1998 Corvette

Consumer Reviews

1998 Chevrolet Corvette

$6,011 - $24,275  MSRP Range
1998 Chevrolet Corvette

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

34 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Chevrolet Corvette?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent ride for the money

by Z51 Corvette from El Paso, TX on Fri Sep 03 2010

World of difference between the C4 Corvette ad the C5. If you are looking for an upgrade at a great price choose the C5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tremendous All-Around Sports Car

by C-5 Corvette Coupes Simply Can't be Beat from Los Angeles on Mon Nov 06 2006

The car (C-5's Corvette Coupes) simply can't be beat. Power, control, daily drivability, reliability, fit, finish, comfort, appearance, the looks it gets, and all the great and functional features that come both standard with the car...and then all the factory options - if you're lucky enough to find one with most of them. What a difference from the older Vettes, in finish, rigidity, handling and none of the annoying noises, sketchy handling and squeaks either. The car seems to be made to spec. "as is" without needing any modifications. I've been 180 in mine, blinding 0-60,100,150+ drags and there's not much out there faster for the money, that has the practability, room, comfortable ride for both driver and passenger, AND even luggage friendly (coupe/targa model). It's a tremendous car that performs as smooth as it looks sleek. Super for cruizing or track-like action. Get yourself a good radar/laser detector and keep the car quiet as is, without adding any noisy or otherwise any un-needed modifications. Stick with a low-key color and you'll get thumbs up from CHP's as you blast on by. Out of the box, the C-5 Corvette Coupe just can't be beat. Save even more by picking up a well-cared for used one. Just respect the power and the G's it can pull upon agressive driving - wow. It is THE American Super Car. I've driven mine over 80k miles and no complaints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My weekend car

by Nolsamu from Rogers, Ar on Tue Jul 24 2012

Best used car i have ever bought...We enjoy taking a evening cruise and going to car shows. I am retired and my wife and I will enjoy for a long time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around performance car

by Love my vette from Ohio on Thu Nov 15 2007

The car is amazing, engine pulls like a mother, stops and corners very well, and looks good while doing it. Is it perfect? No, it follows road imperfections a little too much for my liking and the steering is a little numb, but despite these issues, the interior is laid out well and the trunk on the convertible is usable with the top up or down. Overall definitely a winner.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

busy replacing parts

by joeyqa from Orange Park, FL on Mon Feb 08 2016

I purchased this 1998 c5 about 4 months ago from the original owner with 66, 300 miles. I absolutley love the looks and driving of this car, however I have had to replace the shifting cable (automatic), oil pressure sending unit, right rear wheel hub bearing, water pump, thermostat, hoses, and now getting ready to replace the knock sensors, They are notorious for corroding on various GM motors, You have to pull the intake manifold to get to them. I knew before buying this car being 17 years old with low miles it has sat quite a bit and knew I would have to replace some parts. I just hope this beautiful doesnt keep me turning wrenches more than turning the wheel driving it. I am beginning to become discouraged because it seems as soon as I fix one problem, within a week or two another problem pops up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car, great value,great driving , comfortable

by Vette Man from on Tue Apr 09 2013

This is a fun car to drive , great highway gas mileage . I drove it 61/2 hours straight and got out of the car feeling like I could go another 61/2 hours . It rode good for a sports car with run flat tires and the performance and handling were outstanding . Chey got it right with the C-5 . Day and night betwwen C-4 and C-5sports

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nothing looks and feels so good.

by bstcarman from ATLANTA, GA. on Sun Aug 20 2006

Great looking and fun to drive. You will be the envy of all your friends. Looks like a 100,000 dollar car. Great handling and performance . I wait a long time to get mine and now I know I should have done it sooner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

super show car

by vet from Ellensburg Washington on Sat Mar 30 2013

Purchased vette in yakima after reviewing for several weeks .Show room condition for age ang miles low plan to keep it that way .Cant drive it to town without people running me down to comment on how beautiful it is .I own several show vehicles but never get as mch attention as i do with this vette

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Corvette

by Richierich from Floral park, NY on Mon Jun 12 2006

The Corvette can turn heads and can also be fast when you want it to, but the gas mileage isn't so great. You might be able to get about 20 on the highway, and not even 14 in the city. But with a stick shift the gas mileage is pretty good. This car is very fast and can be dangerous in some conditions because of the amount of power and the lack of handling in the possy rear wheel drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The C5.......A Fantastic All-American Sports Car!

by 44yearCorvetteEnthusiast from Lanark, IL on Tue Jun 11 2013

PROS: Beautiful styling Excellent handling and overall performance Very comfortable power seats with lumbar adjust Lots of legroom Car is tight and solid even after 15 years and 4 owners! Coupe hatchback is excellent for loading/unloading Lots of room in back - 3 in-floor storage compartments Good gas mileage for a performance car CONS: Must be very careful going in and out of driveways (low) Fairly significant road noise (EMT tires at 30psi) Cup holder inadequate......we replaced with aftermarket

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4