2021 Ascent

Consumer Reviews

2021 Subaru Ascent

$32,295 - $45,445  MSRP Range
2021 Subaru Ascent

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2021 Subaru Ascent?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Does everything well

by StephenG from SELINSGROVE PA. on Mon Aug 31 2020

This SUV is just an overall great vehicle. The Ascent has excellent interior room, a quality interior, good gas mileage, good exterior looks, quality materials and workmanship and, has a comfortable ride as well. While some car magazines have criticized performance and handling, I can assure you both are more than adequate for most people, and nearly all driving conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe and easy to drive 8-seater

by Iv from Chicago IL on Fri Sep 18 2020

The Ascent offers the best balance between safety, comfort, space, reliability, design and price. I don't like the tires, noisy at high speed and not lasting as I heard but the other things are just fine for the price

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Ride

by Joseph P from Manalapan NJ on Wed Sep 30 2020

This vehicle has all the bells and whistles. The interior electronics display has been easy to use and reach from the driver's seat. the handling on the highway and on winding roads has been a pleasure. The rough roads and bumps are quiet when driven over.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable, roomy, and lots of power.

by Wyatt from Norfolk, Nebraska on Sun Nov 01 2020

I'm really enjoying the Subaru Ascent. High quality SUV with plenty of leg room, head room, and cargo space in the back. Enough room to sleep in the back with the seats down. Plenty of power to pull a trailer or camper. Has the feel of solid quality. Highly recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car for Travel

by CenCalBB from Modesto, CA on Sat Jan 09 2021

Purchased this car for travel. And while we haven't had the chance to really put it to the test yet, we are very happy on the trips so far. This car is comfortable to drive. Has good acceleration, nice handling on the curves. Very good safety features. Excellent visibility. The drivers access to controls is very nicely laid out. Plenty of cargo space, especially with the third row seats down. Gave it a 5 star for reliability but it is much to early to really know about that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love how it drives

by Lorraine from Shrewsbury NJ on Tue Jan 12 2021

Plenty of room, easy to drive, just the right size inside and out, love the subaru starlink, I can start my car from inside on these cold mornings, and have a nice warm seat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Subaru I have owned.

by napmabe from Florence, Alabama on Mon Jan 18 2021

I have owned several different autos and I think I am really going to enjoy this Subaru. It has a lot of features I like and once I learn everything on it, I believe it will be even better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice ride and major upgrade for us

by sportscarder from Jersey City, NJ on Sat Nov 14 2020

Coming from a Dodge Journey SE 4-cylinder FWD vehicle and looking for a replacement in 2020, we test drove the Subaru Ascent and researched it well. It drives nicely in the city and on a highway stretch had a lot more passing power than our Dodge, but maybe people complaining are coming from a V6? The noise was far less than our Dodge as well and the numerous safety features feel like it's 50-60% the way to autonomous driving. Plenty of storage for us, handled the kids and the dog well. Going to buy this!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safest car I have owned!

by Julierr from El Paso, TX on Fri Jan 01 2021

Love all the safety features on this car! It is extremely roomy and comfortable. The extra features are nicetoo like the charging deck for my iPhone or the seat warmers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Subaru we have purchased!

by Jim& MC from Lodi, California on Mon Nov 09 2020

We own a Subaru Forrester and have been very pleased with it. We wanted a larger SUV and found the Subaru Ascent fitted our needs. My husband is 6’5” tall and the Ascent has enough leg room . In most new SUV’s his knee hits the middle console. We also like all of it’s features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2021 Subaru Ascent

The verdict:

Subaru is ahead of the curve when it comes to combining safety, practicality and affordability, but its lineup of five-seaters has left bigger families at the curb – until now. The new 2019 Ascent delivers all those things and has the space larger families need.

 

Versus the competition:

Other three-row SUVs may be roomier, classier or more fun to drive, but the Ascent’s impressive blend of safety and value is unmatched by many rivals.

 

The Subaru Ascent looks like a plumped-up version of the Outback wagon and fills the hole in the automaker’s lineup left when the unimpressive Tribeca three-row was axed after the 2014 model year. Compare the Ascent with the Tribeca.

The Ascent is Subaru’s biggest vehicle ever, designed to satisfy larger families with its seven or eight seats. It competes against the likes of the Honda Pilot, Toyota Highlander and Volkswagen Atlas; see them compared. Trim levels for 2018 include base, Premium, Limited and Touring.

Creature Comforts

It’s not just size that matters to families; comfort, safety and convenience features are also key. Yet kids — and dogs and the second-grade class gecko — are often filthy... Read More