2003 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

2003 Dodge Dakota

$1,746 - $9,298  MSRP Range
2003 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

27 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2 Trucks 2 Dakotas

by Second Time Dakota Owner from Clarion, PA on Wed Mar 25 2009

I was the owner of a 00 Dakota slt, when i sold it I purchased a 03 Dakota slt because I loved the first one so much! Both had terrific power with the 4.7 engine, decent gas mileage for the engine size, bigger than other compact pickups, very friendly cabin cabin area. All round great pickup! Know a friend with V6 and regrets it shifting so much (tranny strain) My 4.7s actually get better on gas!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Dakota Quad Cab

by Dan from Cleveland on Sat Jul 30 2011

Very reliable truck so far. I bought this truck used 3 months ago with 90,000 miles on it because I wanted a truck for once and was looking for something with an exteded cab. Came across a great looking quad cab and bought it for a reasonable price. Truck has a V6 in it and although I thought about buying a V8, thought it would be a little better on fuel than the V8. All in all, not a bad truck. Lots of room in the quad cab for passengers and the bed is just a tad under 5ft 6 inches so it's not a full 6 Ft bed... Not bad though for weekend projects or medium duty work or towing. Truck drives very well, was well maintained by the previous owners and I've had no issues with it since owning it. Fuel milage is consistent at about 19 MPG combined. Best I have seen was about 22.5 on the Highway and worst was about 17. Not too bad for a truck and a 3.9 Liter V6 moving it. I've been told the 4.7 Liter is about the same in milage but has more power for towing. Something to think about...Since I don't really tow anything I took the 3.9 liter and am happy with it. Drove the truck to South Carolina from Ohio and was pleased with the overall comfort and ride. Gas could be a bit better on the long haul but again, it's a truck...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet Truck

by Sandman4X4 from Marthas Vineyard on Mon Aug 08 2011

Bought new in 2003 Reg. cab 4X4 SXT 5sp. locking diff. 3.92, this truck can work, I was delivering bottled water with it for 8mos. I could get 40! 5 gal bot. in the bed, at 4.8lbs@gal=1920lbs!! yes I was overloaded, every day!, sometims twice a day! had plenty of power, suspension never bottomed out, not like the bosses 2004 Tundra (broken springs). I made a 950 mile round trip m/t going with 10 knox-down picnic tables in back 950lbs., towing a trailer with another 35 tables 3,987lbs. at the Cat scale: 9,210lbs. total gross combined weight! thru the mountains on rt. 80 in Penn. to Mass. on the trip out emty got 21mpg on the hyw. on the trip back 14.5! not bad. I was going to buy a new one, but the screwd-up the style of the newer truck. But I think this truck will last a long time, 63,000 so far I did have to replace the ball joints, so what, and the water pump went out at 49,000, covered under warranty, I only give it a 4 star on comfort because it is only a reg. cab. GOOD TRUCK.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

SXT, 3.9l V6, 5spd manual, regular cab

by Miles from Seattle, WA on Thu Nov 30 2017

I found myself buying my first truck and it was between this and a regular cab Ranger with the 2.5 four cylinder. Had an insanely low (for a 14 year old truck) 65k on it when I bought it and almost a year later I am at 81k. I have had a trouble-free ownership so far, other than replacing the drive belt and servicing the rear diff when I first bought it. Pros would be how well this truck has aged (I've had a few compliments on it!), the consistent 20-22mpg I get with my manual transmission and how surprisingly comfortable it is on long journeys. A couple of downsides to consider before buying: like many others with the 3.9, there is a noticeable lack of power in hilly or mountainous terrain that gets me longing for a V8. Furthermore, while it's nice to have a no frills truck, there is a lack of comfort features for 2003 (no power windows/locks/seats/keyless entry) which took some getting used to. Because my Dakota has low miles and a manual, I plan on keeping it for quite some time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle, great pricing

by Pheno from Chili, NY on Sat Feb 24 2007

Altho the 3.9l lacks complete power, it still gets up and goes. Very comfortable interior design, with extended cab. Comfortable driving and great handling. Rear wheel drive makes for a bit of a hastle in the wintery months, but for a few months of the year its worth it, unless you find the 4x4 version.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Unreliable

by JeepGuy from Madison, WI on Thu Oct 12 2017

This was definitely not a truck I would ever buy again. Not smooth, not as powerful as I had wanted, and most importantly it broke down constantly. Not a reliable truck.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable car ive owned

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Corning New York on Sun Oct 13 2013

I would recommed this type of vehicle to a friend or family , i have been happy with it . I want to find another one very soon .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable 4WD Vehicle

by XXnemesisXX from Western Pa. on Wed Apr 11 2018

Overall this vehicles a good buy for $ spent ... as trucks of this type go its not as large nor as high as other full-size trucks which has its advantages in manuverability and gives a wider stance in appearance - interior rooms perfect with comfortable seating, gauges and controls in the right areas, plus the added rear seating and storage (club cab) without the added 2 xtra doors - electric switch controlled shift-on-the-fly 4WD is a great feature - having the 6 cyl equipped with the 5-sp w/OD manual trans definitely helps in the fuel range dept. and still has enough performance to haul a heavy payload without the added expense of higher registration and insurance woes in comparison to larger full-size pickups. Its appearance, performance, and reliabily are a step beyond those offered by other manufacturers in the mid-size class for its era. I've owned one for 6 yrs. and thou only 25k miles were added it was a 'thumbs up' all thru its journey in every aspect - only negative I would ppost is that of the sheetmetal being prone to rust - BUT - what truck doesn't if its driven in the northern states.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It's an ok truck

by gmrich from Michigan on Fri Dec 03 2010

the 3.9 has very poor pick up when you floor the gas pedal. When I drove it through a hilly mountain area could't get over 60 mph on the moderate inclines to save my life. This was in 2003 so the truck was brand new.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

reliable mini truck

by Winny from Asheville, NC on Mon Apr 05 2010

We have a 2 WD 4.7l V8 with about 145kmls. It's a reliable truck with up to 17 mls / gal. V8 is powerful and fun to drive. Truck is practical and comfy even on longer rides. We had some minor defects like broken power locking, cabin has a water leak, etc. but no major issues. Divetrain is good and has no oil leaks at all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3