2013 Veloster

Consumer Reviews
2013 Hyundai Veloster

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

96 Reviews
2013 Hyundai Veloster
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2013 Veloster Turbo Manual

by Bruce from Baltimore, MD on July 5, 2013

Fun, Quick, yet economical is what this is in one phrase. owned the car for about 5 months. here is my take: Performance: 1.6L turbo is very good for passing people on the highway. its no supra but it gets the job done. more oomph than expected to be honest. since the car is only 2800lbs., even with 201HP, it feels quick and light, plus 195TQ will surprise you. Comfort: the turbo version has slightly stiffened suspension than the regular, and that translates into rougher ride. it also has low-profile 18 inch tires, so becareful of pot holes. (looks amazing though). leather seats support you very tight, and to my surprise, it has power lumbar support which moves the side bolsters in and out as well. effeciency: just did a long distance trip with 32MPG with some city driving, which sounds about right. 1.6 litre gets you very good milage. flexiblity: what i mean by this is, with given aftermarket mods, it has so much potential to be a great little car. being a turbo car, it will quickly make power gains with little money. add it's economic milage, and you get a great little balanced machine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beauty and Economical

by Black Beauty from Mohnton PA on August 22, 2013

I absolutely love my Veloster. I didn't get the turbo, I just wanted a new car that was inexpensive and economical and classy! The Veloster is definitely all that and more. I have an SUV with all the bells and whistles but it gets 11mpg, my Veloster gets about 30mpg and that is combination city/highway. The warranty can't be topped! I purchased the black on dark gray and I have received so many compliments. My daughter actually purchased the same color and style in manual transmission. She loves hers too! Definitely recommend this vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Poor Mans Sports Car Ever!

by buschchris1 from San Antonio, TX on January 22, 2014

I had a Tiburon V6 manual before and after I came back from over seas, decided I liked Hyundai enough for another. I got the 4 cylinder Manual with leather seats and sunroof. For the money its great. It looks way better than other cars in its class, has a nice interior and feels like a little shuttlecraft from Star Trek. The sunroof makes a big difference in how spacious it feels so get it with one if your over 6 foot like me. The shifting is tight at first but works in like any normal manual. For a 4 cyl engine the manual is the way to go, more power control and its light so it can move if you know what your doing. It is a rougher ride but that's how sports cars are, they have tight shocks due to low clearance so stop complaining other people, if you want comfort, get a medium sized sedan with regular tires. I love it so far, im at 31k miles right now. There is only one complaint and that's the Hyundai Bluelink (Bluestink more like it), if you don't pay for the service, the GPS wont work and it pops a registration message every time you turn it on. Your not going to win any races with a stock engine. The turbo is a lot more power and if you got the money, go for it. I am getting 33m/gal with a mix of highway and city so it does well. I drove to Austin from San Antonio and got 36m/gl. I calculated myself as I didn't trust the dash display and it was about .5m/gal off so not too bad. The warranty makes it worth it to get this over anything else not to mention the safety rating seems better then the rest in it class. I would say Hyundai so far has kept me loyal thus far. If they would only remove the blue link and allow more customizing in the head unit it would be perfect. Cheers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for your buck

by Stevizzle123 from Orlando FL on February 21, 2016

I purchased this car used with about 44,000 miles on it. I loved the sporty looks and the 2 tone interior mine came with black and blue. The car was fully loaded with leather seats, the 1.6 turbo, navigation, sunroof, back up camera and sensors, and push button start and entry. I was really impressed with everything this car came with for the price. Its a pretty good value compared to the Focus or Fiesta ST or even the GTI. Of course this car isn't as fast and only has 3 doors. Now for the negative. I noticed the steel wheeling material was peeling off when i bought the car but it progressively got worse and it would get on my clothing. Luckily it was a certified vehicle and was still under the factory warranty which is one of the best ones out there. I contacted the dealership to see if i could get the steering wheel replaced. Fortunately Hyundai agreed to replace it under the warranty. The touchscreen hardly worked it would only work if it was cool/cold like in the morning or at night. I live in Florida so the majority of the time it was unusable. The system would also press buttons on its own and this happened with the navigation as well so it was unusable. There are physical buttons for everything so it wasn't a deal breaker but it was disappointing that i was unable to use the touchscreen or navigation. The interior is also pretty cheap besides the seats which are decent and ventilated. The rest is mostly plastic and the armrests are not very comfortable and there was alot of rattling. Visibility is somewhat of an issue I would suggest removing the rear headrests and the back camera helps alot too. The power of the car is somewhat underwhelming as well (only used regular gas) it was fine on the highway but there was some noticeable turbo lag from a dead stop. The backseat is kinda tight and only seats 2 due to fixed center console. Its fine for kids or short adults. The panoramic sun roof is nice but the cover is attached to it so you cant just open the cover to let some sunlight in and the cover is very thin. I loved the cargo room it was more than enough for me and the seats fold down if you need to transport large items. I just recently traded it in for something bigger and with a nicer interior and a working touchscreen. I would still recommend this car due to the value it offers and the warranty. However you get what you pay for.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Gave up performance for fuel economy

