2005 Liberty

Consumer Reviews

2005 Jeep Liberty

$2,253 - $8,505  MSRP Range
2005 Jeep Liberty

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

83 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Jeep Liberty?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 83 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I love my Jeep Liberty

by Jeep Fan from Cedar Springs, MI on Sun Dec 04 2011

I really love my Liberty but wish it was getting better Gas milage. I also have a 1998 Grand Cherokee Laredo that I have owned for the passed 10 years with over 200K miles on it and it gets better gas milage then the Liberty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Longest I've owned a car

by hooareyou on Wed Aug 02 2017

Jeep engines from this era are very durable and never have problems. In the 10 years I've owned this car, I've only had minor issues that I could fix myself.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Quality

by Cincy Deb from Cincinnati on Wed Dec 15 2010

I bought a used 2005 Jeep Liberty and found the overall quality to be outstanding. It is easy to place in 4WD when needed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun for a great price

by Fun Jeep from Galion, ohio on Mon Dec 03 2007

Pro's: fun to drive, ok on gas, looks good (wrangler package), goes great in snow and mud, great price used with 22k Con's: a little small (seats seem small for a man), feels light when passing semis on highway

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for the money.

by Arsenal69 from Northridge on Sat Feb 24 2018

This car got me from point A to point B consistently. I genuinely liked all 5 years with my jeep liberty a lot and it rarely ever failed me. Having a trail rated 4 wheel drive car was also a life saver in the snowy conditions of Colorado. If you are considering buying this car, I would personally always advocate for you to pull the trigger! I love my 2005 Jeep Liberty with awesomeness and minor flaws.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for the money!

by JeepForLife on Sun Aug 27 2017

t is solidly built, quiet, and smooth. The ride is like a Lexus and it handles almost like a sedan. It's just the right size, has very comfortable seats and is loaded with technology!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very good truck, no major issues with it.

by baseballfan from pittsburgh on Sat Aug 12 2017

This Jeep was bought 3 years ago when my Chevy bit the dust, I have had normal repairs done on it like brakes, tires, and a water pump. This has got me through the winter snow with out a problem. I am very happy with it so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Think I’ve Had

by Jruslluvr from Chesapeake, OH on Sun Nov 11 2018

I’ve had my Liberty for 14 years. We are selling it to friends because we purchased a new Jeep. Has almost 200,000 miles on it and it’s still going.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value for your dollar.

by Buzz from Western Pa. on Tue Aug 15 2006

The visibility is outstanding. A great SUV in town and on the road. I had over 100,000 miles on a Wrangler before this 05 Liberty. I still have an 03 Liberty. Besides needing a storage platform over the two vents, and a little more power, I don't see a wiser way for miles per dollar. The resale factor is a bonus feature.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

They did repairs on vehicle I owned

by Mike B from Beloit, WI on Wed Jan 29 2020

Excellent, meets my needs. I live on side road that is often not plowed till the next day so it is a packed down mess with ruts. And my driveway is long, garage is 400 feet from road. With the factory tires the Jeep struggled a bit in wet slushy snow. I installed General Grabbers at the suggestion of a forest ranger who had them on his Jeep Cherokee. Now, It can push and claw through deep snow and mud with relative ease. With 230,000 miles it only had one problem. An undetected oil leak from the EGR ruined a hose that had to be replaced. That is the only problem in all that time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9