2016 iA

Consumer Reviews

2016 Scion iA

$10,224 - $15,684  MSRP Range
2016 Scion iA

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Scion iA?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful features for the price

by Solid Value Seeker from San Marcos, CA on Wed Apr 06 2016

We keep our cars a long time. This car replaced a reliable 23-year-old Nissan Sentra. It was wonderful to be able to purchase a sporty-looking reliable car with great safety features for the price. Many features available as add-on by others were included as standard items here. Notably safety items such as collision avoidance, tire pressure, and back-up camera to name a few. We got the automatic, the navigation chip, and the security system. The navigation is very nicely designed, sharing a clear screen with the sound system and back-up camera. All in all, a very nice car, unless you routinely use the back seat for full-size people.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car for our 80 mile commute to work

by Perfect from Lakewood,Co on Sat Jan 23 2016

Loved how it handles.Could use improvement on noise that comes in and cup holders.Otherwise is a perfect ride.Getting 42.5 miles to a gallon.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Don't buy a compact until you drive the Scion iA

by JC from Seattle on Mon Apr 24 2017

We've had lots of cars (owned dealership), and the 2016 Scion iA is THE BEST car I drove in 2016. Based on the superb Mazda2, with extensive standard features. A quick 5 min drive you'll see where all the effort engineers put into - the meat of the car, engine/transmission/suspension, exceptional sound isolation and slick 6-speed manual transmission, has all the features young (or old) buyers could possibly want at $16-17k range. - Proximity Key - 7" information/entertainment touch screen with iDrive like control - Rearview Camera - Integrated GPS Navigation can be added cheaply - Pre-collision mitigation, automatically brake to avoid low-speed collision - Alloy wheels - The Mazda infotainment system can be upgraded to full Android auto with Google map for free! - 35-42MPG! - It's just plain fun to drive and much more substantial that it looks Candidate for Car of year 2016/2017 and well deserved!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sweet little car

by Semi-car guy from Pennsylvania on Thu Aug 25 2016

I bought my son a used Mazda 3 almost three years ago. They are usually very reliable; his wasn't. The first thought was to get him another used car, then I ran into the IA. After verifying that it is crash worthy (the crash ratings are very good, especially for a small car), we test drove one. We also test drove a 2013 Honda Accord. That may seem like an odd car to cross shop, but they were both manuals, and close in price. First the good stuff: The IA is a blast to drive on a twisty road. As it is essentially a Mazda, good handling is baked in. It corners well, the manual transmission is very good, and it's just...zippy. It comes with a standard backup camera, and bluetooth connectivity. The electronics suite is better than that in many more expensive vehicles. And the stereo is decent. It's averaging about 38 MPG, and my son is a lead foot. the car also has high satisfaction ratings among buyers; which can't be said of most cars in this segment (Smart car, Nissan Versa Note, Hyundai Accent). The only more highly rated car is the Honda Fit, and they cost a bundle. Plus, my son wanted a manual, and I'm not sure if they stopped making manual Fits, but I couldn't find one. Front seat comfort is fine; the seats have all the adjustments necessary for anyone to get comfy. It isn't a power wagon by any stretch of the imagination, but when you are doing 75 on a highway, it's as planted and secure as a much larger car. Quite often small cars are sketchy at highway speeds; it's way to easy to speed as it's a very smooth riding car at speed. And for a small car, it has plenty of trunk space. My kid is getting ready to go back to school and he'll have no problem fitting all his junk. The bad: Hills are its enemy. It only has 106 HP, and we live in a very hilly area, and it really taxes the engine. If you are going to pass someone, you really need to plan and make sure you have enough room. Again, this isn't a power wagon. The back seat is a penalty box. Ok for kids, but I wouldn't want to go very far with adults in the back seat. And that's about all that's wrong with it. So bottom line, if you want a new car, easy on the eyes, comfortable, with amazing mileage and decent stereo, it's a nice choice. And my experience with Scions is that they are exceptionally reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, Fun, Economical and Reliable.

by ChaChaCha88 from on Mon May 22 2017

This car is amazing, except there is one problem. Tires. Went to an oil change place, they deliberately damages two tires. Could not get replacement tires for over two weeks. Yikes. One supplier in the whole USA. Handling, great. Power, adequate, with 106 HP and a 6 speed manual. 42 mpg on the open road. But parts, well it's really a Mazda with a Scion or Toyota label, depending on the year. 2016 is Scion. 2017 is Toyota Yaris iA. Much better value and handling than the standard Yaris. But went to a dealer today to get an air filter. None in stock. Well, so acroos the board it seems this car is a Mazda, and Toyota is really negligent in keeping parts available. But as I said, fun, fun, reliable, economical, and excellent value. Just missing a part or two!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most high tech car I've owned

by Scionista from Berea, KY on Wed Feb 10 2016

Love the new Scion IA and the dealer, Tom Richey, was a great help. Would definitely refer my friends and family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great value

by commuter car from medford,New York on Mon Oct 12 2015

Great car in terms of pricing and great mileage. Previously owned a XD scion for 8 years. Loved it sorry they discontinued this model. i Bought the IA and so far it has been very economical.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS CAR!!!!!

by wolfman1996 from on Tue Mar 28 2017

I owned a 2014 camary, so when I got an offer for a new car for cheaper payments, we bought a Scion IA. We had more problems with this car more then any car we ever owned!!!! Day 2 of owning the car we had to take it back because the alignment was bad, then we kept hearing a noise from the engine, which we were told that loud sound was "normal" then they had to replace all the window seals, and then the blower blower motor was making a ticking sound on the low setting, which they never fixed, and now the engine cooling fan runs after the engine is shut off. Ohhh and by the way.. we only have 10,000 miles on the car... Never agian. Please save yourself.. oh and it's not even made by toyota. It's made by Mazda. ... enjoy

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best I've ever own

by Madre_de_3 from Georgetown ky on Mon Jun 26 2017

I love it but having more than three kids is hard lol drives great and I never have to worry about breaking down on the road it's all In all a great car I've taken it to Ohio and back don't know how many times

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

scion ia

by phil from fl on Thu Nov 12 2015

No leg room. Poor visibility. Seat uncomfortable. Bad control design. 500 page manual to figure it out. No power is less control when driving. First two gears (auto) is like turbo lag. Collision avoidance slams on brakes at gates. Don't buy this.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 Scion iA

The 2016 Scion iA is not your average subcompact sedan: nimble handling, class-leading fuel economy and robust safety features put it a cut above the rest.

Toyota's youth-oriented brand hasn't exactly achieved cool-kid status lately. With an aging lineup that includes a few duds, Scion is losing its edge. Enter the new-for-2016 iA. While not as mold-breaking as some of the brand's past vehicles, the sedan is pleasant and should appeal to shoppers looking for a little something special in the no-frills subcompact sedan class.

The iA is the brand's first sedan and competes with the Nissan Versa, Ford Fiesta and Chevrolet Sonic. Compare them here.

Exterior & Styling
When you... Read More