2008 XC90

Consumer Reviews

2008 Volvo XC90

$4,030 - $12,590  MSRP Range
2008 Volvo XC90

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

43 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Volvo XC90?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by First Volvo from Washington, DC on Tue Feb 21 2012

Replaced an 05' 4Runner V8 with V8 08' XC90 CPO. XC drives like a luxury car compared to the truck-based 4Runner. XC is the "swiss army knife" of family hauling, with the ability to somehow load a lot more from Lowes than the 4Runner ever could, without having to take out the kid's car seats. The ride of the XC is quiet, smooth, and very easy to control. It does feel "big" though, given it's weight. It feels heavy, but not floaty. Steering is very easy and light. Seats are very comfortable, although the front armrest is too narrow and spaced about an inch too far away for you to rest your arm comfortably. There is "space" between you and the center arm rest, and the door. Kind of ackward, but ok. Clearly a safety design thing, which is the real reason to buy a volvo in general. When you "need" a volvo, is when you really need the safety, period. You don't get a "do-over" in that regard. You either have it, or you don't. No arguing with their unbelievable safety record of excellence. My only recommendation for anyone buying the XC90, is the V8 engine. The V6 is just worked too hard to really get the weight of the car moving. The V8 is effortless, and makes the overall mechanicals of driving it very smooth and enjoyable. The V6, albeit an excellent engine, just doesn't give you the level of comfort in the vehicle that everything else about the vehicle does, with ease. Buy the V8. Everything else is excellent about the car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING! No more Fords!

by mom who wanted safe car for daughter from Lexington, KY on Wed Jan 18 2012

Bought this for my college student daughter. It has all the "bells and whistles." Bought from small dealer in Wall,NJ who was wonderful to work with. Had independent company drive it since I live 10 hrs from there.Car was better than it looked. Safe, dependable, classy! Amazing value. Had a snow storm here last week.My daughter drove everywhere on ice and didn't slide once. I was so thrilled since safety was one reason I bought this. Therer are air bags everywhere in this car! No other SUV on market comes close. I've have an Explorer. I've had 4 explorers in a row! No more of them though. I am switching! I'm selling it to buy myself one of these.Handles better than any car I've ever driven. Has features like heated seats, power side mirrors that fold in,navig.,DVD,park assist, etc.Bought it for so much less than it's truly worth.Love that Volvo doesn't change body styles often hence the car will maintain its value for years, unlike my Explorer!Do yourself a favor and buy this car. I am! We are going to be a VOLVO only family, and "No," I don't own stock in Volvo or work for them!:)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I just bought my first Volvo

by Christianmom from Charleston, WV on Wed Oct 19 2016

I love my used 08 Volvo, but have had it less than 30 days and tranny was slipping, they had to change the fluid an said it was empty. When I got back I had a bad leak of tranny fluid. They have it now an still don't have it back. Husband has lost 2 days of work so far with no car. The light keeps coming on saying passenger air bag is off.. Have no idea why this is happening. Air works great so far, the kids love that its got heat & air in the back for them. Lots of space and my 2 kids dont even have to sit near each other..LOL Drives wonderful and stereo sounds great. Looks awesome an sporty. I love the little indicator light telling me when someone is in my blind spot an its not safe to change lanes. That is a blessing for me, I live in WV and with so many highways and lanes its great! Love the heated front seats, wish the back seats were heated. Plenty of leg room which is important with two teens. Plenty of room in the back for my kids and my 2 large Doberman Pinchers. As long as I dont have any other mechanical problems I think its a great and very safe car to own. ONE DOWNFALL, this car does NOT have a dip stick to check the Tranny fluid, So only option is to take it in and have it drained out and then refilled with the proper amount that is supposed to go in it. No Dip Stick? What kind of Idiot thought of that idea? LOL I'm guessing it's just another way to get money out of you if you cant do it yourself you have to pay someone to do it. Such a bummer.Also if your a smoker well you might want to invest in a portable ashtray cause they dont come with any in the front of the car. Only a small on in the back..Their is also No spot for a Cig lighter. Only a spot to plug in your cell for charging. If you want an Extra safe car with extra seating room and one that rides like a Cadillac than this is the car for you. Also all seats in back lay flat as well as the front passenger seat, so I could actually fit my family in the back with sleeping bags for camping if I wanted to. Just a thought.lol

