Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2003 C-Class

Consumer Reviews

2003 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

$1,587 - $8,531  MSRP Range
2003 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

44 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Mercedes-Benz C-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

C32 AMG

by Marra from Florida on Sat Jul 14 2012

I just love absolutely everything about this car except the interior, and I think Mercedes knows it was ugly as it got a huge upgrade a few years later (2005). Other than that, this car runs like crazy, if you floor it from a stop, you'll spin out, but if you're a bit more careful, it is said to be able to do the 0-60mph sprint in less than 5 seconds, which is crazy for 4 door sedan. But be careful as it just pulls and pulls even over 100mph it just keeps going. Reliability is also great. I've owned it for 1.5 years and put around $300 in repairs outside the scheduled services, which is crazy for a performance vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Truly AMAZING Vehicle

by Lil Red Sports Car Mama from Sacramento, Ca on Tue Aug 19 2008

I just have to say never did I believe I would write a review on any car. This particular vehicle though has blown my mind! Never have I driven a car as stable or handles as well as this! According to some Mercedes owners I've come to find out they view this as a entry level vehicle, to them I say think again it's anything but entry level! Welcome to luxury, comfort, class, and SPORTY with a kick! Absolutely amazing compared to BMW 3 Series, or VW Jetta GLi's. It will run circles around these cars an I'm willing to bet outlast them all as well. Highly recommend this vehicle to anyone but teenagers...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

C320 4matic - Best Vehicle Owned in 40 Years!

by onequickcobra from Keystone Colorado on Thu Jan 01 2009

Out of over 60 cars I've owned over the last 40 years, this is the BEST! With over 73k on it my total maintenance cost is just over $750, plus 2 sets of tires! It doest everything well!! I live in a ski resort and it goes through anything in any weather. My wife has a new C300 4matic and loves it even more! Lots of power, luxury, supurb handling and up to 28 mpg!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, fast, very impressive

by j.jamesr7 from Dallas, TEXAS on Sat Mar 24 2012

I own a 2003 C32 AMG and it is absolutely the funnest and most impressive handling 4dr sedan I've ever owned. Mercedes sure put out an excellent product for the lower budget individual on this this one. LOVE IT!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In terms of driving performance, its very swift.

by jhung from Ridgefield Park, NJ on Mon Apr 28 2014

This is my first time to drive and own a Mercedez Benz...I've heard of great reviews and many expenses involve in regards to repair and so forth, but then again. I've driven BMW's, Audi's and most other cars,,,but, Mercedez-Benz, really top it all. It has better gas mileage w/c I need from here and back to work, then school, good size to move around the city of New York, and best of all, very stylish that goes along w/ my likings.. I am very impress.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Far exceeded expectations, great value/buy

by SunshineAV from Charlotte, NC - formerly Massachusetts on Mon Jun 13 2011

I bought my c320 4matic wagon with20k miles on it 7 yrs ago and to date have not had any repairs to it yet..only routine maintenance (tires and brakes). Prior to, had only had saabs and had had good luck, but took a chance on this sporty little wagon. handles well, fast, zippy and exterior styling is very pleasing. Going for 100,000 mile tune up soon and though I am often tempted to get a bigger suv type vehicle as my family grows, there is nothing wrong with this car and I hate to trade it in. I have been won over and am certainly a Mercedes-Benz fan now.....quality and good design. I also feel very safe driving insnow storms, ice with this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Should have bought the 2004+

by cfgamble from Upstate, NY on Mon Mar 12 2018

I bought this car used from a non-Mercedes dealer. The car is impressive only because it can drive very smoothly and give good performance even with broken springs, shocks, warn out & wrong spark plugs and a very loose tire-rod. The only thing I can fault Mercedes for is the body rusting issue. Mercedes got cheap on this year and previous W203 cars but they did improve with the update model in 2004+. In my car I ca see future electric and rust problems and because of this I will not even upgrade the radio in my W203...it's just not worth it. The interior is amazing and almost everything still work in the car....surprisingly the sunroof DOES NOT LEAK. Oh! One more thing, this model has an HVAC lever issue and if it happens to you (like it happened to me) it's a 10 hour labor job. The part that breaks is a control arm so deep in the car major item s must be removed to access this $50 part. Your steering wheel, the entire dashboard and par of the safety wall. bar has to be removed. It's not worth me fixing mine because the car has some age...I guess Mercedes has two faults in this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Affordable AMG Supercar

by Luxury car lover from Bethlehem, PA on Sat Sep 28 2013

One of the most affordable AMG Supercars, with unreal sleeper performance 349 hp with autoshift transmission. Interior is basic especially for a 2003 MBZ, cheap looking silver carbon fiber in cockpit is very fake...But you'll forget about it as you scream past corvettes, M3's, and 911's, not kidding.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLLENT

by ARAB-MNY from Buffalo, NY on Mon Mar 08 2010

This car awesome and the speed is unbeleivable. If you want a fast, four door, luxury/sport car this would be your favorite

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car, worth the price

by One eyed Jack from on Wed Dec 22 2010

This is a great little car at a very affordable price. I have had no major problems. It might not be as luxurious as the higher end Mercedes but definitely just as reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2003 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

With its C-Class sports coupe models, Mercedes-Benz seeks to attract a younger buyer.

That is, younger buyers who want to pay less for their Mercedes and have it come with a bit more style.

The first hint of something different comes when you look at the window sticker. The four-cylinder C230 sports coupe starts at $25,615, including destination, making it the cheapest Mercedes sold in the United States. A second version of this coupe, the V-6 C320, was added to the lineup a few months ago. It retails for $27,965, including destination.

The second thing that's apparent is that Mercedes is now willing to let its designers take a bit of a risk.

How else to explain this coupe with its controversial... Read More