NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 CX-9

Consumer Reviews

2017 Mazda CX-9

$23,878 - $35,782  MSRP Range
2017 Mazda CX-9

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

46 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Mazda CX-9?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Test Drove Many, The CX 9 Topped them All

by Poodle Lover from Western, MA on Tue Apr 25 2017

I drove and measured 15 SUV/cars and chose the CX 9 for the length of the cargo area with the seats folded down and the handling and acceleration. Love the fit and finish of the Grand Touring and the safety, electronics and bells and whistles for the price. The Bose radio is wonderful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Far Love the CX 9

by Poodle Lover from on Mon Apr 03 2017

I test drove all the Consumer Reports recommended SUV and the Sienna that got an average of over 20 mpg and chose the CX 9 for it's style, room and performance. I am happy with the purchase so far. It is comfortable, has a lot of features and nice fit and finish. Enjoyed driving it including a 7 hour day of driving over the 1st weekend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever owned/ unbelievable features

by Snootch from Reno nev on Tue Apr 11 2017

Recommend for any senior! Fun driving & safety features beyond expectations! The ride is as quite as any car ever experienced!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most solid car I've owned

by Tommy) from willowbrook,il on Tue Oct 31 2017

I just purchased our 3rd CX9 trading in one of our 2 2008 and would have kept the 2008 if my wife didn't make me get a new one as it drove the same as the day I bought it. The 2017 signature might take a few weeks to figure out all the bells and whistles but the 4 cylinder with the turbo has got the same pop as the 6 in the 2008. Love the CX9 and hopefully will like the 2026 as much as the 2017.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxurious looking car in and out

by Del family on Sun Oct 08 2017

Great looking car inside and out! After driving the car you’ll be surprised by the price. Bought the 2018 cx-9 grand touring a few weeks ago and we are loving our choice

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

smooth riding/driving car

by CCA from Valparaiso on Sat Nov 04 2017

Unexpected power for a 4 cylinder; smooth and comfortable ride with lots of interior room as a CX9. Good buy for the money and good MPG ! Besides, the dealership stands behind the car with outstanding service support.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fuel efficient and comfortable

by CD from Columbus OH on Wed Aug 23 2017

The Mazda CX-9 is a comfortable car in the first two rows. The last row is either for kids or short adults. The reason for the 4 stars is because there is little to no room for an adults feet under the second row if you sit in the third row. Other than that, the SUV handles well. Better than our small Honda. It is fuel efficient. The sound system is great and offers many options. We bought the Touring with the upgrade package. No regrets. Having larger Rim wheels would make the ride less smooth. The Chrome trim is nice on the side on the Grand Touring, but an extra 3k for that wasn't justifiable. Best in its class. This is coming from a person that is loyal to Honda. Primarily my wife's vehicle for the kids, but I love driving it when I get a chance. We will see how reliable it is in a couple of months since it is new.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good value for the money

by DJ on Sat Oct 28 2017

has top notch interior. Feels faster than it actually is. every passenger i've had has given positive impression. have had a few minor issues already w/n the first 3 weeks with sound system, status gauge, and navi.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

too soon to tell - have only driven it 150 miles

by cat lover from Paso Robles, CA on Fri Oct 13 2017

Love the back "hatch" opener/closer and the sunroof! Rides nicely and has ample cargo space that is high enough so that I don't have to bend over to load/unload. I like the tactile instruments and driver assisted "tools". Only drawback, inside, is the driver side visor - since I have to sit up high it is not easy to use when I have to turn it to the left - have to duck my head. The front license plate is required where I live and it is producing some issues about where and how to install it (have not put it on yet).

out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty Family Truckster

by South Dakota Family from South Dakota on Sun Mar 04 2018

My wife and I traded our Mazda CX-5 in for the Mazda CX-9. The CX-9 as maintained the driving dynamics we loved about the CX-5 but added more cargo and passenger space. Hauling my daughter and all of he friends to their various school and extra curricular activities have made the 7 passenger seating very nice. The driving dynamics are much sportier than most 7 passenger vehicles. The interior is comfortable, quite, and luxurious. The power from a turbo 4 cylinder engine is impressive. Fuel mileage when not pushed too hard is impressive for a larger CUV, however when pushed mileage does drop significantly. Many reviews complain about the infotainment controls, however once you get used to them they prove to be very intuitive and functional. This vehicle has very few nits to pick, the higher trims price gets high, although most cars do now. Ours is a mid level Touring trim, which is nicely equipped. The AWD system works well navigating the snow/ice covered winter roads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2017 Mazda CX-9

The verdict:

The 2016 Mazda CX-9 is one of the best-driving SUVs I’ve ever experienced. Families are likely to also appreciate the improved interior and added features, like rear USB ports, but a cumbersome multimedia system threatens to end all the fun.

Versus the competition:

The CX-9 offers solid value and a better driving experience than the competition, but it lacks optional captain’s chairs.

Editor's note: This review was written in July 2016 about the 2016 Mazda CX-9, but little has changed with this year's model. To see what's new with the 2017 CX-9, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

Mazda’s largest vehicle, the redesigned seven-seat CX-9 midsize SUV, gets huge changes for 2016.

This is a redesign where nobody will have trouble telling the difference between generations. The updated CX-9 has sharper styling, better cabin materials and much-improved gas mileage. The CX-9 is now available in four trim levels: Sport, Touring, Grand Touring and the all-new Signature trim that now tops the lineup.

Compare the... Read More