2007 Escape

Consumer Reviews
2007 Ford Escape

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

38 Reviews
2007 Ford Escape
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Never had an issue

by TJV from on May 13, 2017

This is a solid vehicle, in all the years I owned this SUV it always preformed for us. An awesome vehicle to own

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall good car so far

by Jo85 from Portland, OR on March 20, 2018

Haven't owned this car very long yet, but I've loved it so far. There is a problem you should be aware of; this generation of Escapes has a common problem with the alarm going off randomly. From what I've read it's usually due to a faulty latch either in a door, the tailgate, or hood sending a signal that one of them is ajar. That said the reliability ratings were really good, prices on used models are very reasonable, it's got some great features and is comfortable and fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My return to American made vehicles

by Beau from Boscobel Wisconsin on December 20, 2012

I have been a import car customer for many years. However in light of the state of our economy i have come to believe we all must do our part to improve things in the good old USA. In light of the Obama bail out I've chosen Ford to give my business to. Don't get me wrong i know not much is truly made in the USA anymore but Ford has remained competitive with the imports more than the other US auto manufacturers, hence their need to take the bailout. We really like our Escape.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love passing the gas stations

by dave from Cincinnati, Ohio on October 18, 2006

Have owned the car 3 weeks. Purchased car in Florida and drove it home to Cincinnati. Averaged 33.3 on highway doing 70+ and city is between 34 and 42 depending on conditions. Hills seems to lower the mileage. Drove from Destin, Florida to Cincinnati on $40 worth of gas and had a 1/2 tank upon arrival in Cincinnati. Navigation system works well and the AM/FM/Cd player also works very well. Not sure what others see as screen too small. Friends have Prius and complain about the screen in their Toyota being to large and bothersome. Interior needs to have some additional storage areas for holding items. Has the AC Adaptor which take one of the storage area on the console. Would like to see a little less plastic and a little more quality in the Leather Option. Miss not having outside temperature and head lights that come on/off automatically as in my previous car. Otherwise it is a fun car to drive and handles very well. Transmission is very smooth. Love passing those gas stations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2007 Ford Escape XLT with 117k

by EdK49er from Dearbonr, MI on August 2, 2015

I purchased a 2007 Ford Escape XLT with 117k miles for my 17 Year old daughter. The stocks and struts along with the engine mounts needed to be replaced. The body is in good shape (not rusted out around the wheel wells like many I saw for sale). I believe this vehicle will be reliable after I have the front brakes replaced since they are worn. Overall I like the vehicle and will retain it's value in the next few years. This vehicle has a moon roof, premium sound and fog lights. I searched a while to buy the right Escape and I believe this one is one of the better ones.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

35 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best small SUV I've driven

by Practiacal but fun from New Orleans, LA on March 4, 2009

Bought new 2007 Ford Escape Sport V6. Routine avg 26 mpg, mixed city/hwy. Lowest mpg is city at 22 mpg. Very versatile for carrying items in back, on roof, or using small trailer. Easy to change modes from hauling to passengers. Holds a lot compared to Chev S-10, Olds Bravada, Toyota Rav4, etc., and was the cheapest at the time I bought. Very reliable to date (23K miles). Comfortable on short city trips and long all-day trips. Easy to park in city, including parallel parking. Only negative I have is sensation that tires (Continental Contitrac P235/70R16 OWL A/S) not grip very well when stopping on wet asphalt. I do not get that feeling with our Prius.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Little SUV

by GPC Pilot from Irvine, CA on May 23, 2007

I've had my '07 Escape Hybrid for almost 3 months and have 3000 miles on it. I have achieved over 28 mpg since day one, and most tanks of gas are in the 31 mpg range. For a small, yet practical SUV, that's good numbers. The Escape is comfortable, fairly nimble and not nearly as ponderous in handling as the Ford Ranger it replaced. My buddy's Explorer is a road boat by comparison and I used to be please with it. My only real complaints are few: 1. The radio sound (base AM/FM/CD-changer) is okay for a 1970's car and it is difficult for rear seat passengers to hear unless I crank up the volume considerably; 2. I miss my coin holder. My Ranger could hold quarters, dimes and nickles quietly in a spring-loaded holder. No such luck with the Escape that merely has a "dimple" in the dash that stays empty most of the time due to rattling change.; 3. Trailer towing is virtually nill. It is rated for 1000 pounds, but Ford tested it at well over 4000. What so low, Ford?; 4. Lastly, though not a big complaint, is that the A/C compressor only runs when the gas engine runs. If it's really hot out, then I can use recirc or Max A/C, but the latter forces the gas engine to run, and lowers the fuel economy somewhat. Otherwise, I'm please as can be with this trucklet and hope to see it through many years of service.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I Have Ever Owned

by JRueff from Palm Springs, CA on July 20, 2007

A solid vehicle that is fun to drive and won't break the bank. Plus, the gas mileage is outstanding.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It was okay

by General Customer from Omaha, NE on March 8, 2013

The car was wonderful, except when something would go wrong. And it was never minor things. We had a 2007 Ford Escape and it only had 76,825 miles on it, but in the short time we have had it the tire presser sensors went out, we had the front struts break, our E-brake stop working and now our transmission dropped! We took very good care of our car, we got the oil changed every 3 months and the transmission flushed when needed, and then we were driving and it broke. It kicked into neutral, then overdrive (ON ITS OWN) then the transmission broke. It was an internal problem so we never saw it coming. All in all we have had to pay MORE than its value trying to keep this car running. But what was weird is that there were never any minor problems, but there were so many major problems. But other than it not being all to reliable it was a good little car. Don't get me wrong, I loved that car, but I don't feel like spending soo much on it any more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Loved it til the tranny died at 126K

by Consumer from Dacula, Ga on May 16, 2017

I loved this car and sported around in it for years. It was the perfect size and fairly reliable. It was a great size and folding down the seats was great for added cargo room. However, I was extremely disappointed when the transmission failed at 126K miles. They should definitely last longer than that. My hubs is a huge Ford fan and his current truck is also experiencing maintenance issues. That was my last Ford for sure. Sad.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4