2001 Aurora

Consumer Reviews

2001 Oldsmobile Aurora

$424 - $7,508  MSRP Range
2001 Oldsmobile Aurora

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

35 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Oldsmobile Aurora?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

despite all the trouble, we loved this car

by sample from Penna on Tue Nov 15 2011

we bought our '01 Aurora in '03, with 35K on it. We eventually traded it in 100K miles later. We had so many problems with this car: all interior lights burning out continually, flashing headlights at night so badly we stopped driving it at night, replacing alternator many times, popping noises in front suspension, window motors going. I've read this about many '00 and '01 Aurora's, obviously an electrical gremlin. However, we loved this car and continue to look for another, maybe an '02 or '03. It handled superbly, was so quiet and comfortable, had every feature you can imagine. I had more than a few people stop me and ask me what kind of car it was, and couldn't believe it was an '01 American car. By the time we got rid of it it needed $3k worth of engine work. My husband can keep anything going, but what this needed was beyond him. If only Olds had put a bit more effort into this already fabulous car, they might still be around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Foreign Auto Buyers Can Only Drool At The Aurora

by OldsForever from Pennsylvania on Sun Jan 05 2014

First saw an 01-03 Aurora in my town and said, that's my next car. Never could've imagined the cult following it has, well build quality and competitive nature of the line, or that it was, ahem, an Oldsmobile - and a flagship of the line at that. I have owned this car (4.0 version) for over 4 years and bought it with 40k miles. Made two 6-hour drives to buy it. It now has 60k. It has every option including the Bose sound system, high-end rims, and gold package. I've driven it heavily in suburban areas and on the highway. With regular maintenance and the exception of a split intake boot that was replaced, this car is the best automobile I've ever owned and perhaps the best car ever made. The Northstar 250-hp V8 was made exclusively for Oldsmobile by Cadillac and that paired with the 4-speed 4T80-E automatic transmission makes for an incredible ride. It's luxurious, remarkably spacious considering it's only a full-size sedan, and from my experience, makes those who like foreign high-end autos drool. The ride quality is unparalleled and could easily cause you to never want to stop driving. The transmission shifts are, as old marketing materials indicate, velvet smooth. The amenities - Bose sound system (optional), CD changer, heated seats, DIC, rain-sensing wipers with auto headlight on with wipers, front and rear fog lights, dual zone climate control, and more - are something reminiscent of a mid to late 2000s automobile and beyond. The ride quality with the auto leveling suspension is amazing. Passengers are ultra comfortable. Power is unparalleled. Driving in snow is so easy. This car was so advanced for its time it's astounding GM didn't keep going with the line or at least absorb it fully into another GM line. I do see some of its styling cues and early technology advances in other successive GM cars but nothing to the magnitude of the Aurora. Research indicates the Aurora 01-03 platform was originally designed as a four-door Eighty-Eight successor called the Antares but had to be fitted into an Aurora design quickly after Buick dropped its Riviera development plans and financial trouble found Oldsmobile. It's no wonder I saw this car as the perfect successor to my 87 Delta 88 Royale Brougham. And the nice thing is unlike today's high-end autos, the Aurora came standard with almost everything. Only certain wheels, Bose sound system, and gold package were optional. Prior generation was notably similar if not better in some respects. Was shocked to learn the first generation Aurora's unibody construction broke GM's testing machine, that it had to be tested with a larger frame crusher used for truck frames, and that it exceeded federal standards for passenger cars by two times. It makes me sad that Oldsmobile has ceased operations when they had such a remarkable flagship car for so many years. Audi, Lexus, BMW, Mercedes Benz, and others can only wish they had the quality of this American-made car. I wish GM would wake up and start producing this line again. I would buy a new Aurora in a heartbeat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect touring and around town automobile

by car lover from Michigan on Tue Sep 06 2011

I bought my '01-4.0 spring 2010. Black w/tan leather. It had 43000 miles, now 53000. Ran down south on I-75 last spring and had NO problems running with BMWs and CTSs. Handles and rides perfectly VERY fast car but suspension and handling is more than up to it.. I use Moble 1 and Shell V power in mine, just runs smoother, better acceleration and mpg on 93 octane This car has ALL the bells and whistles of most of todays high end sport sedans with a better ride and seat comfort. No navi but you can always get a handheld or dash mounted after market. Only issue I've had is the seering wheel mounted control lights burn out quickly. Brilliant car ! ! Highly recomened if you can find a well cared for one. You'll be glad you did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Get Up & Go .. Anywhere

by Highfliers2 from Taylorville, IL on Tue Feb 01 2011

This is my 2nd Aurora 4.0, and my favorite. The Aurora 4.0 aluminum V8 (a smaler version of the Cadillac Northstar) is a "must have" in this car. Highway mileage - if you don't stand on it - is around 28.5 mpg even with the air conditioning on. The ride is equal to any other luxury sports sedan made, and out handles my friend's Mercedes 300 sport series all the time. My only complaint is some of the maintenance items are tricky to replace - like headlight and tail light bulbs, and the various sensors have a habit of burning out on a rather annoying frequency. Overall I'm sad that the car is no longer produced - altho' I will probably buy another one when I get ready to sell this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Automobile

