NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2016 Ford Explorer

$18,775 - $34,687  MSRP Range
2016 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

174 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 174 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

humananananana

by person1 from on Tue Dec 08 2015

my mother has a car like this, I HAVE A ROUGE and a Jetta both new and i'm jealous of my mom and her car. Even my dad who owns a Mazda cx 5 is a bit jealous trust me you get BANG for your BUCK with ford1

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

owner of Ford Explorers since 1998

by reg. car user retired from Woodbury, NJ on Fri Apr 14 2017

Have always bought Explorer XLS, now we have a Limited. It is beautiful. The ride is smooth, you do not hear road noises, the leather upholstery is plush, the placement of gauges and other necessary driving aids allow for driver to concentrate on the road, and leg room is beyond adequate. One of the great things is the electric third row seat turn under and the hatch closure they make life for this 68 year old owner and wife very easy. Thanks for the great ride and super car. Past Fords we have owned have gone beyond 200,000 miles, I believe this one will too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by J9 from on Fri Mar 17 2017

Next to new condition for a used vehicle. Comfortable front seats. Sufficient leg room in front. Winter time heated seats are very nice to have. Never have had cooled seats. Didn't know they existed. It will be interesting to try them this summer. The exterior paint color and interior color are very complimentary. Back up camera will be nice in order to make sure there are no small items or people in the way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful interior

by Byron Barkhurst from SARATOGA on Fri Mar 17 2017

Really like this car. I've never been a ford fan, ever. But this one converted me. We're really happy with it and especially my wife.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ford 2017 Explorer Limited

by Art from Lake County, IL on Mon Apr 24 2017

Like the car, but the radio buttons are on the right side instead of the left and there could be a little more leg room in the rear passenger seating area (2nd row).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great

by kenny from post falls ID on Sat Dec 19 2015

Thank you, Scott christensen, and Don morris Wendle,the dealership is great. all the why around. thanks you guys.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxurious

by Amanda from Wrentham on Sat Mar 17 2018

Platinum. Only owned for a few days but loving the luxury and performance. Lots to learn! Interior is beautiful... Every comfort detail offered.... Very roomy. Really like the double moon roof. Navigation and entertainment system are excellent. Select shift is a great feature together with the 3.5 liter eco boost makes it fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What I would to add to my wish list.

by WayneM from Georgetown on Mon Sep 18 2017

Great vehicle fo all around travel, and everyday driving. I think this vehicle is an example of the dealer's committment to sell great vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Explorer

by fmcrews from Norwell, MA on Fri May 26 2017

Overall the 2016 Ford Explorer is a great buy, if you're looking to buy used I'd advise to move onto the 2017 for the following reasons: Revised throttle body design and programming, the 2016's have a recall for this, revised PTU (google Explorer PTU issues), and Sync 3 with Apple CarPlay/Android Auto. I have a fully loaded XLT model, with the exception of the tow package. This allows near-Limited like features without the price tag. The car has minor fit and finish issues that you'd expect when you're getting an American car with such a heavily discounted price tag over comparable foreign models. Most of it can be solved by some "tough love" to make panels and seats stop rattling. Drivetrain wise, the car is fantastic. Once the throttle body recall was performed, it was like driving a different vehicle. The AWD is fantastic in the snow, the power from the 3.5L engine is adequate (go with the EcoBoost if you want some oomph), the styling of the vehicle is eye catching, the standard LED headlights are incredible and aimed in such a way that you're not blinding everyone. From what I've seen every issue I've had with this vehicle is solved by the 2017 Model Year, typical first model year growing pains.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the features

by LuvmyFord from Toronto, ON on Wed Jun 14 2017

Very comfortable ride. The Ecoboost engine offers great pick up. Enjoying all of the Platinum features!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18

Our Take on the 2016 Ford Explorer

The field of SUVs with three rows of seats is crowded, so when automakers roll out redesigned models, they have to get it right or the competition will eat them for lunch. Ford's 2016 redesign of the Explorer is largely successful, having focused on a few areas that really needed improvement or outright replacement.

The 2016 Ford Explorer is pleasant to drive and offers an improved interior and engine option, but getting the most out of Ford's improvements will cost you.

The seven-seat Explorer's front end has been restyled, and there's a new turbocharged, 2.3-liter four-cylinder engine available; the previous turbo 2.0-liter four-cylinder has been dropped. There's also... Read More