2008 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2008 Ford Explorer

$3,188 - $10,808  MSRP Range
2008 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

53 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 53 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Explorer Eddie Bauer 4x4 V8

by Steve from Atlanta, GA on Tue Jul 01 2008

I bought my new Explorer in May and I love it! The interior quality of this vehicle is incredible, and much better than my last car, a 2003 Toyota 4Runner. We'll just have to hope the quality stands up to my 2 kids. The powerfolding rear seats are also very convienent, as well as the power lift-gate. This SUV looks amazing in the red with the factory chrome rims after a good detail. This is my favorite of any car I've ever owned and I am very pleased with the performance of the 292 horsepower V8. This is a great SUV and I recommend it to any one with a family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Semi reliable

by Explorer from New York on Tue Jan 15 2019

I had the car for like 2 months and then the transmisson went without any warning. They're know for bad transmissions. Other than transmisson and radiators they aren't terrible.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

98 cadillac deville

by carman from Wood Dale on Sat Dec 17 2011

I pretty much know how the 2000 ford/mercury suvs run as I have a 2002 mountaineer. overall for 10 years I have only had to fix the A/C and do brakes and tire more than most typical cars, so yeah...not too bad for 10 years. gas is not the greates but I will scarafice it for the comfort and 4x4 since we do live in crummy winter times, especially since my wife will be driving this on bad roads over a half hour each way near Wisconsin. Overall though, good service and respectable salesmen there.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2008 Ford Explorer

by 2008 Ford Explorer from Independence, KY on Fri Aug 16 2013

Its an older vehicle but it does what we need it to do at a better price than any other vehicle its size. 7 passenger, with cargo space and all 5 back seats fold down flat. Gas mileage is not this best for this year but I am guessing that's why the price of the truck is soo affordable. Love this truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great reliability

by wolf from Reading Pa on Sat Sep 04 2010

Great reliability. Fun to drive and lots of space. Cabin has good visibility and V8 engine and traction are great in winter weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford finally turns the corner on quality

by LionsRedwingsTigersFan from Cedar Springs MI on Wed Oct 24 2007

With each passing day I am more impressed with my Explorer Eddie Bauer. It's a solid ride. There are no annoying rattles. The cabin is exceptionally quiet and the gauges and controls are all very visible and easy to operate. The styling is unique and distinctively Ford. My dad worked at Ford for over 50 years. If he were alive today he would be very proud that Ford has turned the corner and committed themselves to making quality cars again. I went from a Five Hundred into the Explorer and I was pleasantly surprised at how well it handled in tight spots as well as how smooth the ride was. I haven't felt this passionately about a new vehicle purchase in quite some time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Explorer 4X4 2008

by Explorer 4X4 from Saudi Arabia on Mon Mar 26 2012

Good value for the money and performance in comparison with other options in the market. Nice design. Less isolation of air ans sound than average. It ia suitable for work and family in the same time. Recommended specially for practical persons.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by BarryCodyHoward from Pawleys Island, SC on Sun Nov 02 2014

I bought my Ford Explorer Limited brand new in 2008 from Beach Ford in Myrtle Beach, SC (Great Service as always). I drove my Explorer to 143,000 miles and traded it last year for a 2013 Ford Fusion (huge mistake). At 100,000, I wrecked my Explorer and had pretty much all of the front end replaced (hit a tree head on). After the wreck, things began to go wrong with the transmission, which is why I traded it. However, had I not had the accident, I would probably still have my Explorer. It was a great car and I miss it dearly!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very happy I bought this vehicle

by Jules in Western Ma. on Sat Jul 14 2018

the Explorer I purchased was Just what I was looking for. I have owned them in the past. And I'm very happy I bought another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

by hy from st petersburg, fl on Mon Apr 17 2017

Why didn't I get one of these sooner! I love it! Great comfort and plenty of room. I can take this camping AND to work. I will always have a ford Explorer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6