2008 IS 250

Consumer Reviews

2008 Lexus IS 250

$5,651 - $14,571  MSRP Range
2008 Lexus IS 250

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

43 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Lexus IS 250?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This car is simply the best!

by New Lexus Fan from Tinley Park, IL on Mon Mar 30 2009

My wife and I were looking at the Volvo S60 and Lexus ES350 but after sitting in an IS250 at the Chicago Auto Show, we knew this was the car for us. The exterior has the look of an expensive sports sedan and the interior is simply a work of art. The leather is super soft, the wood is warm looking and the chrome and brushed stainless trim add a rich look. We drove an ES350 and IS250 back to back and there is no comparison. With supportive seats and an intimate cockpit, you feel like you wear this car. All controls are right where you can reach them including the paddle shifters for the 6 speed automatic transmission. The IS handles like it's on rails with tight steering and very firm brakes. At first we didn't want the Navigation Package but you can't get the Memory System for power seats/mirrors/tilt-telescopic steering wheel without it so we stepped up. It was a smart move as the Nav system is very easy to use and the package also includes some slick things like adaptive HID headlights that move when you turn and illuminated door sills. The car is a pleasure to drive, smooth, quiet, great power and handling. Gas mileage has also been very good, typically in the low 20's around town but it does require premium fuel. The only draw back is a back seat that is a little tight for adults. Kids won't complain but forget about putting three people back there. This is our first Lexus but it will not be our last. Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability sold me...

by Police Pursuit/Precision Driving Instructor from North Carolina on Mon Jul 07 2008

Test drove (took home) the BMW 330i and considered the Camry and Accord. The Camry and Accord were just a few dollars less...making the Lexus the better deal. The BMW had the passion and performance but not the perfection. The Lexus has the perfection with just a little less passion than the BMW. Bottom line...you buy the BMW with your heart...the Lexus with your head.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mostly good and fun

by Fun&Value from Los Angeles on Sat Mar 10 2012

After 5 years of a Prius I yearned for a 4 door sedan sports car like my previous BMWs that were 3 series. Did not like the Audi A4, wanted to try a new brand, and loved the way this Lexus drove. Fun and plenty quick, handles very well. Nav system is excellent, sound system good, lots of places to store stuff, reliability has been very good as I would expect Drawbacks--backseat is poor, particularly behind the driver (I am 6 feet), so really ok just for 3 people unless the other passengers are kids under 12; gas mileage is mediocre--20mpg avg on premium gas

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My dream car

by vangoghinarles from Salisbury, NC on Mon Sep 10 2012

This is the most amazing car I've ever bought. It looks good, drives good and I'm so happy. The only negative is the Premium gas! Luckily, my commute is not bad.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Much Better Than I Anticipated

by ptguard from Tennessee on Sun Feb 17 2008

I've owned my 2008 IS 250 for about six weeks now and can honestly say I LOVE everything about it! The leather seats are unlike any other company's leather seats--true comfort and luxury. I love the feel of the all-leather steering wheel--unmatched to any cars in its class. And the factory audio system is incredible--it sounds so great that I can't imagine what the Mark Levinson package sounds like. Now that the weather is warming up I'm getting 30 mpg compared to 27 in winter. Needless to say, I am very satisfied with my Lex so far and it will be hard to go back to driving anything else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Lexus Is250

by CJ from Austin Tx on Sat Nov 02 2013

Well, I didn't even see the car in person just bought it online and had it ship to me, I am still in just happy with this car never knew I would own a Lexus , but I am sold on it great ride, pretty color and I just love wipping on this car and just looking at it! So if you want one just go and get one! Remember you only live once! Drive great handle great very quite ride, the feature are good the seats are just cool to sit in like a cockpit, ride it unreal!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Small but fun

by car guide from philadelphia on Wed Jan 09 2013

Great gas milage, AWD is good to have. tiny back seat and back seats do not fold. very tight fit, i am 6' and i can barley fit into the car. very sporty look but not fast. good for the price, always get compliments on the exterior inside is small, meant for someone without a family

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still happy!! ;)

by StaciB from MiamiFL on Sat May 24 2014

I bought my '08 Lexus IS 250 new.i have 6 months left to pay and its mine free and clear! This car has been so reliable!! Purchased when living in Miami, moved to Huntsville,AL, drove it there and moved and drove back to Miami. Unfortunately, hit a deer while in AL, not a scratch on me but it took out the grill and badly dented the hood, repair was around $4000 (insurance covered). After repairs, good as new! In 4-1/2 years have 60,000 miles on it and am looking forward to the next 60,000! Other than regular oil changes and tires, never had a problem (knock wood-lol) It was alittle pricey but it has really been worth it. The piece of mind of having a reliable, safe car, that happens to still look great is priceless! ;)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My best car

by HR from Frisco , Texas on Mon Jun 26 2017

mine is 2008 IS250 AWD , i drive fast and feel safe, only 21 MPG, comfortable , the proof of that Lexus is made by only Toyotas best workers.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car to own

by Richard from San Antonio, TX on Wed Jun 27 2018

Performs exceptionally well . Good interior. Well designed exterior. Safety features are great. Easy to drive. Drives like a sports car. Everything about it is beautiful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5