Germany on April 8, 2013

After a Hyundai XG30 and a VW Jetta, it's the best car i've owned, very smooth, reliable, good engine with nice sound, smooth transmission, enough space, and it looks and feels luxury in every way. Good Xenons, nice leather and wood, GPS is easy to handle. Don't think that i ever will buy another brand.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love Volvo

by Honda Econ from Columbia, SC on December 22, 2015

My Grandma traded her 1992 Mazda 626 in for a 2009 Volvo S80 in July 2009. This car is loaded with safety features. The interior is beautifully finished. The car rides like a magic carpet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo S80-T6 kicks it in comfort.

by B52 from State College, PA on March 3, 2013

Having owned Volvo's previously (240's and 740's), I had an idea what to expect. Comfort, safety, reliability. Yes, the S80 is far more attractively styled, and it is also in a completely different class of comfort. And this particular S-80, with a turbocharged 3 liter under the hood? If you need to say 'See ya later', very few vehicles have the last word in that brief conversation. The S-80 is a typical large Euro sedan, it's nearest cousins are the German BMW 7 series and the Audi 6 series. But it seems built to get you to your destination relaxed. The handling is absolutely fine. The S-80 may not corner as tightly as it's cousins, but the drive-ability is superb, and perfectly suited to the U.S. interstate system. Interior comfort, seats, road noise, and creature comforts are what would be expected of a luxury sedan. Volvo's seats are famously comfortable. They're not racing style buckets, but do support the body and back very, very well, including a touch of lateral support commensurate with the degree to which one would wish to make hard corner turns in such a plush sedan. Really now, do you see me playing silly racing games? That said, acceleration is superb. The T6 provides an ample 280+ horsepower, and unfortunately, one pays a small price in gas mileage. Every gallon of gas will get you 20 miles, and each one of them is a pleasure. In conclusion, the S-80 is a full-size, fully considered luxury sedan. It's quite a serious vehicle for serious people, and yet it manages to be quite fun when one is in the mood.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Nbhs8 from Acushnet, ma on July 24, 2017

This car is reliable and efficient. It has low mileage for being a 2009. It gets me where I need to go and is a safe vehicle. I have had Volvos throughout my life and will continue to keep them on my top 3!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great, comfortable, powerful luxury cruiser

by polidoc from St. Petersburg. Fl on December 26, 2017

This is one of the nicest cars I've owned. With 281 hp and high torque at low RPMs it's very quick when you need it to be. With all wheel drive it also handles well in all weather conditions. Particularly great in winter because of heated seats and a strong heater-defroster. The minimalist Swedish design interior is striking. I've received number of compliments about the car's design. The only downsides are relatively low gas mileage and the usual Volvo overpricing of parts. All in all a great deal and a source of pride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun. Solid car

by Natalie on October 3, 2017

We bought this car when looking for a SUV. We needed four wheel drive or AWD. It has been an amazing car for us. Very solid. Excellent winter traction. Great acceleration. Good gas mileage. We have put about 60,000 miles on it. Only issue was we had to replace both struts at about 110,000 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by Mlee from Richmond VA on May 26, 2009

Get the Turbo package. I came across from the XC90 (I loved XC90 SUV by Volvo)to the S80. Just Love the sexy looks, handling and overall styling. Being over 6ft I fit in its very comfortable seats. A very reliable car, AWD excellent safty. Love the turbo ride sporty and handles great. Such classy lines. I did not want the flashy car but a fabulious car.. I know cars and driven all over the world and the Volvo performance,safty features always wins hands down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable, great bang for the buck

by Pyr02k1 from riverside, ca on January 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend had rented a bunch of cars due to my old truck not being able to go nearly that far. After about 7 cars, I decided that I liked this car enough to buy one. The comfort was unmatched without going to a BMW 5 or Mercedes equivalent. The only thing that sets this car apart from Mercedes and BMW is the power. It has a good bit, but it does lack the response the other 2 have. But as a whole, it's nearly perfect. The only other complaint I have besides the horsepower feeling like the transmission acting up (which I'm having checked on, during my first service this Friday under warranty) is the stereos USB port. It requires fat32, which is also unfortunate due to fat32 not copying in order, so you have to use robocopy to get them to copy in order or you play the CD completely out of order.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Volvo S80

Editor's note: This review was written in August 2007 about the 2008 Volvo S80. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2009, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Volvo S80 was significantly redesigned for 2007, so it had been on the market only six months when the 2008 model arrived. The only significant change is a new engine option: a smooth and powerful turbocharged six-cylinder producing 281 horsepower.

I tested the new engine in a model with very few options and walked away convinced that the T6 trim on which it's found — which starts at $42,045 — is the best buy of the lineup, providing as many or... Read More