2006 Explorer

Consumer Reviews
2006 Ford Explorer

Change Vehicle
4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

67 Reviews
2006 Ford Explorer
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 67 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Traded one Explorer for another

by Explorer Enthusiast from Los Angeles on March 30, 2012

I have driven a Ford Explorer since 2003, when I purchased my first one. It has been such an all purpose design for me that I practically live in it. I am constantly on the road with it. It is great for hauling (I do swap meets), travelling (I've driven from Los Angeles to the Arctic Circle and back), and just plain luxury driving in great comfort. It easily transports from 1 to 7 people. My previous Explorer lasted for 185,000 miles and still no engine problems. I have great expectations for this one too. So far, so good! Get one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and a comfortable ride

by Sam from OH on December 31, 2013

I only had a radiater issue which seems to be a common problem, other than that I have not even replaced the brake pads yet, I have 76K on this. I was lucky with the radiater issue also since the dealer was very nice and gave me good ammount of credit which I believe he said he got from Ford and acknowledged the issue with the Radiator.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Explore Eddie Bauer 2006

by Eddie Bauer Explorer Lover from Detroit, MI on April 15, 2013

I purchased this truck one month ago April 2013. I am the third owner. The truck still looks and runs like a brand new truck. Smooth ride. Gas millage not too bad. It had 101,500 miles at purchase. I can't wait to take it on the road. Love It.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love this vehicle!

by Noah from Spokane,WA on April 12, 2015

I just purchased my 06 XLT 3 months ago with 86k on it. The vehicle is in great shape, super clean inside and out, quiet, comfortable, stylish for the year. Overall I enjoy everything about my explorer. It is the XLT but it does have some extras that most did not come with standard on the XLT. I have the back up sensors, 17 inch rims, 3Rd row seating and the grill is the same as the limited edition. It's a random package but maybe someone ordered it this way when they purchased it new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall a great vehicle.

by Tamara Jones from Rocklin, CA on April 2, 2009

We have owned our fully loaded 2006 Eddie Bauer Explorer for 3 years now and have 37k miles on it. It has been very reliable and the only thing we had break was the electronic third row seat. Ford took care of it and I just had to pay $100 for repair since my warranty was up. We bought this vehicle because they were dealing so low on the big SUV's. MSRP was $44k and they gave us $10k off sticker price for it brand new. We had a 2002 Mustang before this which is now owned by a family member and no problems at all with that car either. I'm starting to think Ford makes a decent car now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Eddie Bauer Explorer, but...

by Beeba from Mattapoisett, MA on October 26, 2007

I have had 2 issues with it. The ticking noise from the 3V motor irritates me, makes it sound like I have a lifter problem or something. Very annoying, especially when you are in a closed in area like at the bank at the drive thru. Have learned to live with it. Also there is a transmission issue that they are not able to correct yet, still writing a program to correct this. "design flaw". When you get to a red light after coming to a complete stop, the vehicle jerks forward, almost like someone tapped you from behind. Not a random thing, happens constantly and there won't be a fix for it until sometime first quarter 2008, I'm told. Ford should offer people with a problem that they "can't" fix yet either another vehicle or an extension on their warranty. SOMETHING. It may sound like I hate my car, but I don't, I love it, just hate these issues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ford Explorer for the Price

by American Car buyer from Catonsville, Maryland on July 15, 2010

Averaging about 17 miles per gallon. The car was very clean and runs very well. I would recommend shopping for an extended warranty on the internet before going to the dealership. Otherwise a good shopping experience.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Explorer Review

by Bel Air Car Guy from Bel Air, MD on February 21, 2010

Purchased a 2006 Explorer V-8 Limited with 32,000 miles. Roomy, comfortable seats, and smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's Awesome!

by dasbus from MInneapolis, MN on October 21, 2011

We traded in a low mileage Nissan Pathfinder that was noisy, buzzy, complicated and unreliable. Our Ford Explorer Limited V8 with the tow package is superior in every way. It even gets better highway mileage! It's really, really nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I ever owned

by Lofty from UAE on February 2, 2015

I bought this car in 2006 brand new I have not had any problems at all I have driven over 300,000 Km's. I live in the UAE. I have the same exhaust and have only changed tyres and breaks. The weather here can vary from 20c to 53c and still I have had not one problem. Thanks you FORD

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Our Expert Review: 2006 Ford Explorer