2012 Expedition

Consumer Reviews

2012 Ford Expedition

$7,643 - $19,607  MSRP Range
2012 Ford Expedition

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

32 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Ford Expedition?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

New Expedition replaces older Expedition

by Sunny Boy from Canon City, Colorado on Thu Oct 25 2012

Unfortunately my last Expedition, a 2005, was totalled after hitting a deer in Wyoming. I searched for a new vehicle looking at GM, Chevrolet, Jeep and Ford Expeditions and when it was all over decided on a brand new Ford Expedition XLT 4WD with the big engine! There is simply no comparison to the other vehicles. The Expedition stands out in room, comfort, appearance, size and road handling. I use the vehicle both on and off-road as I did the 2005. And mileage, of course, is great with the new guy! I get 21 mpg on the highway (except of course if I'm going head on into the Wyoming wind!)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Purchase

by Expi from Massachusetts on Mon Jul 08 2013

I am totally satisfied with my purchase through Cars.com.I upgraded my 2005 Expedition to a 2012.I could feel the difference immediately,really nice, smooth drive. The hood is slightly shorter than the older model and has more of a Truck finish. The front grill on this newer model looks strong, fully chromed , great bumper and front lights.The interior is sweet,sunroof,nicely laid out dashboard,additional controls on the steering,making it more user friendly. The overall paint finish is superb with the gloss and metallic fillings.Thank you Cars.com for making your site so easy to navigate and I would also like to say Thank you to your Customer Service Dept. for allowing me to advertise my Trade-in, at really short notice.Thank you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV for the Money

by SUV Must Driver from Harper, Tx on Sun Aug 26 2012

This Ford Expedition is the coolest SUV I have driven after having owned other big SUVs. The air-conditioned seats are a must-have in the south! The automatic fold-down split third seat and power lift gate are extremely convenient for anyone. The Sync system lets me play my iPhone music, call people with touch free activation, and will even give me directions! The interior styling with sunroof is awesome! I would definitely recommend this SUV. Smoothe riding! Feel like a queen of the road as it is nice and high up. Exterior is a little boxy looking but otherwise I love this SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Expedition

by hawkeypierce from Kettering, OH on Thu Jun 14 2018

This car has great towing capacity. There are only really two SUVs that can tow over 9000 lbs, The Ford Expedition and the Nissan Armada. I was looking at both closely, just happened to find a better deal on the Ford. Also the Ford has air conditioned leather seats, so win!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exactly what I was looking for

by RobbK from CORTLANDT MANOR on Tue Feb 20 2018

Wanted a better tow vehicle for my RV trailer but didn't want a pickup. Factory tow package rates ability to tow up to 9000 lbs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Expedition and still happy!

by Huck from Wyoming on Thu Oct 30 2014

The 2012 XLT is our second Expedition, the first, a 2005, was wiped out after hitting a 'wet' doe at 55 mph. We immediately added a steel grill guard before driving it! The vehicle handles great, it climbs the passes just fine, has great pickup when passing on the highway and the gas mileage is very acceptable at about 19 mpg on the highway, 17 in the city. Have taken it out in the sticks looking for wild mustangs and in the gumbo of northern Wyoming. It is white and shows dirt so I wash it frequently. Will be looking for another Expedition in about 2016 or 2017 as long as the V8 is offered.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family vehicle

by AliE on Mon Jul 24 2017

We needed a vehicle that would handle our three kids, their gear and our dog plus tow a camper. This vehicle handles all that and more in a stylish way, easy to handle and safe! I feel very comfortable driving it anywhere and even parking it in the tighter areas. Definitely recommend this vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable vehicle I ever owned

by Outdoors Fanatic from Harrisburg, PA area on Fri Jul 19 2013

This vehicle is extremely comfortable with the room it provides for seating and hauling. Heated/cooled seats, moonroof and great entertainment center add to a pleasurable ride. We do towing and this vehicle came with the heavy duty tow package. It is the best vehicle I've found on the market to get the job done.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've owned

by Rdblrb from Goshen on Mon Aug 05 2019

This car has everything I could want. Has the power to pull my 28 ft. travel trailer. While driving in total comfort plus room for passengers without them being cramped. Only complaint is gas mileage but is about what I expected and I knew it wasn't going to get 30 mpg. I get 15 to 16 in city and 18 to 19 on highway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this SUV!

by Paula C. from Aurora IL on Thu Nov 28 2019

This is my second Expedition, I like the size, power fold third row is fantastic! Love the Expedition. I would definitely recommend this vehicle, very comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4