2012 Malibu

Consumer Reviews

2012 Chevrolet Malibu

$2,886 - $14,810  MSRP Range
2012 Chevrolet Malibu

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

100 Reviews
99% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Chevrolet Malibu?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 100 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by steph from Villa Hills, KY on Fri Oct 14 2011

This is my first new car ever! I have not been let down with this car. I traded in a GMC Envoy because it went through too much gas. This car is a dream for gas. I am not disappointed at all! Very happy I downsized!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid !!

by Mississippi Mudd from Virginia on Wed Nov 13 2013

Recently purchased a used 2011 Malibu and so far it has met or exceeded expectation. The interior is typical Chevy, so if you like the Chevy ergonomics over the past half-decade or so, the Malibu feels immediately comfy. The back seat borders on cavernous, but may be sacrificing a little trunk volume to achieve it in this size. Styling is unpretentious, with few needless doodads or superfluous gizmos, but some may find it rather a bit bland. Performance and mechanically it is impressive ? I wanted this drive-train because it is just a modern iteration of a car I put 210K miles on (with little or no maintenance of than oil-changes, one set of plugs, filters?). Brakes and steering are solid and confidence inspiring ? handles nicely, but this isn?t a race car. Fuel mileage is everything I?d hoped for ? comes in marginally better than the EPA projections on my 150 mile-a-day commute (50% country roads, 50% DC sit-and-stop stuff) . Normal seems about 32-33mpg traveling as fast as traffic allows, and have seen as high as 38mpg over one stint of pure highway driving. I think 32mpg is a reasonable lower estimate of long-term fuel mileage ? based on my experience? It?ll scoot nicely for a 2.4 liter when you punch it, but mostly it?s just a consistent, down-to-earth family sedan so far?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by jf2424 from on Thu Jul 12 2012

Bought a new Honda Civic last year, and really hated the car and Honda service. The Honda had awful road noise among other little issues and Honda claimed everything was normal.. Well I traded that normal piece of junk in for a Malibu and love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love, Love, Love My 2012 Chevy Malibu

by Andi from Rochester, NY on Sat Oct 06 2012

Besides it's stylish swag, the Malibu drives like a dream. The steering response is amazing GM finally got it right. I have the bear bones model 4 cylinder, cloth seats, wheel covers and it is absolutely beautiful. The door alignment is right on, very quiet inside as you drive. You feel like a million even though you've spent a fraction. I would recommend this car to any. Before I leased this one, I rented to see how the 4 cylinder would hold up as I've always preferred a 6. The acceleration was surprising I've driven it twice to Maryland with great comfort in the ride and peace because of it's reliability thus far. I love the Malibu! Huge Fan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by carguy from Oklahoma on Sat Dec 21 2013

We bought a 2012 LT and almost immediately drove from Oklahoma to Cali. Got 32 MPG out and back running 80mph average. It was a smooth, tight and comfortable ride.I love all of the options and Onstar. Will recommend to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far, so good

by Pidguy from Hampton, VA on Sat Aug 24 2013

Purchased Malibu LTZ sedan used w/ 18K miles. Only had about a month or so. As expected, no issues at all. Ride is smooth, low interior noise. Sound system very nice. Haven't touched the on-star yet. Probably won't. Afraid that the wife is enjoying the Sirius satellite. Probably be baring that monthly expense soon. Engine seems to be running smooth. No issues there. Mileage is as expected for the larger six cylinder. Nice tight construction; doors clunk shut nicely. Trunk is a bit smaller than I'd like, but okay for up to three travelers bags.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable American Made Car LTZ

by Back to the Basics from Atlanta on Wed Feb 12 2014

have not owned American for 20 years, until now. Rides way better than Altima, Camry or Sonota. Excellent finish, very quiet, and the LTZ V-6 or turbo 2.0 are peppy, Mine is the 3.6 V6 in 2012 last year they offered it, this engine will run forever, know many people with 150,000+ on their 3.6. Really happy to be back in an American made vehicle and will buy them from now on moving forward

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by New Driver from Maryland on Mon Jan 21 2013

Picked this car as a safe and reliable mode of transportation. For my son who is a responsible but new driver.my plan is for this car to take him through high school and college then perhaps beyond.he wanted a Camaro but is just as thrilled with this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2012 Silver Chevrolet Malibu

by Choir Singer from Grand Rapids, MI on Mon Sep 14 2015

I finally turned in my 2001 Dodge Stratus in July for a 2012 Chevy Malibu. So many years had passed since my last purchase that I was pleasantly surprised by all of the features. I was nervous at first, but after driving it for the first few weeks, I really enjoyed the ride. I'm really happy that I found this car and would recommend this model to others.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car

by horseowner from NC on Sat Dec 15 2012

The 2012 malibu is a good buy in the mid size sedan category, decent comfort and decent fuel mileage at around 27 mpg overall. Not exactly a race car if you like performance, but not a go-cart either. The v6 model is much stronger, but sacrifices fuel economy for performance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10