2003 Impala

Consumer Reviews

2003 Chevrolet Impala

$475 - $6,511  MSRP Range
2003 Chevrolet Impala

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

46 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Chevrolet Impala?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

There's More!

by Car Fan from Baltimore from Baltimore MD on Mon Jun 25 2012

Retired the car from work detail two years ago. Now has 256K on ODO. When asked if I have ever had the engine pulled, shocks or struts or AC replaced, the answer is no. Yes, it burns about one quart of oil between changes, but what do expect from the 3.8 liter engine? Still has more torque than a newer Mercury and a CVPI in my "fleet". Highly recommend with 3.8 powerplant only!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A really good vehicle

by Squeaky from Cincinnati, OH on Tue Mar 20 2007

Our 2003 Impala LS is going on 4 years of service and has around 70k miles on it. I have changed the oil on it every 5k miles. We have had no problems with it. The salesman told us before we bought it we would we get 30 MPG on the highway. I didn't really believe him, until we drove to Florida and did get 30 MPG. It also does pretty good around the city. The only problem we have is that there is no child safety locks on the back doors--they are controlled through the radio...which makes no sense to this parent of two. The original sticker was high, but because of a variety of discounts, the vehicle became a very good value compared to a comparably equipped import. I wish GM built more vehicles like this one...but in the USA.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GG

by Carl from Fairfield,IL on Mon May 16 2011

we have been told that the brakes were designed too small for this vehicle. we had problems wtih rotors and pads!!! other then this the car is a real winner. Excellent gas mileage. best car I have ever owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Impala

by jab from NE Kansas on Fri Mar 07 2014

I bought a 2003 Impala with 60,000 miles on it. I loved this car. I sold it to my son when it had 199,000 miles on it. He still drives it and loves it also. I've never owned a better car. I do take good care of my vehicles and keep them maintained. It is well worth the time to do this on all cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Replaced our Honda CR-V with this Impala.

by Illinois native from Champaign, IL on Sat Jan 16 2010

We bought our LS model used in May 08 to replace our CR-V which had developed engine problems. So far it has been extremely good to us--good gas mileage, very smooth ride, and comfortable. My wife likes the heated leather seats and I like the performance of the 3.8 V-6. The only issues we have had is that the ABS went out at 75,000 and it goes through tires pretty good. My minor complaint: no light in the spacious trunk!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Impala is a good car

by impown from on Sat Apr 13 2013

My Impala has been a good car. It has several thoughtful features that I didn't expect to find on a Chevy. It is comfortable. It rides and drives fine. The paint has held up. The weak spot on the car are the quality of the engine seals GM built built the car with. I've had two expensive repairs because the factory seals were bargain brand quality. I would buy another one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A really good car Part 2

by Squeaky in Cincinnati from Cincinnati, OH on Mon Aug 24 2009

Our 2003 Impala LS now has around 115k miles on it. It continues to be very reliable for us. Still getting good gas mileage. We did have to have some work done on one of the front wheels last year--maybe something to do with the bearings--but the repairs were not that expensive. Our 3.8L has, to date, had no engine issues that some of the others reviewers have mentioned. I would buy this car again in a heart beat--and so would my wife. Definitely prefer it to my '06 Grand Prix. Much more comfortable riding and it gets better MPG.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love it!

by Bree from Saginaw, MI on Thu Apr 28 2011

I just bought another Impala after mine was in an accident. It had over 160,000 miles on it & it ran great! I was so upset when it was towed. My new Impala is 2008 & I love that one so far too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Reliable car that I've owned

by BigHaitian on Sun Aug 20 2017

This car is a very good car, it works perfectly fine and get you to point A to point B with no problems

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Saturn 2001

by Doodlebug11 from MINNIE on Thu Jun 15 2017

It was really good about everything the gas the way it was made the car was built just right I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5