2001 Escape

Consumer Reviews
2001 Ford Escape

Change Vehicle
4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

40 Reviews
2001 Ford Escape
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

The Great Escape

by Escapist from Las Vegas, NV on March 3, 2011

We've had our 2001 Escape XLT 4x4 for about 4 years, and we've loved it. It now has 125,000 miles on it and we've never had any major issues with it, just minor maintenance here and there. We have two kids and they fit very comfortably in the back and there's lots of cargo room for big strollers, etc. The Escape served us well living in Utah with all of the snow, it handles great in the snow. All around great car for a small family!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TARDIS

by Escape Enthusiast from 98166 on August 7, 2010

It's a small SUV but you can't believe it's as large and comfortable inside as it is. I've had a 55 gal barrel, a 42 inch TV, a 6 ft folding table, 8ft 2x4s and lots of Christmas trees in the back all with the hatch closed. It's also dependable and sure footed in the snow. How can you get along without one?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I can't wait to buy another escape

by Escape Lover from South Jordan, Utah on July 5, 2010

I owned my Escape for 4 years and can only say good things about it. We only changed over to a minivan to fit more people, but once I'm done with that car I plan to go back to another Escape. The power was great, the all wheel drive got us out of a lot of issues, probably more than we were aware of. My newer Corolla (with fewer miles) had more costlier repairs than my Escape had.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've had - in fact, I've had two!

by Super Mom from Pennsburg, PA on January 29, 2011

I love my 2001 Ford Escape! My first one had 120,000 miles on it when my 17 year old drove it into the bottom of a cemented light pole. Somehow, he was not injured - the airbags had gone off and everything!! I loved my car so much, that I set out looking to replace it with another. As for holding its value, we bought it used 4 years ago. We got almost what we paid for it 4 years ago back from insurance and paid about that for another used one, with the same options (fully loaded)! Of course, it has 120,000 miles - it has needed maintenance things here and there, nothing huge.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by 787 Guy from Seattle on August 6, 2010

Great acceleration from V6, better than expected gas mileage, no unscheduled maintenance for first nine years, easy entry for aging baby boomer, parts and filters easy to find.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best suv ive ever owned

by little suv man from toronto,ohio on October 28, 2009

I have owned a 2001 xls ford escape for 7 months now very nice suv.Awd and 4x4 are very nice havent had in snow yet but its coming soon.Ive had to replace the tranny fluid and engine oil so far. i hear trannys are very bad with this year.Other than that nothing major just oxygen sensor and struts but at 125,000 miles its running strong. This car has never left me stranded and i have off roaded it and its great in mud.very sharp great gas milage for an suv and the looks of it with running boards front chrome bursh guard makes it look like a tank.The bad part about an xls is the center console its very low to the floor and no arm support,would buy another one but atleast a 2005 xlt.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

escape owner for ever

by first time escape owner from sault ste marie,MI on January 23, 2011

bought an 01 Escape XLT V6 4x4. Have only had it for six months,so far it has been a great vehicle. it handles great in the snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My great Escape

by JayMan from CO on October 9, 2015

I've had my 2001 2.0l I4 5 speed manual 2wd for 13+ years. I love the little thing as its the best all around car out there. Good and sporty on road, and surprisingly great off road to. Tartus like inside and eats all the cargo you can throw at it. Never quits and I can count on it starting every time. The engine maybe down on power for some but its the little engine that can and gets 25 to 30 mpg. I would highly recommend an Escape.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

237k mi & goin

by Lolo from Mauk, Ga on December 26, 2015

I bought an 01 V-6 Escape with 201k mi on original engine and transmission. I've owned it 2 years and will get another when this one's done. It's comfortable and functional. I depend on it for a daily commute & stick it to the floor to 6k RPM also. I just fix minor things that come up on any 15 yr old vehicle and stay on top of fluid levels. I only change the oil every 15k-20k mi. I expect to hit 300k mi.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice going down the road

by Eric from Indy on May 10, 2007

I only use it in the winter which I was surprised that it got around with no problems even when the snow was up to my "running boards" /great car/truck plenty of room and prefer to drive it over my 4 runner limited due to the escape has more power and room and it actually did better then the Toyota in the snow!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2001 Ford Escape