2002 TrailBlazer

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

$1,091 - $6,859  MSRP Range
2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

44 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very Good

by Gal Mail Delivery from New Hampshire on Tue Aug 05 2008

The biggest problem I have found is that when I do have to have something fixed on this car, all, or most of the engine parts are "Dealer Parts", which of course means they have to be ordered instead of picking them up at a parts store. One piece of advice... if you have to replace the alternator, plan to have it ground to fit. The one sold by both dealer and parts store, even though it is said to be the replacement part, must be ground to fit anyway.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've Owned

by KS T-Blazer Owner from NW KS on Sun Feb 19 2012

Bought our 2002 LS new in 2001. We mainly use it for pulling a pop-up camper on vacation and sundry in-town driving. 10.5 years later, it's still going strong. Very few maintenance issues. Pulls a 3500 lb. pop-up like a champ. Typical vacation is 3000 miles; goes through the mountains like on flat ground. Very comfortable ride, and plenty of power for any kind of driving. Interior is roomy with ample cargo space. We've had a few interior issues, but no deal breakers (an out-of-whack sun visor; headrest cover that isn't secured well; and the liftgate pull has broken several times). Sorry that the T-Blazer is out of production. Would consider a new one in a few years if they still made it. But our still has a lot of mileage in it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV ever

by kaz from on Fri Mar 08 2013

I bought my trailblazer in2002 and all I can say is I an glad I owned one and was money well spent. it drives smooth and comfortable on the road unlike other SUV s I have seen. It has been very reliable even with 196000 miles on it, it still runs like horse you would not guess it has that many miles on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Dependable Vehicle

by Hockeytraveler from Lyndhurst,Ohio on Sat Jul 27 2013

My Trailblazer was used to transport my two hockey players since they were 8 and 9 years old. Its been from Ottawa to Chicago, to Grand Rapids Michigan. Never had a break down, awesome in the bad weather with the four wheel drive. Most dependable car I have ever driven. Will be sad to see it leave.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by SurfFish from Delaware on Wed Oct 24 2012

I love my 02 Trailblazer, rides down the highway great. Lots of fun on the beach and goes thru snowy roads great...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Trina the trailblazer

by Pearl12 from Anderson on Fri Jan 13 2017

It's the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned it's like a Swiss army knife good looks rugged looking handles well especially in 4wd on snow and ice with bf Goodrich tires the engine is strong never gave me any issues only thing I've done got with 60,000 miles on it got a 132,000 on it now but hub bearings I've done twice and the wind shield shutters and put brakes on and normal oil changes a still runs like a sun of a gun she a keeper.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

first car

by filly from on Tue Sep 24 2013

loved driving my 02 trailblazer, it looked great and was comforable . drove great through snow ,has the best stereo system! but gas gussler and i had alot go wrong with it and had to put alot of money into probably because it is an older model. was sad to get rid of it but was costing alot of money

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Miss it still

by That guy from MO on Wed Jan 24 2018

Used to own a 2002 Trailblazer LTZ, that poor thing. It was a few years ago in my wilder days and I can say from the fact that it was still a running driving vehicle the day I sold it that the trailblazer is a reliable vehicle. Other than daily driving it for 2 year the trailblazer frequenlty found itself in a muddy field or back road doing doughnuts (Power steering broke) or getting stuck in 2-3 feet of mud and trying to get my self unstuck and burying it even more (Rear tire shredded, broke front axle). After all I put it through after replacing the tire and axle I continued to daily drive it without problem. Performed great in winter weather, drove 60 ish miles though 10 inches of snow at 40 mph. I can only imagine how long one of these vehicles would last if taken care of.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good, dependable truck

by blazing my roads from Hope, RI on Sun Dec 09 2012

Great looking and performance running truck. Looking forward to winter with 4x4.. Lots of room for family and big dog!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle!

by Trailblazer fan from Iowa on Wed May 16 2007

I love this truck! It rides great; my wife loves it too. There's room for my family of 5 and the features are great, making for a comfortable ride, even on long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

When the 2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer sport utility vehicle was introduced a year ago, quite a few potential customers thought something was missing: a third row of seats.

After all, the similarly new-for-2002 Ford Explorer, and its stable mate, the Mercury Mountaineer, offered third-row seating. The Explorer was 189.5 inches long, and the TrailBlazer was 191.8 inches long – how could Ford fit three rows of seats, and Chevy couldn’t, even though the TrailBlazer was more than 2 inches longer than the Explorer?

If you ask General Motors engineers – and I did – they’ll tell you that it was certainly possible to put a third seat in the TrailBlazer. The Suzuki XL-7 has... Read More