2005 Neon

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Neon

2005 Dodge Neon

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

52 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 Dodge Neon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

this car is the best

by patches from lakeland, Fl on Mon Dec 21 2009

This car never stops surprising me i bought the car brand new back in 04 now it has over 105,000 niles on it never a problem. i mainly used it for work back when i first got it making deliveries driving it all day and night in some cases. the car hasn't let me down now im driving it more like i would a truck, dribing down roads that you would want to take a 4x4 down, of course not to bad of roads as to not sink the car. All the time i hear about people saying that their neon is breaking and having issues when they first get it, i dont believe its dodge's fault i have taken care of my car and its still going strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge neon

by 2 Neon owner from California on Mon Nov 28 2011

Great car, ...so good in fact, I bought two, one white and one orange. Purchased one new, the other used. The best features are the ease of use, quick acceleration, better than Ford Escort for comparsion.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

better than i expected

by MIKE from northwest indiana on Tue Jan 13 2009

ive had my 05' neon for roughly four months now and have not experienced any major problems. i sold my f-150 due to skyrocketing gas prices this summer and now that they are down again i have a little remourse. the ride is decent, the speakers are awefull, mpg's could be a little better and the seats for some reason stain from any liquid, even rain water. but over all not to bad. it does the trick. the faults are minor and that is to be expected, keep in mind your not buying a luxury sedan.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge Neon SXT

by DSXT from Tampa,FL on Fri Dec 31 2010

Great car, easy to drive, you save money with gas. Perfect for city. I had a dodge neon, never had any problem with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great commuter car

by modern mom from maryville MO on Sat Aug 19 2006

I love the gas mileage, handling, look. 30mpg in town about 38-40 on the highway. (I have the stripped down, crank window version) I dont love the engine noise, cramped interior, sqeaky brakes. The placement of console and cup holders is a little awkward. However, on long drives (1 hr or more) this car is pure pleasure! I have avoided 2 accidents with the awesome handling, quick response steering. The get up and go of this car makes passing uphill a no sweat operation. and man o man. Watch your speed! I have gotten up to 80 mph with this car and not even noticed!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Used Car Available

by Second Neon Owner from Providence, RI on Sun May 31 2015

I have owned an '05 Neon SXT automatic for 3 years now. It currently has 155k trouble-free miles. Is it the fastest car on the road? No, certainly not. Would I want to get into a crash with it? No, but this is why I pay attention while I drive, but that's beside the point. It has been a very reliable car since I purchased it with 64k miles on it. It has had three "major" issues: the water pump began leaking at around 95k miles, but was replaced with the timing belt at 97k miles. It was only a very minor leak, and caused no further problems. At about 130k miles, the left rear wheel bearing began to go bad, but my guess would be that the notoriously bad Rhode Island roads did it in more than anything else. Finally, what might have been the most worrisome, transmission bucking at about 42mph, turned out to simply be a stuck solenoid. Fixed with a $12 bottle of Z-Max. It does clunk a little over bumps, and as I've read elsewhere, it was a common problem with other Dodge vehicles at the time as well. It's just the rather poorly designed sway bar in the front end. If it bothers you, remove it. I want to complain about all the little things in the car, like the dashboard that cracked from being in the sun every day, but I can't. This car has started up every time, and gets me to work every day without problems or drama of any kind. The headlights aren't too bad, the back seat actually has surprising leg room for the size of the car, and the trunk is cavernous. The seats are pretty comfortable too; I've driven 15 hours straight sitting in them without much complaint. With proper maintenance, I firmly believe the car will go to 250k easily, and there's no reason why other examples of the Neon wouldn't do the same.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car and service

by Neon nut from LA (Not Los angelos) on Sat Apr 19 2008

Got this car brand new in 2005. Best choice we ever made! This car was so awesome the first day. Then, it was wrecked the next day! But, the dealership took care of us, even coming to the scene of the accident and helping us out with where to go and what to do. We got it repaired in two weeks, and it runs like it's never even been in a wreck! Have had it now for 3 years and its never been better. Freezing cold A/C, hot heater, and just an awesome sound system and CD player make this a great buy! Too bad they stopped making it........I would definitely buy a newer year model!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Neon!!!!

by 2005 neon from florida on Mon Sep 10 2007

This car is awesome. I drove to tampa from central fl and it got awesome gas mileage. I bareily used any gas. It comfortable to drive in for long distances. My kids (2 and 5) fit fine in the back it was bigger than my escort My neon didn't have a cd player but i just hooked up my ipod and it worked great. The stero and speaker worked awesome too. I very happy with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car for Anyone!!!

by Loves to drive from United States on Tue Jan 16 2007

I own the SXT version of the Neon and couldn't be happier! This car is really reliable and I have had no problems thus far and I drive quite a bit on a daily basis. It has an adequate amount of power even for some fun, nice handling, and a decent amount of room. This car handles decently in snow, dirt, mud, and water (puddles). I have made some trips with no problems, nice fuel economy. Good sound quality with the CD/radio system. The car has a sporty/practical look to suit different tastes. The A/C and heat work very well in all weather. I have received a lot of positive comments about my car! Great value! Overall, a good buy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Subcompact Almost Got it Right!

by 4CylinderCritic from Detroit, MI on Wed Apr 11 2007

When a car is inexpensive, it gets into the hands of everyone and no matter what the quality of the product, few people want to be known for owning a ?cheap car?. This is what happened to the Neon. It originally sold quite well, but near the end of its life, its merits and quality were overshadowed by the negative stigma that put it into the category of the Pinto, Cavalier, Festiva, Aries and others that most people now want to forget. What made things worse is that as the car was being improved upon with each iteration, Dodge failed to make much progress in certain key areas. First, the engine is noisy, the ride comfort is not awful, but hard enough to bother the non-enthusiastic driver, the fit and finish is below standard and the build quality would be good for a car built in the late 80?s. In the hands of certain drivers, those flaws are easily overshadowed by what makes the Neon great, especially the 2002-2005 models. First of all, the aggressive stance but inviting appearance is a mix that most compact manufacturers have attempted to imitate but have not matched (e.g. the Chevy Cobalt sedan?s fender flares and rear tail lights - complete rip-offs). Second, the car?s fuel economy is excellent. Third, the driving character of the car is nothing short of sporty especially when equipped with the manual transmission (I?ve driven the automatic version, and that one is almost as good). Although performance wise, the Neon is often compared the cars like the Chevy Cavalier and the Hyundai Elantra - it is a subcompact. And when compared to the contemporary cars in its class and price range like the Kia Rio, Nissan Versa and the Honda Fit, it is one of the fastest!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6