2005 Taurus

Consumer Reviews
2005 Ford Taurus

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

47 Reviews
2005 Ford Taurus
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly Happy with this car

by Berti Lou from Council Bluffs, IA on January 30, 2012

Got this car late 2010. Was not looking for a Taurus. Thought they were styled for old people. Found this on the internet and loved the looks. It has a spoiler that gives it a sportier look.I bought it with 83,000 miles and it now has 107,00. The gas mileage is always around 21 or 22 with city and highway driving mix. Took it on vacation last summer and got 26 to 27 on the highway. I have nothing bad to say about this vehicle. Glad I got past the Taurus stigma.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Ford Taurus from Modesto, CA on May 11, 2011

I bought this car used. This car is great - didn't break down, reliable, gas saver, and it was able to seat up to 6 people with a HUGE trunk. There isn't any other car I know of with that large of a trunk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable deal

by todd from NC on May 7, 2008

this is a excellent car if your buying a used car and want something safe reliable and has decent gas mileage. i drove 12 hours to get to nc from ny and i felt great the car is so comfortable and gets excellent gas mileage on highway. computer said 30 but i calculated it by (miles since last fill up divided by gas to take to fill it) and got 34 mpg at 75 mph on interstate on up and down hills. had power to pass and has a great sound system. i love this car i couldnt have gotten a better deal on it for someone just going off to college.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Care for the Money

by Neal79 from Independence, MO on August 28, 2006

If you are looking for a good performing, comfortable, car for this price tag you wont find anything better. Car is simple, yet looks great. Although the car is behind the time to some, it has been perfected over it's 20 year lifetime and utilized many of the original design and mechanical elimints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Taurus

by tyrsmkr from chicago on December 18, 2011

We have put 140k on the car and the only thing thats has went wrong was the water pump failed at 80k.We ave about 25mpg's.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Bang for your Buck

by Highway Expert Supreme from Carrollton, Texas on January 17, 2012

This vehicle has been very reliable and not expensive to maintain. I've used it for road trips (to California, Colorado, Illinois, etc) and local driving (Texas) and it's held up well. Still plenty of pep after 158,000 miles!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressed with this car - mpg & value!

by DJ from VA from Northern, VA on June 3, 2009

'05 SEL. Bought used with 23k - for HALF original sticker price! 2 yrs later, 65k and no problems - none - brakes are even original! Just replaced orig tires at 61k. Taillights tend to go out on Taurus'; did on my '01 also (owned that 2 yrs to - 49k to 84k). Pwr leather seats VERY comfortable (well padded), long trips are a dream - smooth, quiet, comfy. Owned (very nice) Chryslers, GMs, VW, Hondas, and though I never wanted a Ford, I found this Taurus highly underestimated by general public. Though a basic family sedan, (sleeper) does everything a car should do and does it very well. Reliability of THIS American car is excellent. Read up on them! Easy 30+mpg/hwy. I AVERAGE 27.6mpg with mixed driving. NEVER below 22mpg (winter/city driving) Note well: folks who complain about mpg on Taurus' aren't figuring it out manually - the dashboard computer needs to be reset at every fill up! Great car, excellent value, ok looking too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 Ford Taurus

by should have bought a 32 mpg fusion from georgia on May 18, 2006

The only complant I have on this vehicle is the gas milage is not as good as the Fusion. When we bought this car used it was 6 months old and the fusion had just come out. I did not realize that the fusion got 32 mile to gallon and my taurus is averaging 21.8 according to the ave reading it gives me. Other than that it is exactly what it needs to be, a family sedan.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by super trucker from Frisco, TX on November 22, 2008

I've had it since it was new. There has never been a problem with the motor or transmission. I have 110k miles on mine. It is the 6spd Aisin Warner transmission. I believe you will be better off if you avoid the CVT but they don't seem to be that bad either. The CVT costs $400 to get the oil changed and the 6spd is maybe $70 and has to be done about half as frequently. There are minor glitches like the trunk latch needed greasing, lights burning out, neutral safety switch is bad(haven't got enough energy to replace it), otherwise its great. Fuel mileage is insane for such a roomy big car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Taurus

by KCC from Dallas, TX on September 20, 2010

I have this very same Taurus, and it runs very well. Also very comfortable on the inside. 64,000 miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5