2005 Liberty

Consumer Reviews

2005 Jeep Liberty

$1,229 - $10,109  MSRP Range
2005 Jeep Liberty

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

74 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Jeep Liberty?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Rugged small suv

by Kal from PNW on Tue Nov 15 2016

Drove this rig for 10 years and 150,000 miles through every terrain one can imagine. Handles well in snow, mud, rain, sand, rocks, etc. yet handles comfortably at 85+mph on the freeway. Interior materials hold up very well and very low maintenance / repairs. Only downside is small interior and poor fuel economy (15-16 mpg)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my Jeep Liberty

by Jeep Fan from Cedar Springs, MI on Sun Dec 04 2011

I really love my Liberty but wish it was getting better Gas milage. I also have a 1998 Grand Cherokee Laredo that I have owned for the passed 10 years with over 200K miles on it and it gets better gas milage then the Liberty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun for a great price

by Fun Jeep from Galion, ohio on Mon Dec 03 2007

Pro's: fun to drive, ok on gas, looks good (wrangler package), goes great in snow and mud, great price used with 22k Con's: a little small (seats seem small for a man), feels light when passing semis on highway

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Mileage, Tons of Power

by Diesel Convert from Pinckney, MI on Mon May 26 2008

Diesel Jeep was a great used vehicle buy. Yes there have been a few recalls but the vehicle has been very reliable. Handles all weather and road conditions great. Washed out roads, snow, ice no problem. Tows camper and ATVs without a problem. And 27mpg on the highway in daily communting.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Longest I've owned a car

by hooareyou on Wed Aug 02 2017

Jeep engines from this era are very durable and never have problems. In the 10 years I've owned this car, I've only had minor issues that I could fix myself.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Jeep

by j33p l0v3r from Colorado Springs on Wed Jul 23 2014

I recently bought a 2005 Jeep Liberty Renegade with 81,000 miles on it. I chose the Renegade because I do not like the front end on the Liberty Sport. The hood bulges up and over the headlights as where the Renegade has a more clean look. Anyhow, I used to own a 2006 Chrysler Sebring so the factory radio that is in the Liberty was easy to get used to. I do agree, the Liberty COULD stand to be a bit more comfortable, and the interior is a bit boring. As of right now, I love my Jeep Liberty!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for the money!

by JeepForLife on Sun Aug 27 2017

t is solidly built, quiet, and smooth. The ride is like a Lexus and it handles almost like a sedan. It's just the right size, has very comfortable seats and is loaded with technology!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Quality

by Cincy Deb from Cincinnati on Wed Dec 15 2010

I bought a used 2005 Jeep Liberty and found the overall quality to be outstanding. It is easy to place in 4WD when needed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for the money.

by Arsenal69 from Northridge on Sat Feb 24 2018

This car got me from point A to point B consistently. I genuinely liked all 5 years with my jeep liberty a lot and it rarely ever failed me. Having a trail rated 4 wheel drive car was also a life saver in the snowy conditions of Colorado. If you are considering buying this car, I would personally always advocate for you to pull the trigger! I love my 2005 Jeep Liberty with awesomeness and minor flaws.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value for your dollar.

by Buzz from Western Pa. on Tue Aug 15 2006

The visibility is outstanding. A great SUV in town and on the road. I had over 100,000 miles on a Wrangler before this 05 Liberty. I still have an 03 Liberty. Besides needing a storage platform over the two vents, and a little more power, I don't see a wiser way for miles per dollar. The resale factor is a bonus feature.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8