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An excellent value, with safety and functionality

by Mr. Swedish from Washington, DC on Fri Jul 20 2007

The XC90 is simply a well-balanced, great all-around car-based SUV. It handles well for a larger vehicle, has ample room, and a long list of safety features. The Roll-Stability control is very innovative, and shows how safety-oriented this car is. The cargo capacity is very large, especially with the seats folded. The 3.2L six is smooth and eager, with a great six-speed geartronic transmission. Fuel economy is not the best, but not terrible, as I average around 20 MPG with the 3.2 in a mix of highway and city driving. For families, its an ideal choice for those who want style, comfort, and safety at a price a bit less than rivals from BMW and Mercedes. It's not a perfomance oriented SUV like the BMW X5, but it offers practicality and lots of well-thought-out features which are useful and creative. Removable center console, optional center booster seat, and countless cupholders and storage areas are highlights which help to make this Volvo a well-designed machine. No major issues so far as reliability goes, except for an isolated incident where the CD player had a somewhat lengthy delay in ejecting CD's. All in all, a fine SUV, that doesnt always feel like one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Northern WI Mom from Presque Isle, WI on Tue Oct 12 2010

Bought a used Volvo XC90, being careful to avoid the T6 transmission thanks to the reviews on this site. I have had no problems whatsoever, and love the way it drives - smooth like butter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV!!

by Volvo Owner from Brooklyn, NY on Fri Feb 03 2012

Volvo XC90 is extremely comfortable and well appointed. One of the most driveable SUV's on the market. Gas mileage is not great though but ride comfort, styling road worthiness and safety more than make up for it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great value luxury SUV

by Birdman from Bay Area on Mon Nov 03 2008

I've now driven almost 2200 miles with my XC90 3.2. No mechanical or other problems. The ride is a bit stiff but that does help the handling. Overall, it is an easy to handle car, but one does notice it is big and heavy. The AWD keeps it on the road all the time and it doesn't flip/ flop turning corners as much as other SUV's. But it does a bit the tendency to go straight when turning corners, probably based on it being a primairily FWD based car. The 3.2 is a nice engine, with enough power to handle the car and a full load of passengers and luggage. I can imagine with the weight of the car that the V8 would be a lot nicer to drive, although the milage will be even worse. We like al the safety and luxury options, BLIS, rear seat entertainment etc. I do advise to take the premium audio. The standard audio is a bit flat and lacks a booster (and satelite radio would be nice too with long trips). I also considered the X5 (pretty, but 5 seats and much more expensive) and the Highlander hybrid (really ugly looking) but , the invoice price of the XC90 was average $10,000 less than a Highlander or BMW. My perception of the overall quality and value of the car (first 2200 miles) is great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Joseph

by Michigander from Grosse Pointe Park, MI on Thu Feb 07 2013

This SUV is all about safety and control -- it stands up to Michigan weather very nicely. The best part about this SUV is that it feels glued to the road at all times, even in the worst of winter. If you are looking for a SUV that is focused on safety, and do not mind giving up some MPGs, this is the SUV for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very safe, dependable, and great handling 7 seater

by Justafan from on Tue Mar 28 2017

Purchased the car used and never had any problems. Handles extremely well, especially on the highway. Exterior styling is very well done, even for such an old model. Interior is very comfortable, but the styling is outdated. Look into an aftermarket NAV system to make it a little more current. Overall a great value and certainly one of the best quality SUVs around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The first Month has "rattled" my ocnfidence!

by Car Guy 4 Life! from Heart Of Dixi, Alabama on Mon Nov 12 2007

I've been in the XC90 for 25 days and the dealer has had the car for 21 days getting a rattle out of the front end suspension. Turns out that it was just a front strut top plate bushing that was causing the low speed issue. The trips in the identical loaner have been great, smooth, and the 3.2l six averaged 21.7 hwy at 70mph +. We would leave the car after long trips and felt refreshed. I have 4 little ones and the car likens itself to having "Swiss army knife" like capibilities. It really does have a great deal of capabilities, storage, and is smoooooooooooth! One issue that I find annoying is the torque steer, which is really noticable while truning into traffic under moderate to full power, and it will really spin the tires if you get into the throttle. All-in-all, if I had to do it over, I would buy this car again, it is however disappointing that a new car has issues. After all, it is safer than anything else on the market, and had the looks, performance, and ride that puts it into a very sweet spot that the Germans, Japaneese, and American auto manufacturers only have components, and not the complete package. Comparing the XC90 to the rest of the car based SUV pack, you can get better mileage, better reliability, and better performance. However, if you are looking for Safety, style, comfort, convenience, flexibility, and solid performance, then this is a consideration for your short list. Hope this information helps! And no I am not in the industry, just an owner that clicked on the review this auto...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5