2005 Taurus

Consumer Reviews

2005 Ford Taurus

$682 - $6,934  MSRP Range
2005 Ford Taurus

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

50 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Ford Taurus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 50 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Ford Taurus from Modesto, CA on Wed May 11 2011

I bought this car used. This car is great - didn't break down, reliable, gas saver, and it was able to seat up to 6 people with a HUGE trunk. There isn't any other car I know of with that large of a trunk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable deal

by todd from NC on Wed May 07 2008

this is a excellent car if your buying a used car and want something safe reliable and has decent gas mileage. i drove 12 hours to get to nc from ny and i felt great the car is so comfortable and gets excellent gas mileage on highway. computer said 30 but i calculated it by (miles since last fill up divided by gas to take to fill it) and got 34 mpg at 75 mph on interstate on up and down hills. had power to pass and has a great sound system. i love this car i couldnt have gotten a better deal on it for someone just going off to college.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Care for the Money

by Neal79 from Independence, MO on Mon Aug 28 2006

If you are looking for a good performing, comfortable, car for this price tag you wont find anything better. Car is simple, yet looks great. Although the car is behind the time to some, it has been perfected over it's 20 year lifetime and utilized many of the original design and mechanical elimints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Taurus

by tyrsmkr from chicago on Sun Dec 18 2011

We have put 140k on the car and the only thing thats has went wrong was the water pump failed at 80k.We ave about 25mpg's.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Bang for your Buck

by Highway Expert Supreme from Carrollton, Texas on Tue Jan 17 2012

This vehicle has been very reliable and not expensive to maintain. I've used it for road trips (to California, Colorado, Illinois, etc) and local driving (Texas) and it's held up well. Still plenty of pep after 158,000 miles!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 Ford Taurus

by should have bought a 32 mpg fusion from georgia on Thu May 18 2006

The only complant I have on this vehicle is the gas milage is not as good as the Fusion. When we bought this car used it was 6 months old and the fusion had just come out. I did not realize that the fusion got 32 mile to gallon and my taurus is averaging 21.8 according to the ave reading it gives me. Other than that it is exactly what it needs to be, a family sedan.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by super trucker from Frisco, TX on Sat Nov 22 2008

I've had it since it was new. There has never been a problem with the motor or transmission. I have 110k miles on mine. It is the 6spd Aisin Warner transmission. I believe you will be better off if you avoid the CVT but they don't seem to be that bad either. The CVT costs $400 to get the oil changed and the 6spd is maybe $70 and has to be done about half as frequently. There are minor glitches like the trunk latch needed greasing, lights burning out, neutral safety switch is bad(haven't got enough energy to replace it), otherwise its great. Fuel mileage is insane for such a roomy big car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressed with this car - mpg & value!

by DJ from VA from Northern, VA on Wed Jun 03 2009

'05 SEL. Bought used with 23k - for HALF original sticker price! 2 yrs later, 65k and no problems - none - brakes are even original! Just replaced orig tires at 61k. Taillights tend to go out on Taurus'; did on my '01 also (owned that 2 yrs to - 49k to 84k). Pwr leather seats VERY comfortable (well padded), long trips are a dream - smooth, quiet, comfy. Owned (very nice) Chryslers, GMs, VW, Hondas, and though I never wanted a Ford, I found this Taurus highly underestimated by general public. Though a basic family sedan, (sleeper) does everything a car should do and does it very well. Reliability of THIS American car is excellent. Read up on them! Easy 30+mpg/hwy. I AVERAGE 27.6mpg with mixed driving. NEVER below 22mpg (winter/city driving) Note well: folks who complain about mpg on Taurus' aren't figuring it out manually - the dashboard computer needs to be reset at every fill up! Great car, excellent value, ok looking too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Taurus

by KCC from Dallas, TX on Mon Sep 20 2010

I have this very same Taurus, and it runs very well. Also very comfortable on the inside. 64,000 miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Already Sold

by I own it from Kentucky on Tue Feb 24 2009

I actually own "this" car. Bought it last week. Mileage is very poor considering other feedbacks. Only got 17 MPG on highway and getting 16 MPG on work commute daily. Love the remodeled design by Ford over their earlier models. Overall very pleased and got a great deal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5