2008 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2008 Ford Explorer

$3,847 - $12,631  MSRP Range
2008 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

33 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Explorer Eddie Bauer 4x4 V8

by Steve from Atlanta, GA on Tue Jul 01 2008

I bought my new Explorer in May and I love it! The interior quality of this vehicle is incredible, and much better than my last car, a 2003 Toyota 4Runner. We'll just have to hope the quality stands up to my 2 kids. The powerfolding rear seats are also very convienent, as well as the power lift-gate. This SUV looks amazing in the red with the factory chrome rims after a good detail. This is my favorite of any car I've ever owned and I am very pleased with the performance of the 292 horsepower V8. This is a great SUV and I recommend it to any one with a family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Explorer #7

by Car Girl from Orlando fl on Sat Sep 01 2012

That's right, 7 Explorers. Since my 1991 Sport to my 2008 Eddie Bauer there is no better ride or value. In spite of being a full size vehicle, I still get 20 mpg. Plenty of room to carry everything including 4 dogs and equipment to dog shows. Reliability is amazing. In 7 Explorers I have never been stranded due to mechanical failure. They are comfortable and I can't say enough good things about them. Do yourself a favor and just go test drive one. You'll be taking it home.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I have ever owned

by grammy from Albemarle,NC on Sun Jul 25 2010

My 2008Ford Explorer is the best car I have ever owned. It is a comfortable quiet ride. I have really enjoyed leather seats. I have 5 grandkids and they clean much easier than cloth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

98 cadillac deville

by carman from Wood Dale on Sat Dec 17 2011

I pretty much know how the 2000 ford/mercury suvs run as I have a 2002 mountaineer. overall for 10 years I have only had to fix the A/C and do brakes and tire more than most typical cars, so yeah...not too bad for 10 years. gas is not the greates but I will scarafice it for the comfort and 4x4 since we do live in crummy winter times, especially since my wife will be driving this on bad roads over a half hour each way near Wisconsin. Overall though, good service and respectable salesmen there.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford

by Dick from Houston,TX on Sun Feb 20 2011

The Explorer is just another fine Ford product. I won't buy anything else. I was looking for a 2005 because the shift is on the column. Mainly for more room. The center console is amaller. I found an '08 with 4x4 and a sunroof. Outstanding!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great reliability

by wolf from Reading Pa on Sat Sep 04 2010

Great reliability. Fun to drive and lots of space. Cabin has good visibility and V8 engine and traction are great in winter weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Explorer 4X4 2008

by Explorer 4X4 from Saudi Arabia on Mon Mar 26 2012

Good value for the money and performance in comparison with other options in the market. Nice design. Less isolation of air ans sound than average. It ia suitable for work and family in the same time. Recommended specially for practical persons.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2008 Ford Explorer

by 2008 Ford Explorer from Independence, KY on Fri Aug 16 2013

Its an older vehicle but it does what we need it to do at a better price than any other vehicle its size. 7 passenger, with cargo space and all 5 back seats fold down flat. Gas mileage is not this best for this year but I am guessing that's why the price of the truck is soo affordable. Love this truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 EXPLORER

by FORD MAN from Brooklyn, NY on Fri Jan 14 2011

This is my second Ford Explorer. Ford has out done its self. Not only can this car transport the family but it is cable of bringing 6 large men and excessories to the tailgate party! Plenty of room! This vehicle is reliable and fun to drive. The V6 gives you enough performance when you need it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by BarryCodyHoward from Pawleys Island, SC on Sun Nov 02 2014

I bought my Ford Explorer Limited brand new in 2008 from Beach Ford in Myrtle Beach, SC (Great Service as always). I drove my Explorer to 143,000 miles and traded it last year for a 2013 Ford Fusion (huge mistake). At 100,000, I wrecked my Explorer and had pretty much all of the front end replaced (hit a tree head on). After the wreck, things began to go wrong with the transmission, which is why I traded it. However, had I not had the accident, I would probably still have my Explorer. It was a great car and I miss it dearly!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4