2002 SL

Consumer Reviews

2002 Saturn SL

$674 - $4,562  MSRP Range
2002 Saturn SL

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

34 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Saturn SL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

by To Smooth from Reno Nevada on Fri Jul 09 2010

We bought our Saturn new in July 2002 only replaced the battery tires and serpentine belt. It only has 43,000 miles but it's been a great car only regret was not buying 2 from the dealer. I have gotten as high as 40 miles per gallon with the 1.9 litre automatic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

jUST KEEPS GOING

by THE RAT from on Thu Mar 08 2012

What can I say. I bought my manual SL new. Had the same battery and tires for six years. Have the same clutch, alternator, ac, all I changed was belts, plugs and oil. I now have 278,000 trouble free miles, I get 45 plus mpg, even got 49 one time trying my hand at hypermiling. If I had know in 2002 what I know now I would have put one in storage. We had severe weather one year, I mean Cold, and she started eacha nd everytime. Very sad they don't make them anymore, very dependible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Our Third Saturn

by Real Saturn Fan from Lake County, CA on Sun Feb 12 2012

We bought a new 1995 Saturn and drove it until it was stolen and totaled. Car was great. You have to be really diligent about changing the oil every 3000 miles with these small car engines. Then we bought a new 2002 Saturn SL 1 with manual transmission, cruise control and power locks. It now has 193,000 miles on it and no big problems yet. Again, gotta keep up the maintenance. We bought yet another 2002 Saturn used with really low mileage. It is still going great. I wish they would bring back the Saturns. I'd buy another new one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by JDR from Denver, Colorado on Sat Nov 13 2010

Saturn SL2 was fun to drive, 30 mpg city and 37-39 mpg highway. Very low maintenance. Also great on snowy roads.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love This Car!

by CYVA from Annandale, VA on Sat May 12 2018

A pleasure to drive! Easily fits an child car seat in the rear. Up to 5 adults able to travel comfortably at once. Averages 29.93 mpg and 288 miles/fill. We would be keeping this car ourselves but were given another car as a gift and don't have a need for an extra car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Let It Sit 5 Years

by Tickled Saturn Driver from Texas on Tue Jan 24 2017

We got a new car back in 2011 and the 1998 Saturn sat mostly unused for the intervening years. I was scared to start it up with that ancient oil and old gas in it, but I didn't have a choice. With a new battery it started right up, hummed smoothly as if it were 2011, and I immediately went to get it serviced and registered. This is the best car I've ever driven so far as reliability, value, and amazing retention of mechanical ability over time and abuse. It has over 205,000 miles on it. I had always said it would go 300,000 easy.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First Car

by SaturnSL2 from Des Moines, IA on Mon Apr 05 2010

This is my first car and I have been driving it for 5 years now. Bought it at 50,000 miles for $5400. It now has 90,000 miles. This car has amazing gas mileage (getting 38 mpg highway) and has been very reliable (starts in -20 degree weather). However, it will overheat when idle for more than 5 minutes and is absolutely AWFUL in ice and snow. Other than that, great car!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best first car

by Saturn hero from Fort Wayne, IN on Sun Feb 18 2007

this car is great. it gets great gas mileage. the only downfall is that it is small and their is not much leg room but for a person who is almost 6'3" not much is big. Although it is small it is safe and very reliable. It has never let me down and I would recomend this car to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great deal, great car

by Never pay for a new car from on Fri Jun 05 2009

I bought the 2002 Saturn SL1 in mid 2006. This is the second Saturn we've owned and we've never had any problems with them. Our mechanic said this car will run forever as long as we take of it. It's a great car for the money. The turning radius is a little wide, but that's the only complaint we've had so far. Not bad for a 7 year old car . . .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great commuter car!

by Happy Saturn Owner from Western NY on Wed May 19 2010

Bought my SL2 18 months ago with 44K miles on it for $4200. Now at 54K. Only things outside of routine maintenance have been a muffler and a $30 engine sensor (which I replaced myself in 10 minutes). It may be a basic economy car, but I love this darn Saturn more than any of the vastly more expensive cars I've owned in the past. It's simple, no nonsense design makes it easy to service, maintain, and modify. The polymer body panels keep the car looking great, even though it's 9 years old now. These cars are also very durable....others have clocked over 500K miles on theirs. These S-series Saturns have their faults, but if you need a good, basic used car, and can find an S-series Saturn with low mileage, GET IT. I can't think of a better choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4