2011 Forester

Consumer Reviews

2011 Subaru Forester

$7,030 - $16,662  MSRP Range
2011 Subaru Forester

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

83 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2011 Subaru Forester?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 83 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best options for the $$ in this class

by Transitioning from a minivan to a crossover from Chicago, IL on Wed Dec 08 2010

I was looking at the crossover class of cars, wanted something a little smaller than my minivan but with enough room to still cart kids, pets, gear, and groceries. My only requirements were heated seats, navigation and a telescoping steering wheel (I'm 5'11"). The Subaru Forester 2.5X Premium satisfied all my needs with the lowest pricetag of any other crossover on the market. I'm very pleased with my purchase and I don't feel like I "settled" just to get a lower price. There were other options in this category, but all would have cost considerably more. I like that Subaru is AWD and has excellent safety and reliability ratings. My husband is a car guy and has a positive opinion of Subaru's in general. Overall, for all the options you just can't beat this pricetag with the reliability and safety of a Subaru.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love those turbo Subarus

by Subaru driver from NH on Mon Dec 13 2010

I already own a 2005 Legacy 2.5i, a 2008 Legacy GT (turbo) and now have added a 2011 Forrester XT (turbo). I'm 6'6" and have plenty of leg and headroom in this SUV. The 10 way power seat and tilt/telescopic steering wheel make it easy to find a great driving position. The large moonroof is amazing as is the interior styling. The steering wheel controls for the stereo and Bluetooth are a nice touch. The handsfree Bluetooth phone works very good and people on the other end say it sounds fine as long as I have the window up at highway speeds. The exterior styling is very good in my opinion. I love the aggressive hoodscoop that feeds cool air to the intercooler. The XT model with the turbo charged motor is fantastic! Very nice to have power to pass at will on 2 lane roads. I know the base engine would perform well but if you can afford the extra cost (premium fuel, lower mpg's and higher sticker) the XT is the way to go. I only have 670 miles on mine so far it I'm averaging 24 mpg in mixed driving. I know it'll get better when the motor is fully broken in but that is not bad at all considering the performance. All in all, I have 3 Subarus and they are very reliable and economical.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car we've owned

by crawman1 from Gainesville, FL on Tue Jan 04 2011

We've owned Nissans, Toyotas, Buicks, BMW, Cadillacs, Fords, Dodges...and this is the best car of any of them for the money. We took the Forester out on the beach this past weekend for fishing, through very soft sand and had no problem sailing through. The AWD feature is excellent! I've heard complaints about the transmission "searching" for gears on uphills but I find that if you pop the transmission lever into "Sport" mode, this problem goes away. I'm very happy with our decision to buy this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Forester #2

by Bill from Wagram, NC on Thu Feb 03 2011

I am coming from a 2005 Forester X which had 120,000 trouble free miles. (I didn't replace the front discs until 105,000, and the rear drums are still going strong). This new model X Premium promises to be just as reliable. Subaru still needs some help with its interiors, but the interior is adequate. Too much cheap plastic for the dog to scratch is my major complaint. The new engine is breaking in well, but has the problem with the left side hydraulic tensioner that many are noticing. Subaru has already issued a service bulletin and will replace the tensioner if drivers find it objectionable. (oil leaks out of it during the night, causing a rattling noise when you crank up in the morning. It's not supposed to cause any problems with the engine.) Overall, I am very pleased. The premium comes with an ipod usb jack which works well, in fact, it sounds better than the standard radio.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, fun to drive

by Mountain Man from Canton, GA. on Thu Jun 02 2011

We purchased a Forester Limited as a second car to supplement our Toyota Sequoia. i looked seriously at the Rav-4 Toyota but the dealer here in Georgia doesn't srock all wheel drive units. I had read several reviews on the Forester's reliability, and when we test drove it we were very impressed. The car has very good head room, an awesome sunroof, and very comfortable seats. The performance is more than adequate for a 4 cylinder, and living in the country I enjoy hitting the curvy roads around here. The car handles like a small sports car and I have to watch my speed to stay out of trouble. The Forester has been getting good gas mileage, and with the price of gas going up we tend to use it more than our very comfortable Sequoia. We've had this vehicle three months, and it has been flawless to date. I would highly recommend this vehicle for anyone's consideration.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Value

by Mountaineer from Boulder, CO on Wed Jan 12 2011

PROS:Versitility and resale values are among the best with these vehicles. There are many Subaru's with 200K+ miles on them and they are still running strong! Safety is 5star. From the grocery store to the ski slopes to home improvement projects, the Forester can do it all. CONS: Shifter is has a different feel than most vehicles. The hill assist take a bit to get use to and the center cupholders are square.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car!

by strman from wilmington, nc on Sun Jan 30 2011

We bought a Forester XT and are really happy with it. We already have a 2005 Outback XT and bought this Forester just because the Outback has been so outstanding. The Forester replaced a VW Eos that was a always breaking down and the Outback replaced a Jeep GC that was the worst most unreliable car that i ever owned. This 2011 Forester Xt is fun! Plenty of acceleration and simply beats everything else in the snow. Most people don't realize it but these Subarus are great on the beach too so we use ours for surf fishing. With 3500 miles on the Forester now, we are averaging 20.4 MPH. That includes a trip to Florida but most of the miles are city.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

long time owner of subaru's

by jb from New Jersey on Fri Mar 25 2011

This subaru is the best so far we compared it to the CRV and bought the Premium model There is no comparison between these cars The subaru rides better and has more useful "toys" I have made U turns during snow storms on major highways in the past with my subaru This one I'm sure will be up to the test This is a real tough vehicle. if you need a bmw this is not it ! it's better!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle!

by xxx from Charlotte, VT on Mon Jan 17 2011

Very comfortable, visibility is super, and it's excellent in awful weather. I've owned a Forester before and this one is just enough bigger without being difficult to drive that it's definitely a step up! GREAT in difficult driving conditions and mileage is good too for it's size.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Bobbie from Truckee, Ca on Fri Mar 11 2011

If you want a small SUV that performs well in the snow, there is not a question that this is the car for you. This is the second Forester that we have owned, and some significant improvements have been made in safety and comfort. Buy this car without hesitatiion.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2011 Subaru Forester

It's never been the sharpest-looking crossover, inside or out, but the Subaru Forester strikes the sort of balance between driving fun, ride comfort and outright practicality that make some of its competitors seem downright frustrating in comparison.

The current, square-backed generation never blew anyone away with a progressive design or cabin quality, but its strengths become apparent as you sift through the glut of other small crossovers on the market. The five-seat crossover comes in 2.5X and 2.5XT editions — the X tells you it has a normally aspirated engine, while the XT represents a turbocharged four-cylinder. The X can be had in base, Premium, Limited and Touring trims, while the XT... Read More