2016 Explorer

Consumer Reviews
2016 Ford Explorer

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

125 Reviews
2016 Ford Explorer
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 125 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome family hauler

by Keldon from Ohio on February 9, 2016

We leased a loaded XLT AWD last month after an exhaustive search which included other 3 row front runners like the Highlander, Acadia, Pilot and Durango. The Explorer just offered much more for a similar price. Plus it rode the best. I expected the Highlander to trounce it in ride quality but was dead wrong...Toyota tightened the suspension too much on it and while it seemed more nimble than the Explorer, it was definitely harsher over bumps and road imperfections. The others simply felt cheap compared to the Explorer and Highlander. Clunky feeling door handles, doors rattled when closed, poor fitting interior pieces, and overall just felt way less refined. The 2016 Explorer blew me away bc my wife and i drove either a '14 or '15 a year ago and were underwhelmed. Ford addressed all of the issues the previous car had...suspension, steering, seats, door seals, wind noise, clunky-closing doors, and HVAC controls are just a few things that are MUCH improved. I've read other reviews that criticized the seat comfort but all i can say is take an extended test drive in one with the leather seats (preferably overnight) and you'll discover they are truly some of the most comfy seats ever. Other awesome features/options the Explorer has over the Highlander include Ford's incredible remote start (this thing works through lead walls i swear at over 300 ft away!), front and rear sonar, hands-free pwr liftgate, front and rear cameras with washers, cool as heck LED lighting front and rear, dual headrest DVD players, individual tire pressure monitoring, configurable LCD gauges, and more. And speaking of LED lights, Ford's new LED headlights with the LED fog light option are THE BEST and BRIGHTEST headlights i've ever had on a car, even the HIDs i've had on BMWs can't compare. In summary, this is the best-looking, most comfortable, best riding, most feature-laden, technologically advanced SUV i've ever owned. Do yourself a favor and test drive one before buying any of its competitors, you'll be as impressed as i am.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

50 out of 50 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

humananananana

by person1 from on December 8, 2015

my mother has a car like this, I HAVE A ROUGE and a Jetta both new and i'm jealous of my mom and her car. Even my dad who owns a Mazda cx 5 is a bit jealous trust me you get BANG for your BUCK with ford1

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Rear Liftgate Piston Failure

by Pretty Happy, Except... from Raynham, MA on May 19, 2016

Bought my 2016 Explorer in Oct/15 and absolutely love the vehicle- BUT, the passenger side piston on the rear liftgate failed last week. I keep "popping" it back on the pin which is attached to the liftgate itself, but the clip on the piston is broken and it will not stay. Where I use this vehicle for business, the rear liftgate is utilized several times per day, leaving me with quite an inconvenience. The liftgate is very heavy to hold up. The pistons are on national backorder, which tells me that this is not an isolated problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

details details details

by Ayl from Lufkin, TX on April 25, 2017

I love this car except for the fact that the tires peeled.....i am not exaggerating ......peeled at around 10,000 miles. Ford didn't warranty them. Hancock didn't warranty them. The dealership wouldn't warranty them. My logo "Platinum" was upside down. The seat cover came undone immediately after I bought it. There is a rust spot on the front of the vehicle. I have been nonplussed by Fords lack of attention to detail. I will not be buying another Ford vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

owner of Ford Explorers since 1998

by reg. car user retired from Woodbury, NJ on April 14, 2017

Have always bought Explorer XLS, now we have a Limited. It is beautiful. The ride is smooth, you do not hear road noises, the leather upholstery is plush, the placement of gauges and other necessary driving aids allow for driver to concentrate on the road, and leg room is beyond adequate. One of the great things is the electric third row seat turn under and the hatch closure they make life for this 68 year old owner and wife very easy. Thanks for the great ride and super car. Past Fords we have owned have gone beyond 200,000 miles, I believe this one will too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Baffle noise

by Jimmy from Atlanta on November 13, 2016

This is a very comfortable vehicle at a good price. One annoyance is a baffle type noise between about 40 and 60 mph. Lowering the driver's window a bit does not resolve the issue. Does anyone have a resolution?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent all round performance, and comfort.

by Explore from Ramer, TN on November 9, 2015

I have owned four Ford Explorers. I purchased my new Explorer , because of the service and comfort of the ones I previously owned. I like the technology available in this vehicle, which include many safety features. The dealership offers excellent services. The sales lady was very accommodating and friendly. She also demonstrated how to operate the technology. I would rate Ford Explorer with five stars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by J9 from on March 17, 2017

Next to new condition for a used vehicle. Comfortable front seats. Sufficient leg room in front. Winter time heated seats are very nice to have. Never have had cooled seats. Didn't know they existed. It will be interesting to try them this summer. The exterior paint color and interior color are very complimentary. Back up camera will be nice in order to make sure there are no small items or people in the way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great

by kenny from post falls ID on December 19, 2015

Thank you, Scott christensen, and Don morris Wendle,the dealership is great. all the why around. thanks you guys.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxurious

by Amanda from Wrentham on March 17, 2018

Platinum. Only owned for a few days but loving the luxury and performance. Lots to learn! Interior is beautiful... Every comfort detail offered.... Very roomy. Really like the double moon roof. Navigation and entertainment system are excellent. Select shift is a great feature together with the 3.5 liter eco boost makes it fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13
Our Expert Review: 2016 Ford Explorer