by Bigsurmark from Noblesville, IN on October 6, 2013

I traded in my 2010 Infiniti G37X for a preowned 2013 Hyundai Veloster with 7100 miles. I recently took a new job where I will be driving over 100 miles a day, so I looked for a sporty looking front wheel drive (or AWD) car, that gets great gas mileage, and takes 87 octane gas, for around $20,000. The Hyundai Veloster fit all my criterion. Although I realize it is controversial, I really love the look of the Veloster. The lines are sleek, but is a hatchback, and has a weird 3rd door. I drove 600 miles back from the dealership I bought it from, and the ride was enjoyable and relatively comfortable. I do miss the 330 HP that my Infiniti had. My Veloster only has around 134 HP, and although it is a smaller and lighter car, it was tough getting used to the lack of pep, but I was happy to get almost 40 MPH on my trip home from the dealership and have averaged in the low 30's for the past month. Over the month that I have owned the car, I have had no problems. My Veloster has every option offered, including Navigation system, backup camera, Bluetooth and panoramic sunroof. I feel a great value for the price. So far, after only 1000 miles, I am very happy with my choice. If it continues to be a reliable vehicle, I will be very happy to have given up all that HP, for a sporty car that gets great gas mileage!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressed

by Car Fanatic from Ft. Lauderdale, FL on August 8, 2012

Best car I've ever owned. Great looking car front to back. Bought the style package wiith panoramic sunroof. Low profile tires and the rear end styling make the car. Have had numerous second looks at the car from people. Not the quickest in accelaration, but the mileage makes up for that. 5-11 and the car fits me like a glove. Kick a** stereo and upgrades up the wazoo. Would recommend to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2013 Veloster Turbo

by Ray from Hagerstown, Maryland on December 19, 2013

We got our 2013 Veloster Turbo over a year ago and have had no problems at all, plus excellent dealer service. This car is an all around great vehicle...the third door access very useful, the hatchback great and handy, power great, sound system excellent, comfortable/well organized interior and dash, and sharp looking.......fuel mileage with that much power on tap great (lives up to claim and expectations). Satisfaction top notch.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice car

by Thejimster5 from Hurricane wv on November 17, 2013

I have now owned this car for almost a Yea. Overall I love the car. I have the re:mix version. It is very reliable and the sound system is incredible. The gas mileage is also great. The only downside is the ride. From where the car sits so low the suspensionis very tight resulting in a rough ride. I would highly recommend this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Roomy - Fuel Efficient - Downright Fun!

by KCmeridian from Meridian MS on October 19, 2013

Can't say enough about this car. I work full time in advertising and love the comfort and fuel efficiency. I am getting a minimum of 30 MPG in the city and upwards of 35 on the Interstate. I also own a mobile DJ business and am shocked and amazed at the room. I can lay the seats down and load an entire show into this car!! UNREAL!!! I got the ReMix package and the sound is amazing!! This was an incredible purchase!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Got it used - so far so good

by IBMaxine from Lakewood, WA on October 22, 2017

I love it's unique exterior. Interior is roomy, seats are super comfy, well laid out dash and over all interior. It's very zippy for a little 4-banger and I was used to a zippy 6-cyl. This is a 2013 with 80k on it already. I have had it only 3 weeks so opinions are based on minimal use. I'll come back in a year and update this.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Our Expert Review: 2013 Hyundai Veloster