Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Boxster

Consumer Reviews

2008 Porsche Boxster

$9,867 - $40,143  MSRP Range
2008 Porsche Boxster

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Porsche Boxster?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best handling sports car I've ever driven

by Sandman from Woodstock, VA on Tue Aug 31 2010

This vehicle is the best of both worlds. It cruises with the top down and nice creature features for the long weekend getaways. But when you are ready to rumble, switch on the sport mode and enjoy the superb acceleration and improved handling. This car easily takes 25mph corners @55 without even struggling. This inspires great confidence and is a blast to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

porsche boxter s 08

by pete c from new jersey on Sat Apr 11 2009

this car rocks solid ride handles the road like you were on a railroad track.threr are no dead spots in power even at 100 mpo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Boxster owner from MA on Fri Apr 15 2011

My 2008 base Boxster 2.7 l is a great car. Handles like a go kart with lots of power. Like taking a vacation every time I take it out of the garage. Plenty of power and corners like nothing else.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I've owned

by Cambridge from Cambridge, MA on Wed Sep 07 2011

I jsut purschsed my 2008 Boxster S from a meticulous owner in Maryland. I drove it home from MD to MA and it was the most enjoyable longdistance drive I've ever had.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Boxster

by Mr. Boxster from Washington State on Sat Feb 18 2012

I have had three Boxsters and the 2008 was the best of the three (1999 and 2002). I highly recommend the 2008 Boxster. The only thing negative would be the road noise but you except that in a convertible. For the money it is the best value around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best entry into the sports car category

by thewolfman from Michigan on Mon Jun 11 2012

There's very little that's not to like about a Boxster. It looks great. Drives great. It's practical. You won't believe what you can fit in the front and back trunklets. You can put the top down. It's quiet on the highway with the roof up. And it has that signature Porsche soundtrack right behind your seats. The standard suspension is very firm, which is great! But if you live in a state with poor roads it might dampen (see what i did there) the fun a little bit. Look for a model with PASM in that case, especially if it's going to be your daily driver. -- Otherwise stick with the standard suspension. A Porsche is expensive, there's no way around it. However finding a quality used one isn't all that hard. Just always keep in mind that you may have repairs. Even a set of simple brake pads is expensive on those German cars. Other than that. It's like the old advertising slogan says: There's no substitute.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porsche Lady

by Porsche Lady from on Fri May 10 2013

Classy, classy car -- a real one of a kind. Love the limited edition -- makes it unique! Fun to drive -- love the sound!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porshe Boxster

by sports care enthusiast from Richmond on Mon Sep 24 2012

the car is so beutiful, runs fast and tight. Catch myself just staring at it when it is parked. Looks like a muscle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect sports car for all

by Carfanatic on Thu Aug 02 2018

I currently own this car and everytime I walk inside my garage it brings a smile to my face. It is a 5 speed manual and grips to the road effortlessly. This is the perfect car for its price, mainly because it?s quick, good looking, and is a blast to drive. Because it?s a boxster, it is a convertible, and that is a great luxury during the summer that makes this car so much fun to throw around and have some fun with.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FINEST CAR EVER

by Sultry from Mobile, Alabama on Tue Jun 03 2014

I've enjoyed this 2008 Boxster more than any car I've ever owned. You want to buy one with real LEATHER SPORT SEATS! IT MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD! This Porsche is AWESOME in EVERYWAY! BEST CAR I'VE EVER OWNED! I'VE OWNED CORVETTE'S, M.BENZ SLK 350 AND THE BOXSTER IS BY FAR THE BEST SPORTS CAR! I LOVE TO DRIVE IT, IT'S COMFORTABLE, FAST, AND FUN!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2008 Porsche Boxster


So much has changed in sports car racing in the past 50 years or so that it's a nice connection to the heritage to find something that hasn't: In 1960, the 12 Hours of Sebring endurance race was every bit the critical warm-up to the 24 Hours of Le Mans that it is now, considered comparably stressful on driver and machinery due to the brutally rough Sebring road course, fashioned in part from acres and acres of World War II-era concrete left over from a military base.

As it was in 1960, horsepower rules Sebring. On paper, anyway. But because the races aren't run on paper, things happen. Such as in 1960, when a tiny, fragile-looking, silver Porsche RS 60, powered by a 1.7-liter four-cylinder engine, beat... Read More