2017 Impreza

Consumer Reviews

$11,873 - $22,237  MSRP Range
2017 Subaru Impreza

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

174 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Subaru Impreza?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 174 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best performing car I've owned

by Kayla from on Sun Mar 12 2017

The Impreza has a smooth quiet ride and the steering and brakes are very responsive. The AWD drives great in the snow. The interior is very spacious and the infotainment system is great. The Impreza Sport trim has a sporty looking interior with a moonroof, alloy wheels, sport grille and the sedan has side and rear spoiler.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent riding car, super safety w/Eyesight

by CoinQuestx1 from Dover, NH on Sat Mar 11 2017

This new 2017 Subaru Impreza Premium ES is a well engineered vehicle with a super ride, terrific Safety features ( esp with Eyesight), and great gas mileage (even with the 4 wheel drive) which is a bonus in New England. The car has great visibility and ergonomic features to accommodate people from 5' to 6'4" in stature. It is very responsive with quick rack steering to get you around in the city and close quarters in the parking lot. Overall, a very well designed and engineered vehicle with superior safety features and plenty of zip for the typical driver (cruising at 75 mph on the highway is no problem).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most spacious, efficient and easy controls

by tennisgirl19 from on Fri Mar 31 2017

I used to own a Lexus, it was a very good car. I was surprised by the Subaru Impreza. The interior space is amazing. Very practical and efficient. its easy to drive but what impressed me was the price. Price for efficiency, dependability and performance...Best car ever

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Design was worth the wait

by AppyKY from Horse Cave, KY on Thu May 11 2017

Subaru redesigned the Impreza for 2017 and it was worth the wait. The adjustable adaptive cruise control and blind spot detectors make my morning commute safer and more economical. These features allow me to plan my navigation through traffic with safe traveling distance and more efficient accelerations. My mph exceeds what was advertised. I do miss some of the small cubby spaces to store small items that were in my last car, but in the Subaru, the compartments are larger, making thinks fit easier.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe, Reliable, Comfortable and Refined

by Noah from Vancouver, WA on Fri Jul 06 2018

I was a bit nervous buying the first model year of the new 2017 Impreza, but now more than one year later I am very happy with my purchase of a loaded Limited sedan. Like some other owners, I had initial issues with bugs in the head unit, but they were fixed with a software update. Otherwise, I have not had a single problem. The Limited with EyeSight, upgraded audio, leather, moon roof, and other creature comforts make this an entry-level luxury sedan hiding inside a Subaru badge. The car is solidly built, has a quiet, secure, and fairly refined ride, gives the owner just about every bell and whistle they could ask for, and is chock-full of safety features that exceed those of fancy German sedans twice the price. Personally, I also think the sedan is quite good looking in the lapis blue pearl (even if it shows dust quickly!). I get about 39 MPG highway and 28 in mixed city driving in this sedan (which gets slightly better mileage than the hatch)-- matching the sticker and great for an AWD car running on regular unleaded. The CVT takes a little getting used to, but the simulated gears under heavy acceleration and paddle shifters make it quite easy to live with...and it's much better than CVTs of yore. The handling is excellent, with an almost sporty road feel but quiet in the cabin, though the fairly modest engine power keeps the car from being a speed demon. The engine can be a little noisy with the peddle down, but otherwise is unobtrusive. My favorite features include the adaptive cruise control (don't know how I managed without it), the LED adaptive headlights, rear cross-traffic alert (handy in parking lots), and the surprisingly good upgraded audio system (with Apple CarPlay, which is nice). I think the all-options Limited trim is worth the money over time-- it really gives you everything but the kitchen sink. I don't use the navigation much because I use the phone with CarPlay, but it is nice when I don't feel like plugging the phone in and just want a quick look at traffic or where I'm at. I wanted to write this review after seeing some others complain about initial quality issues and lack of power. My sense from talking to other owners is that most of the initial quality problems were software-related with the head unit , and are now resolved with the updates. As far as the engine goes, this car is not a WRX but has perfectly adequate power for the rest of us mortals trying to merge on freeways and go up hills. If you've never experienced the new-platform Impreza or the EyesSight and other safety features, I definitely recommend a test drive. I always stuck to German or other Japanese brands before I purchased this car, but now I'm one of the Subaru converted.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bad Subaru Paint and low power.

by C Hodge from Jamesville, NY on Tue Oct 03 2017

This is my 6th Subie, I love the AWD. On each Subie I have owned the paint has been horrible, this new car I have has several different reds used. The rockers are more pink and the rear view mirrors are lighter than the body. It is also time for Subaru to put some time, research and POWER into their engine program. Across the board each model of Subaru is low on power compared to other cars in its segment. Subaru, we Subaru people want some more power! Can you hear that? The new interiors look great by the way, it is about time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car so far

by Bigcatdad from Hurst on Tue Mar 21 2017

Lot's of room inside, I feel really comfortable when I drive this car. Radio inside is great for the money. We have been a Honda family since I started to drive. I was going to buy a Honda civic when someone told me to test drive a Subaru impreza, same price more features better workmenship. Real Happy so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good safety features

by Dolphin from Santa Monica, CA on Thu May 03 2018

The Impreza station wagon is comfortable and easy to drive, but the most valuable aspect of this car is the safety features. The backup camera is super good and the blind spot beep and blinking light indicators on the outside mirrors is extraordinarily valuable to me. I also very much appreciate the lane drift warnings.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru Impreza

by Shannon from Slingerlands, NY on Sun Mar 19 2017

I love my new Subaru Impreza! It is so comfortable to drive the interior and exterior are beautiful. It did really well in the 2017 snowstorm of Stella. I have no complaints thus far. It is great on gas, great mileage, great steering and breaks, overall it is a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

practical car

by fun to drive small family wagon for wife from on Sat Apr 22 2017

Nice exterior styling, practical layout inside - dash, front seating, back seating, storage space, drives better than most Subarus traditionally do but a little underpowered, gas mileage very good. We compared to Honda Civic hatchback - excellent mileage, nice handling, seating too low, too many "boy racer" tack ons. Also to VW sportwagon & Alltrack - fun to drive good size, styling, and seating, a little more expensive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18

Our Take on the 2017 Subaru Impreza

The verdict:


A redesign for 2017 morphs the Impreza from unlovable underdog to a promising player in the compact class thanks to a slick new multimedia system, composed road manners and an impressive value proposition, though some quirks — like an unrefined powertrain — remain.

Versus the competition:


Although it’s at times slower and louder than many other compacts, the Impreza still offers something special that they don't: standard all-wheel drive.

The 2017 Impreza is a significant redesign for Subaru. Not only is it the first Impreza built in the U.S. (in Indiana), it’s also the first to ride on Subaru’s new Global Platform, which will eventually be used throughout the lineup. The new model still comes in sedan and hatchback versions, but both have grown about 1.6 inches longer for 2017.

The Subaru Impreza competes against sedans like the Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla and Hyundai Elantra; compare them here. The hatchback version goes up against hatchback versions of the Chevrolet Cruze, Honda Civic and Mazda3; compare them here.

Exterior & Styling

The previous Subaru Impreza’s styling emitted an air of economy, but... Read More