2001 CR-V

Consumer Reviews

2001 Honda CR-V

$1,281 - $7,065  MSRP Range
2001 Honda CR-V

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

33 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Honda CR-V?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Professor T from Kentucky on Mon Jun 21 2010

I have owned two 2001 Honda CR-V's. After a deer totaled me out in the first one we looked at other vehicles, but bumped into one that had just been traded in and figured why waste time learning the features of a new vehicle when we were perfectly happy with the first one. Our first CR-V was a 2WD. It got about 2 more mpg than the 4WD. The one we have now gets 24.5 mpg Hwy. It's also great on tires. We're pushing 50k and could easily make 60k on the set that's on it now. I'd buy another one, but the newest model seems smaller than those built before 2006.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just got it broken in

by Joyce on Mon Feb 05 2018

Bought my 2001 CRV new; don't laugh, it only has 85,000 miles on it. I replaced the timing belt only because I thought it was a good idea; didn't have to. The driver's side window doesn't work, the automatic locks went out, but never had a major repair; sometimes it's not the miles on the car, but the age of the parts which are now 17 years old. The car picks up speed very well, starts every time, and the AC still gives out nice, cool air especially living in Florida. I make it a point to change the oil every 3 months. If I ever decide to buy a newer model CRV, I have 6 neighbors wanting my 2001. I love it. It has never failed me

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great mid-size SUV

by Jonny from Cherry Hill, NJ on Sat Jan 21 2017

I bought my 2001 Honda CR-V used about 5 years ago and I love it. It currently has 175,000 miles on it and it still runs smoothly. I love how it is high up from the ground but is fairly mobile and agile. I

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loved the CRV

by cindy true blue crv from wellston,ohio on Mon Oct 20 2008

I love my 2001 CRV, it is just the right size, good on gas, 4 wheel drive. If I was to buy another new car, I would buy another CRV. The only trouble we have had is both driver's door window motors are not working, so they'll have to be fixed, but it is 7 yrs. ols. I drive it to work 35miles each way almost daily, it's been to the ocean several times. We love our CRV!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best camping vehicle

by honda rules from Fair-Haven, MI on Sun Feb 15 2009

This car is prety dang awsome. I took it camping and it hauled everything I put in to it. Little high on the RPM's. NEVER got stuck in anything! Replaced 4th cylinder, dont know what happened. Road noise is a problem, honda told me that it was the side mirrors. I would recomend this car to anyone!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bang for the Buck!

by Long Time CR-V Owner from Austin, TX on Thu Nov 06 2014

My family has owned a 2001 Honda CR-V since June 2001 and it has been the most reliable car my family has owned. This car has had no mechanical issues and has stayed pristine throughout the 13+ years we've owned it. Great gas mileage and dependability, I give this car a 5 star rating. The 2001 Honda CR-V can go for 220+ miles with no issues. This car can hold its value extremely well; I highly recommend this car for families and especially new drivers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Runs Great. Very Dependable.

by pc mac from St. Paul, MN on Sat Jul 21 2018

I liked everything about this car -- great visibility out of the windows, nice and cold A/C, great traction in the winter, handled well. The only bad part for me was that the driver's seat was not that comfortable, however my son drove it even more than I did and he thought it was comfortable. Personal preference I guess.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car - very reliable

by Sara from Nashville, TN on Sun Sep 17 2006

We bought this car for our daughter and it has been problem-free. It is very comfortable and and the driver visibility is excellent due to the extra height of the vehicle. I highly recommend this car to anyone who values reliability and comfort. Plus, the car''s seats fold down to provide lots of storage for persons who need extra storage capacity

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very good car

by fisherman from mo. on Tue Feb 26 2008

as an awd vehicle it still gets a respectible mpg rating.its performance in all types of weather has been outstanding.I would recomend it to anyone.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

FUN TO DRIVE VEHICLE

by NSPECTOR 6602 from CROSSVILLE, TENN on Sun May 11 2014

i HAVE OWNED THIS CRV FOR 5 MONTHS NOW AND I LOVE TO DRIVE IT. I SAVE A BUNDLE ON GAS. I HAVE ALL KINDS OF ROOM, AND IT IS A BLAST TO DRIVE. I HAVE PUT 15000 MILES ON IT AND COULD NOT BE HAPPIER

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2001 Honda CR-V

The 2001 Honda CR-V was sitting in the driveway.

On the TV, the weather forecasters were predicting the latest Millennium Storm.

Next door, my giant-but-ancient snowblower had been gassed up and tested. It was ready.

As for me, the excitement was building. It was a weekend, there would be little traffic, and I'd get a chance to see how the Honda stood up in the tough going.

The CR-V definitely fits into the small SUV category - I refuse to use the cute-utes term because it's not particularly pretty. But it has some other superb qualities going for it - it's small enough to be city-friendly, the Real Time four-wheel-drive system is effective, and (for an SUV) it's economical both to... Read More