2011 550

Consumer Reviews

2011 BMW 550

$11,518 - $21,994  MSRP Range
2011 BMW 550

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

35 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 BMW 550?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

wowww

by beemerboy from New YORK NY on Thu Aug 25 2011

an amazing vehicle... make sure to opt out for sport or M pack. there is no other car that compares to this in this segment. truly amazing. insanely powerful, yet very luxurious

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW what an amazing car

by M3aniac from NY on Wed Nov 16 2011

There is no other vehicle in the segment that comes close to the new F10 5 series. I must agree with others as far as the reliability of the first years model goes (I have a 2011 535i x-drive with M package). The one I have right now may turn out to be a lemon, but I love the car so much that I will be going right back to the dealer to get a 2012 one :) Performance of the car is amazing! I have a E46 M3 which is my joyride/track car...the F10 won't see the track but it's definitively creeping into the M3's joyride territory. It is an absolute blast to drive and it handles it's weight and size like a sports car. Comfort, style, etc are top notch as well. Compared to the other vehicles in the luxury segment this car is hands down best of the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

550i

by mma from Dallas, TX on Mon Mar 31 2014

This car has exceptional power. I have a 6-speed stick and I have never seen a car take off in first gear that quick and it absolutely explodes in third gear! Driving is truly an experience without doubt. Of course you pay the prize for it in poor gas consumption, which gives you on an average 15 mpg. Just two complaints with the 2011 model that I own; first I'm not too fond of run flat tires and second not sure why a company who can produce the finest engines can miserably fail to come up with a cup-holder design. They have somewhat refined the design that comes with auto-shift, but not so lucky with the stick shift. All in all a great machine!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest most reliable car Ive owned.

by alliecatmeow1 from hilton head island, sc on Thu Nov 23 2017

Love this car like a child, unfortunately two carseats are not fun in the back...thats the only negative.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest all around car I've ever owned

by BGRK from Connecticut on Sun Aug 27 2017

The performance of this car is absolutely phenomenal… The best all-around vehicle I've ever purchased, in terms of reliability , performance, ride, usefulness in all inclement weather, and absolutely stunning body lines for a true classic. A job well done BMW… My hat off to the engineers !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice mix of performance and luxury

by 550i Driver from on Wed Jun 21 2017

I purchased as CPO with extended factory coverage. Great car for BMW enthusiasts who like to drive manual transmissions (6-speed).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury sleek and smooth ride

by Vizcayagirl on Wed Jul 26 2017

Drives like a dream. With a 8 cylinder engine, the pickup is amazing. It's super comfortable to ride long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 550 ix sport

by neggie from LI New York on Mon Nov 22 2010

Dear all readers, I am one of those guys that truly enjoys driving and not just the status. Now 50 , I have owned many sport and luxury cars in my years. Audi A8, MB S430, porsche Boxster, BMW 650i convertible among a few. I just received my pre ordered BMW 550ix M sport just last week. I can not believe the ride on this car. It's fast and handles like no other car I have ever had. It just feels right. It's smooth as glass in the comfort setting on one of the four ride controls. In the the sport setting it is blistery fast and loads of fun. My car was just over 70K list. I went through a broker and saved 5K on this bad boy! I would highly recommend this car to all who are reading up about this car and ready to pull the trigger. It is a great choice of a sport luxury car. Enjoy!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Have 94,000 miles

by Richiejag from Fla on Thu Feb 23 2017

Bought car with 81,000 miles and have had no issues except Eng light which comes on if I don't use 93 octane. Then I add bottle of Lucas octane boost within half of tank of driving on highway Eng light clears. Hope this helps

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beauty and a Beast (especially if Dinan upgraded)

by Bob from Fairfax, Virginia on Sat Mar 30 2013

I bought a used 2011 550i with 25K miles with the Dinan Stage 3 performance software, upgraded suspension, and free flow exhaust (Dinan is the only BMW approved performance upgrade company matching BMW's warranty and still qualifying for extended warranties from Fidelity). The Dinan upgrades TOTALLY change the car. Before the upgrades (I have driven stock 550i / ix's before) it was a very nice, sporty car, but a bit too "luxury oriented" for my taste and I really wanted the combination of a great daily driver AND a beast of a sports car (but the older M5s are more expensive, the new one $100K+, and all terrible on gas at 10-13 mpg). Now I have it. It is a fantastic car with the Dinan upgrades.... You get the best of both worlds because of the Sport Transmission settings and the Turbo engine. In Normal Transmission mode keeping the revs under 3,000 (i.e. not engaging the turbo), I got 20 miles to the gallon driving it 500 miles from the dealership to home. By the way, with the 8 speed automatic, it does only 2,100 RPMs at 90 miles an hour (and feels like 50). However, if you want to have fun, the Dinan Stage 3 takes it to 511 horsepower (from 400) and 580 ft/lb of torque (from 450). 0-60 in low-mid 4s and doesn't stop all the way up from there. It is actually hard to keep it under 100 on the highway. It is faster than anything but the latest 2013 M5 (although Stage 4 would fix that, Stage 5 is also coming), is cheaper, more fuel efficient, and can be a great daily driver. Only complaints: - Sound System is great, but my 2008 750i sounds a little better (significantly better bass). Also, to get the Playlist option for a loaded Music library took me 5 tries and lots of research to get working since there is no explanation in the manual or on BMW's website. Water under the bridge, but a huge pain for a cool new feature (I have my entire music library of 25 gigs of music loaded into this car). - I don't like the new seat adjusters, but you can deal with it. - Options: I wish it had the Active Ventilated Seat package. It really makes a difference on long trips (with the ventilation) and sport driving with the side support. Heads Up display would have been cool too, but probably not worth the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2011 BMW 550

I don't walk away from every new model with a single overriding impression, but sometimes a car grabs me by the collar and shakes me. While that wasn't exactly the case with the redesigned 2011 BMW 5 Series, that car did consistently whisper in my ear.

If the new 5 Series is anything, it's quiet and comfortable.

This new level of comfort broadens the sport sedan's appeal, but at the same time the newly redesigned car gives up even more of its old visceral experience, which has been abating generation by generation.

The 5 Series sedan comes in three levels: the 528i, 535i and 550i. (The bizarre 5 Series Gran Turismo is reviewed separately.) Though there was a time when those numbers represented engine... Read More