by Original Owner from Collingswood, NJ on Sun May 24 2009

I bought my Aurora in 2001 it is one of the best cars that I've ever owned. I only have 49700 miles on it and everything runs terrific. It is in excellent condition looks and runs like new. I had an extened warranty on it and anything that needed to be replaced was done in 2007. I'm now in the market for a new car, so if anyone is interested in this please get in touch with me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Shame

by vehipro#1 from New york, NY on Fri Oct 20 2006

This is the most beautiful car i've ever owned. Believe me when I say that this one is so far above par that you'd be forgiven for mistaken it for a lexus or a cadillac. I've owned a 2003 cadillac deville, a 2003 lexus es300, a 2003 mercedes benz e320...and a acura TL...THIS vehicle (2001 oldsmobile aurora 4.0) is the best car i've ever driven, technology wise it has everything that the cadillac had. power wise it has everything the mercedes had. and some...I am extremely ashamed that GM has discontinued this model... They could have just kept this lone model in the line up, and would have done better than most foreign manufacter's. Olds's biggest mistake was not promoting this car more- I've never seen one advertisment for it...Trust me, seeing is believing. This car is perfect in every way...I've never had one problem with it (EVER)..I still own it and will always keep it. Quality-Comfort-Performance is the best of any vehicle i've ever owned....CAdillac can take a few cues from it...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a great car.

by Aurora enthusiast from Rapid City South Dakota on Mon Aug 09 2010

This car has been great...i keep up on all the maintiance on the vehicle i run the engine on amsoil or mobile 1(whatevers in the garage) but other then regular oil changes i havent needed to do much to this vehicle because it has been that reliable. One thing that did go bad on the vehicle is the left rear wheel bearing....but that can be expected with 154,000.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Money Pit

by REW from Augusta ga on Mon May 04 2009

I bought this car in Sept of 07, it had 55K miles on it at the time and the carfax report came back clean. The car has been a money pit since. 1000 for an AC repair and now a transmission repair that is looking like about 1800 to 2200 depending if I get the Transmission overhauled or just repaired. Millage now is at 73K. There is no reason for a transmission to need anything other than fluid repalcemet until at least 200K. Other problems multiple lights out, drivers side heated seat does not work, dash lights out, vulum knob on stero broken, lights on steering wheel buttons out. The car looks great and drives great as well but mechanically it is a money pit. The parts are expensive and the labor to get the repair made addes up. The transmission repair listed above will take three days of labor 65 an hour shope rate. Spend the extra money up frount and get a more reliable car! REW

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Luxury Vehicle Few Know About

by Value Buyer from Dallas on Fri Dec 29 2006

What few people know is that Oldsmobile approached Cadillac to design a luxury vehicle for the Olds division. This vehicle was actually to be the next generation of Cadillacs, but Oldsmobile got it and Cadillac produced the CTS and its sister vehicles, instead. (I used to work for GMAC and talked to GM personnel) The Aurora is a superior constructed vehicle with its Cadillac suspension and its rich leather interior and wood grained dash. Personal memory seats, Electrochromatic Rear View Mirror, Bose stereo system, and a highly superior paint exterior are just a few hints this was built to be a luxury sedan. As you can see from the ratings, those who have owned the Aurora have not been disappointed. And, you will notice the owners have held on to these vehicles for a long time. There are no vehicles that can replace the luxury for the same amount of money. Compare the Aurora interior to BMW, Saab, Mercedes, Audi and Cadillac CTS; it beats them all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bye-Bye Olds

by Rico from Tonawanda, NY on Fri Oct 29 2010

The 2001 Aurora 4.0 was for me a very capable vehicle. Looked a little too much like a Ford Taurus but the car got a lot of unsolicited compliments. The 4.0 Northstar drivetrain was bulletproof - very reliable. The car's interior was well thought out and comfortable. The car did everything well but it didn't quite reach the "WOW" factor for me. After 98k miles I needed a change, so I let it go. New owner got a well cared for car that should provide more years motoring reliablility.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2001 Oldsmobile Aurora

America's oldest marque hasn't always had the easiest time when it comes to survival. To the critics who say that GM has too many divisions, Oldsmobile is one that's high on their list.

Looking at their sales history over the last few years isn't encouraging. In 1995, a year after Oldsmobile's new Aurora was on sale, the division sold 371,725 cars. Fast forward to 2000. With a line-up of cars that's as good as they've been in years, 1999 sales have shrunk to only 281,989. Let's put that in perspective.

The whole Oldsmobile division didn't sell as many cars as Toyota did with a single model. Toyota sold 295,108 domestically-built Camrys in 1999. (This doesn't count the 134,467 Camrys Toyota... Read More