2012 X5

Consumer Reviews

2012 BMW X5

$11,589 - $24,385  MSRP Range
2012 BMW X5

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

63 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2012 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very, Very happy with my 2012 X5 5.0

by Virginia horse country from Virginia on Thu Nov 10 2011

I've been driving X5s since the first model and leased an early production 2012 over the summer. I still find it amazing that I can place an order for the factory to custom build an X5 that arrived at my dealer in 3.5 weeks. It now has over 11,000 miles on it and it has been completely trouble free (as have my other X5s with the exception of the first model over a decade ago.) Even after test driving other mid-sized SUVs, I still go back to the X5. Aside from the technology, I find the driving position and the multi-contour seats more comfortable than any other vehicle. I've never had trouble operating the iDrive system and frankly am tired of people complaining about it because they couldn't figure it out in a 10 minute test drive. No manufacturer can completely idiot-proof a system. Several options deserve consideration: contour seats, top-down camera that shows you the sides, front, and rear of the car, and heads-up display (once you have this, you won't want to drive a car without it). The new engines and the 8 speed transmission are noticeably smoother than the last generation 6 speed. If you are leasing, find a dealer who will show you the lease residual chart for the different X5 models. There are huge differences in residuals between a 3.5i, 5.0i, and 3.5d that will greatly affect the lease payment. For example, the 3.5d had a residual of 51% and the 5.0 had a residual of 60% for a 36 month lease with 15k miles. That 9% difference means that the 5.0 was the same lease payment even though the 5.0 is more expensive and the diesel had an additional $2,500 eco-credit for 2012. I'm hoping to hold onto this X5 until the 3rd generation is released in two years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by Vlad from Brooklyn, ny on Sat Nov 12 2011

Really enjoy the car , one of the best cars I ever had, no good on snow, excellent on rain, perfect on dry weather condition , not an off-road truck, but the way it handles on the highway I just love this car. BMW has to work on reliability of their cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best performance

by Osle from Long Island, NY on Wed Dec 14 2011

This is the first BMW for my family. Before having this car, I had a MB ML suy for more than 10 years and I have driven many different suvs. Now I believe this is a real best driving machine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Terrific car. It's quite powerful and it's diesel.

by Barbera from Hamilton, NJ on Sat Jul 13 2013

What a pleasure to drive. This Diesel engine is very powerful. Great mileage. Beautiful interior and sharp exterior Just love it. Sure beats my Mercedes! Hugs the road and is quite smooth. Great buy!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

X5-50i Non-stop Power Handling and Luxury in 1

by XX Retentive German from on Sat Jun 27 2015

An amazing combination of power and handling with room to throw in golf clubs, flat screen TV and kids. Sport seat w/cooling and massage make this car a long distance road warrior. V-8 growl is bad-a. More legroom in back seat than Cadillac Escalade. This machine does it all - with AWD that has RWD bias it keeps the fun factor in Cleveland snow storms and mountain twisties. I have owned other brands, but keep coming back to BMW. They have it figured out - the magic balance of ride and handling like no other. If you have to wear a suit, need a family friendly vehicle, but really love power and handling - the X5-50i is it. This car is buttoned down, but ready to rumble.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 X5d

by First BMW from Northern Virginia on Wed Oct 17 2012

Great vehicle. For the money you spend, BMW needs to make more of its options, standard equipment. Also, run flats vs reg tires, better interior color options (alternative color piping on seats would be nice). include ipod cable with BMW apps purchase, etc... you folks know what I mean. When you spend hard earned money on these beautiful, luxurious vehicles, it would be nice if some of the paid options were made standard.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X5 Diesel

by Frank from Boulder, CO. on Sun Apr 09 2017

I love the performance, styling, handling and gas mileage with the Diesel. A great car. I have not owned it long enough to comment on reliability,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, Fast & Dependable

by Tdog from South Bend area on Tue Jul 31 2018

Great car with great performance & excellent fuel mileage. Really fun to drive A solid driving machine If your looking for a solid dependable car that has the power to own the road..... the X5 Diesel is the one for you. Trust me

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable, Spacious, Excellent Handling

by Like Good Cars from Athens, TN on Mon Jan 05 2015

This vehicle handles well and is very responsive to driver input, both in steering and acceleration. It has quite comfortable seating in front and rear. It has numerous driver's aides that make driving a pleasure.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable vehicle I have owned.

by Dave from Gainesville, Fl on Thu Feb 19 2015

This BMW X5 is awesome. The get-up and going is excellent. Love the feel of the drive and the seat is very inviting.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2012 BMW X5

Like an outstanding athlete saddled with an attitude problem, the 2012 BMW X5 has moments both of excellence and frustration.

You really want to love the SUV. But its driving flaws add up, and a decade of awful reliability stains any admiration. The X5 may appeal to some, but BMW has a lot to address in its next redesign, which may come as soon as the 2013 model year.

We tested a BMW X5 xDrive35i, whose turbo six-cylinder slots below the xDrive50i's twin-turbo V-8. BMW also offers a turbocharged six-cylinder diesel in the BMW X5 xDrive35d. After a host of updates for 2011, the X5 changed little for 2012; compare the two here. Five seats and all-wheel drive are standard, and an optional third row... Read More