2002 Monte Carlo

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

27 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

comfort,style, mileage

by pete5769@yahoo.com from Buffalo on Thu Nov 25 2010

in our houshold, we have had 3 Monte Carlos since 01 and great cars! Brake pads, rotors are a problem as our one car has major brake work done every 35,000 miles. All cars get great mileage 27 to 33. My Dale Earnhardt model get lots of attention wherever I go. If you want to cruise around town or go on long trips you will not be disapointed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

by far the most reliable !!!!!!

by trimonte from 12528 ny on Sat Aug 07 2010

The Monte with 3800 is as reliable as your going to get!!! Not fast but quick.fun to drive an it will smoke the tires!! The interior is very comfortable with leather and almost all the toys you could want.moonroof,five star diomod cut wheels.ground effects .nascar spoiler!! the car still will get 25 miles to the gallon,Not bad for a full size car.they are not perect but overal one of Chevys best!!! Chevy needs to bring them back and make us bowtie freaks Proud!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sweet

by rammie from mukwonago wi on Tue Oct 18 2011

earnhardt edition 135000 miles runs like new if you can buy one been to a few car shows and have taken a few tropheys

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY RELIABLE!!

by Ms. Sharp from St.Petersburg, Florida on Thu Oct 07 2010

This car will always turn heads! If you can, keep everything on the car Factory! I get sooo many stares! A SWEET TAKEOFF IN SPORTY CAR!! This is one of the first cars I felt safe driving in the rain. The tires hug the road it's AWESOME! My husband teases me sometimes when he catches me looking out the window at the car! RELIABLE, SPORTY, PRETTY GOOD ON GAS. I hate getting out of it sometimes. IT IS TIME TO MAKE A NEW ONE!!!!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Monte Carlo

by sweetpea from Griffin, Ga on Mon Sep 12 2011

This is my 2nd Monte Carlo and i must say that i am very happy wit it. Its stylish and fast, reliable and safe. My 1st Monte Carlo saved my life.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

coolest car i've ever owned

by monte girl from Bethel,Ct on Fri Jan 02 2009

First time I drove mine I fell in love.I have owned two monte carlos now and this one is by far thee BEST and an eye opener!It's also very comfortable for taking long road trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Monte Carlo LS

by MotorMan from Wheeling, WV on Wed Oct 08 2014

2002 Monte Carlo LS purchased used at 120,00 miles. Very comfortable car and gets 26/27 MPG commuting on mix of urban and country roads. Have taken several short highway trips and made 33 MPG on average. Audio and climate controls are easy to use. Suspension has just enough isolation from the occasional rough road. This car will easily handle an 800 mile road trip without fatigue setting in. This is a much bigger car than most I have driven in recent years. I would recommend it without reservation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still love it!

by CY28 from Chicagoland on Mon Jan 20 2014

Bought my High Sport edition with 5K miles. Here I am 12 years later and still love my car. Other than the heated driver seat not heating and a little surface rust starting to form, no problems with my Monte. Though I would have liked it with a more powerful engine, the 200hp is enough for my daily drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I EVER OWNED

by GLINDA THE GOOD WITCH from JUPITER, FLORIDA on Tue Aug 31 2010

GREAT CAR, LOTS OF COMPLIMENTS! PEOPLE OF ALL AGES STOP ANS STARE! EVEN COPS LIKE THE CAR..... IF YOU CAN AFFORD ONE, GET IT!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car that I've ever owned!

by Like my Monte from Houston, Texas on Mon Sep 10 2007

This car looks great inside and out. Very comfortable, reliable, roomy, and sporty. I've had mine for 6 years, and have loved every moment. Handles great. Great gas mileage for it's size. I'm sad that they've, once again, stopped making them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

DAYTONA BEACH - "Gee," said a woman who was pumping gas at a Mobil station here last Saturday night. "That's kind of morbid."

Yes, perhaps it is. She was looking at my 2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS Dale Earnhardt Signature Edition car. It's black and has a number "3" on the side, which was, of course, the number of Dale Earnhardt's black NASCAR Winston Cup Monte Carlo. The car Earnhardt was killed in during the last lap of the 2001 Daytona 500.

So, the question is: If you drive the official Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS Dale Earnhardt Signature Edition car to the 2002 Daytona 500, is it a tribute to the fallen hero, or is it just, well, morbid? In the word of one detached observer at a gas station?

Ours is... Read More