2005 Civic

Consumer Reviews
2005 Honda Civic

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

74 Reviews
2005 Honda Civic
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Life Saving

by Lucky from New Jersey on March 13, 2015

This is a wonderful little car! Sometimes its a little sluggish to accelerate, and it makes merging onto highways difficult, but the fuel economy is great, so its a trade off. I spend $30 once every two weeks on gas, its great! Its roomy, the trunk is HUGE! I'm also pretty tall, and I fit comfortably in it. Sometimes I have problems where the ceiling of the car actually blocks my view out the windshield a bit, but not here. Its reliable, and I've driven it in a few snow storms, and it handles great. I can't say enough good things about this car, but what motivated me to write this review is that it saved my life. The other day I was in a terrible car accident. The car was struck by a tractor trailer on an interstate highway, sent spinning through several lanes of rush hour traffic and into the guardrail on the median. I really could have been killed, but I walked away without a scratch or a bruise on me. It may be totaled, but the structural integrity of the car is completely intact, and that's the important part. If it is totaled, I will definitely be looking for another Civic like this, and I would recommend this car to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my Bluebird

by SteveG from McAllen on October 16, 2010

Known as "The Bluebird," my blue '05 Honda Civic had almost 130,000 miles on it when I traded it in. The only reason I traded it in was because it leaked water when it rained through the door, which was because I hit a pillar in a parking garage with my side mirror, not due to a faulty car. The only big repair ($100+) was a faulty A/C clutch at 75K miles, which was $250--if you don't count the timing belt, which was a part of maintenance at 110K miles. I put 15-20K miles on my car every year. We drove up and down the mountains every summer and would regularly get 35-40 MPG, with a car filled with luggage. During the rest of the year, in ONLY stop and-go-driving, I got 25-30 MPG. This was a reliable little car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Down sized, but great so far

by depl75 from Farmington, CT on December 27, 2010

2005 EX Coupe 5 spd., 63k miles. Down sized from a minivan in October, and loving every minute of it. For a small car, it is very comfortable, and rides and handles nicely while getting about 33-34 mpg around town. Just had its first big test in the snow storm this morning, and passed with flying colors. Really could use a 6th gear, but overall I am very pleased and not missing the van at all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great, reliable, little car

by Pop from Baltimore on August 6, 2009

Bought a new value package (VP) with the manual transmission at the end of 2005 and put 65k miles on it in 4 years with no problems. Great little car, loved the transmission and the agility of the car. Got between 35 and 40 mpg in mix of city and highway driving. Minor annoyances: The body colored bumpers quickly acquired small scars from every tap of another bumper while parralel parking. The engine was adequately spirited with the manual, but got a little buzzy at higher revs and on the highway the road/tire noise was a little louder than ideal. VP had no cruise control. My wife had difficulty judging the back corners of the car when parallel parking because of the high trunk lid. Sold vehicle when moved to another city with better public transportation system, and kept 2nd vehicle that had 4 doors. Easy to resell car, good resale value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice small car for real

by my honda from moreno valley ca on October 17, 2010

i've owened this car for 5 years and it runs like the same day i took it out of the dealer, gas mileage its so great that sometimes i forget when i pumped gas, i've been giving the required services and i love it, its so realiable and looks so great with the black 17"s on, if i have to buy another small car it definitly be a honda civic or an accord

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my 3rd one!

by C2 from music city usa on January 30, 2011

what can i say? this is the third honda civic i've owned. i've tried others but i keep coming back. my 2005 is a 5 speed manuel transmission, as were the other two. YOU CANNOT BEAT THEM FOR GAS MILEAGE!!! i seriously doubt that even the hybrids can beat them. did i mention that it handles like a dream? and the pick up? this is a fast little car.... if you've never tried one, i suggest you do. you'll keep coming back, like i have. enjoy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREATEST DEAL ON A CIVIC EVER!

by I LOVE MY CIVIC from Eden Prairie, MN on November 4, 2013

So i found a 2005 Honda Civic with 124,775 miles on it for under $3k. I figured the car needed a new transmission or some serious work. The only issue was some water got on the carpet and inside the steering wheel, but the car runs like a champ! I love it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by Andy from Sheboygan, WI on October 20, 2009

I've had 2 civics and both were stellar cars. There were no minor or major mechanical problems and the cars always got great gas mileage. I recommend this car for students, in-town drivers and commuters alike.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT ON GAS!

by Careful Consumer from Dallas, Tx on February 13, 2012

This car gets about 40mpg (37.5-43.8) and runs great. Other than replacing the battery and windshield wipers, I haven't had any problems with it. It would be nice to have more space for cup holders.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

2005 Civic's A/C is poor in extreme heat

by Former Honda fan from Arizona on May 16, 2006

Apparently this Civic generation's A/C was designed to cycle on/off to conserve engine power. This system works OK on my car as long as temps are below 100. But as soon as our Arizona desert temps hit 100 or more, the A/C is almost worthless. The car does have excellent fit and finish and gas mileage is good.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Our Expert Review: 2005 Honda Civic