Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 XC90

Consumer Reviews

2009 Volvo XC90

$4,253 - $13,837  MSRP Range
2009 Volvo XC90

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Volvo XC90?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

safe, sound, satisfying

by evolvo from Virginia on Mon Nov 16 2009

Have owned xc90 v8 for one year and have 17,000 miles. The vehicle exceeded our high expectations. Other than modest gas mileage (17.6 average) it has been a dream. It feels heavy and solid. Some people might not care for that feeling, but with a family it works. Interior styling is people-friendly. Third row seat is tight for adults but workable. We like it. It likes us.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sport/R-Design - best XC90 package

by Swedespeed in an SUV from Northern VA on Sun Jun 06 2010

Having owned the XC90 Sport for 15k miles, it is the best handling and performing packaing of all the XC90s. The interior tweaks available only on the Sport/R-Design package make the XC90 that much more enjoyable. The steering wheel is thicker, the seats more supportive and the V8 is a great performer. Fuel economy is the only issue if you keep your foot on the pedal. I enjoy driving the XC90 Sport more than our '06 Volvo V70R, it is a fantastic family hauler with great comfort and power. Add the CPO warranty and you have years of worry free enjoyment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my SUV

by WifeMommyCommuter from Washington DC Metro, Maryland on Tue Oct 11 2011

I love this 2009 Volvo XC90. It runs fabulously and gets pretty good gas mileage, considering my 30+ mile commute. It is fully loaded, with just about all the bells and whistles we wanted. I love the blind-spot warning system too. My only two dislikes are the navigation system is not touch-screen, and there is only an auxilary plug for MP3's/Ipods but no USB plug.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Nice family suv

by D from Tinley park on Fri Jan 26 2018

This is a very safe car for your family. Very reliable performs great in all weather conditions warm, cold, snow, and rain. I would recommend this card to anyone.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Volvo

by Buyer from Albuquerque NM on Sun May 06 2018

I have owned Volvo’s for 40 years and this is the first XC90. It is a great car to drive. The only problems with this car is the transmission. It is a sealed unit so they say it can’t be serviced but it can. Most transmission shops will do it. If you have regular service, it will last a long time. I love my XC90 and take it everywhere, even off-road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best overall car I've ever owned

by collinjones20 from Lothian,MD on Sun Mar 11 2018

If I wasn't expecting my 2nd child and need more space I would keep this car. The V8 adds the performance I enjoy and the Swedish design is perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

xc90

by motorhead from on Thu Dec 06 2012

This particular year and model does not have the problems that the T6 had. If you are looking for a volvo XC90 BEWARE of the transmission issues in older models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo XC90- Awesome!

by Super SUV! Love Xena! from Seattle WA & LA CA on Mon Dec 10 2012

Purchased a great used XC90, to not absorb the depreciation, yet still get the undying Volvo quality. It delivers, and was a great deal at less than half of the $50K new. A great Roadtrip mobile, good handling- even in snow, rain, and wind. Responsive, good breaking. Would like some upgraded interior features: My next one will be the same model, but going to go for only a year old, to again not pay sticker- but get the car. Highly recommended for all around use. For an SUV the mpg is good- not Super, but better than my jeep & the Mercedes combined. It's not flashy, she's unassuming, but a pretty vehicle. ?kinda elegant without shouting luxury car. With regular upkeep, the volvos last forever, so I may not be getting a new one anytime soon, which is fine. I love "Xena". She's family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe, Reliable SUV

by NFL from Woodstock on Tue Jun 12 2018

This car is safe and very well built. It handles well and is very reliable. It could be a little lighter as its a heavy car but the 3.2L engine is more than capable of getting up and going. It rides smooth and is roomy inside.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

One of the safest trucks you can buy

by JacobA from NJ on Tue Apr 03 2018

I owned a 2009 XC90 3.2L V6 from 2012 to 2014. I made a mistake buying it, but by that I mean I rushed into it as I had to get a car very fast due to selling my previous car. My version was the R-Design and unless you get the V8 version, stay away from it. It has the styling, yes, but the 3.2L 235 HP is NOT enough to move the 4700 lbs with authority. The last thing you want it any car is to be underpowered. It can be dangerous when you can't merge quickly enough or get out of the way quickly enough. For around town, sure, it's fine, but for a one-car family, this is not the one to get. However, and this is VERY important. This engine (3.2) is the best to get IF you want a V6. Whatever you do, do NOT buy the 2.5L Turbo engine in the T6 model. The transmission matched to that motor is a total piece of crap (google it) whereas the transmission in the 4.4L V8 or 3.2L V6 are perfectly fine. Just do not get the T6 or you'll spend more for a new transmission than it probably cost you to buy an old XC90 SUV. Pros are extreme safety as is Volvo's ethos. They have skimped on nothing. The roof is made of a material called Boron which is incredibly tough and will protect you even if the vehicle should roll over. Speaking of rolling over, this was the first vehicle in the world with an onboard gyroscope to measure angles, weight etc in an evasive maneuver situation to help the vehicle to avoid ending up on its side or roof. Reliability was so-so for me. Nothing to really mention except I needed three wheel bearings at the same time at the tune of $1500 total. Thankfully the CPO warranty covered it but that's something to keep in mind. Parts are not cheap for this car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2