2015 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2015 Ford Explorer

$17,190 - $32,266  MSRP Range
2015 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

117 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 117 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Good Vehicle, Very Spacious

by Commuter from Los Angeles, CA on Fri Dec 12 2014

Have had the new Ford Explorer for about 6 weeks now. Very spacious, good cargo area and legroom, I should have spent more time at the dealer learning the Ford Sync My Ride system. My vehicle has the large touchscreen console with Navigation. Trying to figure out Bluetooth system for the MP3 player on my phone and voice command systems. Very happy with the truck, ride is good, very comfortable seats and interior trim is nice quality. Quiet ride. Acceleration is OK, but would be better with the V8 engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT SUV AND VERY COMFORTABLE

by ENRIQUE from THE WOODLANDS, TEXAS on Wed Oct 22 2014

It is an excellent SUV....I exchanged my 2010 Mercedes GL450 for a 2015 Explorer XLT.....of course, you get accustomed to luxury (such as folding mirrors, especially at garage entrance, electronic steering wheel, seat positioning, etc.)....but besides that, it has all the luxury of a "luxury SUV"....5 ot of 5

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Our experience with our new explorer.

by Chris S from Spalding, Ne on Tue Jun 06 2017

Overall we like this vehicle. The fit and size are great. We have enjoyed traveling as well as shopping with this vehicle because of the abundant cargo room. The only two gripes I have with it is the shift lever is in the way of the forward beverage holder when removing your beverage to take a drink. The other is when we have the a/c on max cool, and we accelerate hard to pass someone on a 2 lane highway we get exhaust into the cabin. I simply lower a window to flush it out. I am hoping for a recall on this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2015 Ford Explorer

by C Diddy from Brighton, MI on Sun Oct 12 2014

Love the truck. Super comfortable. Tows well. Some small exterior things coming unglued. Overall love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Matched only by the last 6 Fords...and beats rest

by Donnie Dunagan PhD Maj USMC ret'd on wounds from San Angelo TX on Fri Jun 01 2018

Handling and vision, 360 degrees available, with road noise on our a bit poor condition streets, a pleasure to operate. My Lady-Wife at 66 handles this 2015 Ford with seating for 6 easy, better than a BMW and a Cad in the last 7 years. We got lucky when a top ethics lawyer referred us to Jim Bass Ford of San Angelo TX.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

owner, A great value

by Big D from on Wed Apr 05 2017

Have had this Explorer for two years 25k miles, No issues. Smooth hwy vehicle. Been to Florida & TN twice & Dallas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Elegant Vehicle, Inside & Out!

by Sukie from Pearl, MS on Thu Feb 16 2017

I just like the look and feel of the 2015 Ford Explorer. It's design, inside and out, is built for the comfort, convenience, and safety of its driver and passengers. It's roomy but still looks sporty. Great vehicle!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not impressed with the performance of the engine

by Jefe07 from San Diego on Wed May 17 2017

Not impressed with the performance of the engine. It is supposed to get 18-24 mpg, and I average 17.5 to 18mph because the engine has no power, and my foot is in the gas at all times. Should have ponied up and gotten the Sport. Not impressed with the stereo quality, sounds horrible (muffled and dull). Should have ponied up and gotten the Sport. Should have gotten the push start ignition feature, should have ponied up and gotten the Sport.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Roomy and Stylish, GREAT choice

by CourtneyB3 from Americus, GA on Wed May 23 2018

Roomy Interior, Stylish on inside a well as exterior, modern technology, great for growing family bc it offers 3rd back row seat option or fold it down for college student's luggage space. Safe & dependable. I average just under 19 miles per gallon in town bc I pay attention to not wasting gas. If you make a lot of long trips daily, you can get a little more miles per gallon. My only dislike about this SUV is that my growing 4 year old son has no leg room when he's in his car seat, which is behind the passenger seat, if I have a passenger bc they have to scoot their seat back some so they have some leg room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Brakes are grinding door panel is buckling. Found

by Sanham from Beaumont, texas on Wed Oct 18 2017

It will be great if I can get these things fixed. I want to love this car since I had to replace mine other car with this one which was paid for due to flooding.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 12

Our Take on the 2015 Ford Explorer

Editor's note: This review was written in December 2013 about the 2014 Ford Explorer. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2015, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Ford's mild updates to the 2014 Explorer bring a more confident driving feel to the big SUV, but a weight problem and an underpowered base model keep the experience ordinary.

The car-based Ford Explorer is a big departure from the truck-based Explorers of old; if you haven't been in an Explorer in the past couple of years, the current one is sure to surprise you. It's been selling relatively well since its 2011 introduction, and the company hopes to keep the... Read More