2015 Explorer

Consumer Reviews
2015 Ford Explorer

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

97 Reviews
2015 Ford Explorer
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Good Vehicle, Very Spacious

by Commuter from Los Angeles, CA on December 12, 2014

Have had the new Ford Explorer for about 6 weeks now. Very spacious, good cargo area and legroom, I should have spent more time at the dealer learning the Ford Sync My Ride system. My vehicle has the large touchscreen console with Navigation. Trying to figure out Bluetooth system for the MP3 player on my phone and voice command systems. Very happy with the truck, ride is good, very comfortable seats and interior trim is nice quality. Quiet ride. Acceleration is OK, but would be better with the V8 engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT SUV AND VERY COMFORTABLE

by ENRIQUE from THE WOODLANDS, TEXAS on October 22, 2014

It is an excellent SUV....I exchanged my 2010 Mercedes GL450 for a 2015 Explorer XLT.....of course, you get accustomed to luxury (such as folding mirrors, especially at garage entrance, electronic steering wheel, seat positioning, etc.)....but besides that, it has all the luxury of a "luxury SUV"....5 ot of 5

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st "new" car since 1976

by Explorer Believer from Maryland on August 17, 2015

Absolutely the smoothest handling and ride to date, not to mention how quiet it is. My wife and I were amazed how quiet it is. Watching traffic and everything outside is like watching a silent movie. lol.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Our experience with our new explorer.

by Chris S from Spalding, Ne on June 6, 2017

Overall we like this vehicle. The fit and size are great. We have enjoyed traveling as well as shopping with this vehicle because of the abundant cargo room. The only two gripes I have with it is the shift lever is in the way of the forward beverage holder when removing your beverage to take a drink. The other is when we have the a/c on max cool, and we accelerate hard to pass someone on a 2 lane highway we get exhaust into the cabin. I simply lower a window to flush it out. I am hoping for a recall on this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2015 Ford Explorer

by C Diddy from Brighton, MI on October 12, 2014

Love the truck. Super comfortable. Tows well. Some small exterior things coming unglued. Overall love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

owner, A great value

by Big D from on April 5, 2017

Have had this Explorer for two years 25k miles, No issues. Smooth hwy vehicle. Been to Florida & TN twice & Dallas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Elegant Vehicle, Inside & Out!

by Sukie from Pearl, MS on February 16, 2017

I just like the look and feel of the 2015 Ford Explorer. It's design, inside and out, is built for the comfort, convenience, and safety of its driver and passengers. It's roomy but still looks sporty. Great vehicle!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable SUV

by wtravelah from Boston, MA on January 22, 2015

This has been the best of the 5th generation Explorers. Very smooth ride and has great power to tow up to 5000 lbs with the tow package. The interior is above average for Explorers and any complaints would have to be leaning towards a personal preference. The drivers and passengers seats are roomier than before, yet some drivers don't like the left foot rest area; they says it's too small. I'm ok with it.... it woks for me. Also the second row could be a bit larger to allow the middle seat to be "normal" size. The XLT w/appearance package is the best deal out there. Really sharp and loaded with extras.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprised first time Ford Owner

by Car Guy from McAllen, Texas on October 10, 2015

I have been working in the car Industry for over 30 years and am surprised by a new car for the first time! This is the first review I write. I purchased my 2015 Explorer base 2WD 6 months ago and continue to like something new about it just about every day. Handling is superp for an SUV the suspension exceeds my expectations, its quiet and ver comfortable. It amazes me how this car handles wet roads, never had anything like this. Highly recommend driving one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pure comfort

by Happy Customer from Thibodaux, La on April 15, 2015

I had test driven similar sized vehicle, but when I sat in the drivers seat of the explorer, I felt like I was in a luxury vehicle. There is a lot of space. The only two negative I have are 1. The pick up is a little slow (but that is actually encouraging better driving habits) and 2. The design of the center console storage is not the best use of space. Overall I am VERY pleased with my purchase and would do it all over again tomorrow if I had too!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Our Expert Review: 2015 Ford Explorer