NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Sonata

$22,650 - $32,250  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

110 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 110 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Super Sweet Ride

by Jf.ld7075 from St. Louis on Mon Mar 11 2019

Roomy, I am 6'3(ish)" and I like to drive with the seat all the way back. It's hard for me to do that in this car because I feel like I am too far back. This is the only vehicle I have ever driven where I feel this way. There is also plenty of room for me to sit in the back seats. Again, something that rarely happens. I opted for the 2.4l in my Sonata Limited Ultimate. I am not displeased. It is a little poochy from a stop but accelerates nicely from 55mph+. I haven't explored a number of the amenities. It was simple to pair the phone but beyond that and knowing how to set the radio presets that's about as far as I have gotten. The seats are comfortable, the leather wrapped steering wheel feels nice. The LED interior lights are super bright. The headlights are also very bright. It handles beautifully, although the lane keep assist is something to get used to. Overall my only complaint is tire noise. It is louder than I think it should be and louder than my other vehicles. The only thing I can compare it to is my 2015 Ram 1500 CrewCab 4wd with All-terrain tires. The noise level is about the same. The Ram may actually be a bit quieter. I mentioned this to Hyundai in their vehicle survey and I will address it with the service dept at my dealership when I go on for service. I am thinking it is just the tires that Hyundai puts on these vehicles but I will find out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car

by Caephire from Kennesaw, GA on Tue Nov 13 2018

My very 1st car was a Hyundai, back when they were 1st coming out. They have come a long way, since then. It's reliable and comfortable. The power is not what I'm used to, as I came from driving volkswagon. But being able to use regular gas and the cabin room, makes up for it. I would buy another one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very efficient vehicles

by Super mom from Lima Ohio on Fri Nov 30 2018

Very sporty and obtained for a great value. It gets great gas mileage and is comfortable with lots of features as in more expensive vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty new look

by #GDTBATH from High Point, NC on Tue Jan 01 2019

The car looks great from the outside, but is also just as impressive on the inside. There is plenty of room, I'm not a small man, for all. Has backup camera and blind spot warning.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

By far the best car I have ever owned.

by Shillinglaw from Tacoma, WA on Wed Jan 02 2019

This car meet all the needs we wanted. All the safety features, the leg room and the back seat was made like a small SUV size so the people in back have plenty of room. Seats 5 comfortable. Not to mention the size of the trunk. It is huge and the back seats cN lay down if need more space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my sonata.

by GeoSon from Hazleton,PA on Sat Feb 23 2019

It was the first NEW car I purchased. I got more than I expected in this car. I got the sport and it is great. I love my new car. I wish I would have bought it earlier. I only have it 1 week, but I have NO complaints or regrets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my car! Good on gas

by Larry from Dallas, Tx on Thu Feb 28 2019

I enjoy driving the Sonata, I can only imagine what the Genisus feels like. But, is very roomy and comfortable. It is longer than it looks

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sonata

by Judi from Mendon oh on Sun Jun 16 2019

This car met all of our needs. I wanted room for two car seats in the back seat and comfortable seats. I got both and am happy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drives fantastic and LOOKS good

by DeeHawk from Greensboro, NC on Fri Dec 28 2018

This car meets my needs for comfort, speed and looks! not to mention Gas mileage as I travel a lot on the highways, it's also roomy enough for my grandkids to ride in without fighting!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than estimated gas milage

by RSMartin from Catskills NY on Tue Jun 04 2019

Great commuter car. Comfortable for me at 6'4" My average MPG in the turning hills is 35.6 with little highway driving. No issues climbing longer hills, plenty of get up and go, especially in sport mode.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11