2010 Genesis

Consumer Reviews

2010 Hyundai Genesis

$5,526 - $15,302  MSRP Range
2010 Hyundai Genesis

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

37 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2010 Hyundai Genesis?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very Satisfied

by K-Town from Raleigh, NC on Fri Apr 09 2010

Bought the Genesis 4.6 with Tech package 2 weeks ago. Before that I spend at least 6 weeks researching and driving almost every luxury car on the market. This car blows most of the others away on value alone. It drives great, has a wonderful interior and the Hyundai version of I-Drive is very easy to use. I have had 2 people get out of their cars in a parking lots to come and ask me what kind of car I was driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first genesis

by jgs from covington la on Fri May 07 2010

i have owned one for two months this is my first owned 6 cadalliacs every thing about this car is far and above what cadalliac hac to offer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Import is a Winner

by ATL Sparty from Duluth, GA on Thu Jul 21 2011

I bought a like-new certified pre-owned 2010 Genesis 3.8 - my first import ever. Simply put, I just don't think there is any more car out there for the money. If your ego requires that you have the status of a Lexus, Benz, or BMW nameplate, stop reading now and go spend the $20K-$30K that you'll need to get that badge. The 3.8 has plenty of horsepower,and I recently got 30 mpg on an 800 mile trip (much better than the already decent hwy mpg rating that it has). LIke many reviewers have said, there is nothing new or daring about the exterior design, but that's another way of saying it's pretty indistinguishable from the much-higher priced competitors in its class. One major downside (and I think it's something that Hyundai will need to address if they want to penetrate the premium market) is that to buy a Genesis (and now, Equus) you have to go to a Hyundai dealer. I have not experienced the kind of premium service that one should expect to get from a dealer that sells premium cars. As things are now, if you shop for and buy a Genesis, you'll get a "Cadillac" car, but you'll get "Chevrolet" attitude and service.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

so far so good

by Phil from new port richy , florida on Wed Mar 17 2010

2010-3.8 v6 premium package. i had a caddilac deville , i'm a big man 6'3" 280 lbs. room is inportant to me. the genesis has the most room in its class. looked at (infiniti m35)(bmw 5 series)(lexus es350)(ford taurus)and (toyotia avalon).it was no contest,the only problem was getting my wife to except a hyundai , she drives a bmw 330ci convertible.so i changed all the bagges,no (H) on my car .i don't care but it makes a big differance to her, go figure . the genesis has great handling(not a sports car),290 horse v6 has plenty of power, interier is plush,14 speakers(great sound)exterier has a european look , ok with me.getting 22-23mpg around town.like i said, so far so good.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First in class/comfort

by Lieutenant Tom from Corcoran Ca on Mon Jan 24 2011

I never thought of a Hyundai,having had Cads,Lincolns,Lexus,and a Jag. But Genisis is a class itself, Every aspect is quality, the V8 is a powerhouse with surprizingly good mileage. The warrenty is unbeatable, and unlike others there has been no recall. Only thing I wish it had was a back seat lighter for G-kids DVD.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Coupe

by JCCrew from Rocky Mount, North CArolina on Sun Aug 22 2010

What a bargin for the car you get. It is fast and quick. Reliable and modern day design have lifted Hyundai to a new level. I test drove over 11 cars in this day of modern coupes the infinity, the nissan mazima, Audi A5, nissan 370z, camareo, sho taraus, caillac to name a few but for the money the Genesis coupe beat them hands down. It has everything power all the amenities, blue tooth, voice naviagation and paddle shifters. Modern interior with great wrap around seats. It was priced about on average 8,000 cheaper than the above cars. If you wnat excitement and a great ride the Genesis Coupe is the bomb for teh money. Jc

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value ever

by conover from Red Bank, NJ on Mon Dec 20 2010

Great car at very reasonable price. It compares to the Lexus 460 in just about aspect except the price is $26,000 less

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

24,000 miles and perfect

by GeorgiaDawg from Georgia on Thu Jun 02 2011

Great car. quiet and smooth. I love the v8 with the zf transmission, the shifts are so smooth. 375 hp, wow what fun. Brakes are the best we ever had on a car. Soft leather interior is holding up very well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Value

by nick j from Ft. Laud. Fl on Sat Jan 30 2010

Best car for the money. Powerful V8, (0-60 in 5.3 seconds) and surprisingly economical! The interior is roomy, the leather is as smooth as silk and the amenities are abundant. The fit and finish equal the best available -and at 1,000s less! All of this and it comes with the best warranty out there. If you don't consider this vehicle because of its badge your stumbling over your ego. OUCH! Nick J. Like they say, ("Think about it.") No, I do not work for or am I associated with Hyundai other than being a customer and cat enthusiast.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Serious consideration

by JZ from New Jersy on Fri Feb 17 2012

While this sedan will not deliver the tighter more rigid ride of the Audi or BMW, if you are considering the E-Class or Lexus or Acura you should be looking at the Genesis. There is absolutely no better bang for the buck. I have the 6-Cyl and it delivers close to 300HP in smooth fashion. great gas mileage and while I am not crying poverty, it is nice to be able to fill up with regular and not high test. The interiror is elegant and and the displays easy to read. Loads of room (unlike my old 5 series which had no true comfort for rear seat passenger and the trunk was tiny)and a giant trunk. In addition to providing a superb ride, Hyundai have managed to also include practical touches not found in other "name tags". Woudl like to be able to fold the mirrors automatically, but this is not going to impact my buying decision. I think they do need to offer an AWD model if they really are serious about the Northeast sector. That said, I have 40,000 mi on my Genesis and have done nothing past oil changes and tire rotatons. Try that with a German car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2010 Hyundai Genesis

Editor's note: This review was written in July 2008 about the 2009 Hyundai Genesis. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2010, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Hyundai's all-new Genesis is unlike any car the Korean automaker has brought to the U.S. before. It's a rear-wheel-drive full-size sedan that's available with Hyundai's first V-8 engine in a passenger car. After driving the car extensively in and around Santa Barbara, Calif., it's clear to me that Hyundai got most of the important elements right: The driving experience and the cabin's ambience and amenities are all there.

What's less certain is whether buyers will... Read More