2016 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2016 Ford Explorer

$19,412 - $36,696  MSRP Range
2016 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

145 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 145 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

humananananana

by person1 from on Tue Dec 08 2015

my mother has a car like this, I HAVE A ROUGE and a Jetta both new and i'm jealous of my mom and her car. Even my dad who owns a Mazda cx 5 is a bit jealous trust me you get BANG for your BUCK with ford1

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

owner of Ford Explorers since 1998

by reg. car user retired from Woodbury, NJ on Fri Apr 14 2017

Have always bought Explorer XLS, now we have a Limited. It is beautiful. The ride is smooth, you do not hear road noises, the leather upholstery is plush, the placement of gauges and other necessary driving aids allow for driver to concentrate on the road, and leg room is beyond adequate. One of the great things is the electric third row seat turn under and the hatch closure they make life for this 68 year old owner and wife very easy. Thanks for the great ride and super car. Past Fords we have owned have gone beyond 200,000 miles, I believe this one will too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent all round performance, and comfort.

by Explore from Ramer, TN on Mon Nov 09 2015

I have owned four Ford Explorers. I purchased my new Explorer , because of the service and comfort of the ones I previously owned. I like the technology available in this vehicle, which include many safety features. The dealership offers excellent services. The sales lady was very accommodating and friendly. She also demonstrated how to operate the technology. I would rate Ford Explorer with five stars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by J9 from on Fri Mar 17 2017

Next to new condition for a used vehicle. Comfortable front seats. Sufficient leg room in front. Winter time heated seats are very nice to have. Never have had cooled seats. Didn't know they existed. It will be interesting to try them this summer. The exterior paint color and interior color are very complimentary. Back up camera will be nice in order to make sure there are no small items or people in the way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Im so happy!

by Smollie from Glacier, WA on Sun Dec 17 2017

My Ford Explorer is smarter than me! With the remote start, leather heated seats, moon roof, 7 passenger seating and all the bells and whistles, I have my dream car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great

by kenny from post falls ID on Sat Dec 19 2015

Thank you, Scott christensen, and Don morris Wendle,the dealership is great. all the why around. thanks you guys.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ford 2017 Explorer Limited

by Art from Lake County, IL on Mon Apr 24 2017

Like the car, but the radio buttons are on the right side instead of the left and there could be a little more leg room in the rear passenger seating area (2nd row).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What I would to add to my wish list.

by WayneM from Georgetown on Mon Sep 18 2017

Great vehicle fo all around travel, and everyday driving. I think this vehicle is an example of the dealer's committment to sell great vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxurious

by Amanda from Wrentham on Sat Mar 17 2018

Platinum. Only owned for a few days but loving the luxury and performance. Lots to learn! Interior is beautiful... Every comfort detail offered.... Very roomy. Really like the double moon roof. Navigation and entertainment system are excellent. Select shift is a great feature together with the 3.5 liter eco boost makes it fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful interior

by Byron Barkhurst from SARATOGA on Fri Mar 17 2017

Really like this car. I've never been a ford fan, ever. But this one converted me. We're really happy with it and especially my wife.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15

Our Take on the 2016 Ford Explorer

The field of SUVs with three rows of seats is crowded, so when automakers roll out redesigned models, they have to get it right or the competition will eat them for lunch. Ford's 2016 redesign of the Explorer is largely successful, having focused on a few areas that really needed improvement or outright replacement.

The 2016 Ford Explorer is pleasant to drive and offers an improved interior and engine option, but getting the most out of Ford's improvements will cost you.

The seven-seat Explorer's front end has been restyled, and there's a new turbocharged, 2.3-liter four-cylinder engine available; the previous turbo 2.0-liter four-cylinder has been dropped. There's also... Read More