2017 X5

Consumer Reviews

$25,998 - $45,638  MSRP Range
2017 BMW X5

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

76 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1000 miles on the odo, great so far

by Unkllars from Orange County, CA on Sun Feb 26 2017

My lease was up on my Audi A6, and I needed something bigger. Sticking with Audi would have been too expensive of a lease. I always liked the look of the X5, and when I drove it, it seemed like an easy choice. I miss some of Audi's user interface tech, but this was the right choice and the better looking car than all of its competitors

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our X5

by MKMJ111 from Peoria, AZ on Thu Apr 20 2017

We traded in our 2015 BMW 428i for a loaded X5. The car drives and handles great. We are averaging 23MPG combined drives. On our road trip we averaged 26MPG on the HWY. We shopped the Audi Q7, Volvo XC90, and Mercedes before deciding on the BMW. The car hit on all points for us and we are happy to this point with it. I am partial to BMW having owned multiple BMW'S and it being my primary car/s since 1984.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X5

by Dan from Falmouth, Ma on Mon May 15 2017

The X5 is the Best vehicle I have ever owned. Total enjoyment in every category. BMW also offers the most hassle free service experience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV!

by Bob from Dallas on Wed May 09 2018

The x in xdrive means all wheel drive. The d in xdrive35d means diesel. I have a lake house 92 miles from my main house so I will greatly appreciate the fuel economy. I have a very steep hill to climb just before the lake house. Hence AWD. Also, don’t let the diesel scare you. I really couldn’t tell when idling and the performance and acceleration are awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second X5

by Kipper12 from Caldwell, NJ on Thu Jun 18 2020

All around great vehicle, I use this SAV for work and taking clients out for lunch and dinner, for picking up gardening products, mulch, plants, and family road trips. You cannot beat this vehicle for its all around versatility. Love the X5 its a perfect all year round vehicle, you cannot go wrong with this SAV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Beast

by BMW LOVER from Stuart FL on Wed Jul 11 2018

We looked for quite a while. This came out on top. We got every option except B&O sound and pedestrian warning. Love the ride and handling with the Dynamic Handling option. The ACC Stop and Go is handy too. Have towed a 5,000 lb boat with ease. Have gotten up to 35 mpg at reasonable speeds. Oh, ours is a diesel. No regrets but not broken in either with only 4,000 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Electronic Programming is Problematic

by Must be a Diesel from Fort Worth, TX on Thu Oct 26 2017

To program the electronics is not user friendly. When you program various things such as seat position, radio stations, etc., the car does not remember them. I've had three "genius" customer service reps try and help me but even they can't get the programming to remain in the memory. It makes the car unreliable. Otherwise, the diesel engine performance is superb. Love the responsiveness.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Hatch unexpectedly hits me on the head

by Disappointed owner, former fan on Mon Mar 12 2018

VERY disappointing experience. Hatch back with "kick" open feature randomly hits me on the head while I am moving things around in the trunk space as I move side to side to rearrange items. Am told I would need to spend $250 to de-activate the "kick open" feature. Called BMW direct to complain, they said there is nothing the can/will do - it is on me to spend money not to get hurt by the unexpected dropping of the hatch! So much for highly engineered car. Either they should have a button to press to lock the hatch into open mode to secure it or they should have a disable "kick open" feature option in the vehicle status section of the in-car electronic system. I have owned BMWs for last 20 years and have loved their cars and commitment to quality - can't believe this is their policy, inconsistent with their brand. Love the car otherwise, but they are losing my loyalty and advocacy with this poor performance and policy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The BMW X5 is a wonderful vehicle

by Thackerjc from Virginia on Sat Jul 01 2017

I have owned several x5's and test drive the new 2017. It is above and beyond the best one yet! I can't wait to buy it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprising power for a hybrid -

by Scott from Irvine, CA on Wed Jan 03 2018

Plug in mode gives 25 miles which is good for a short commute. I was surprised at the power in EV mode. Nice comfortable ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8