2016 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2016 Subaru WRX

$20,041 - $30,473  MSRP Range
2016 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

41 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2016 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Ride

by Boxster03 from Tampa on November 2, 2015

The muscle or sports cars I have owned include a 66 GTO, 67 Mustang, 70 Road Runner, 74 Mustang, 74 240Z, 78 280Z, 92 RX-7, 99 Porsche Boxster and 2014 BRZ. The only car that was a much fun to drive as the WRX was the Boxster. This car is a blast to drive and is very comfortable also with the extras the Limited edition offers. If you want to experience driving rather than floating around in SUV or luxury car then this is the entry level option that makes sense.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Safe Performance Vehicle

by first_new_car_review from Cleveland, OH on January 28, 2016

I bought this car for the engine, reliability, and AWD. I wanted something fun to drive, something that I could keep for a 10+ years (driving 25k/year), and an assured ride through snowy weather in Cleveland, OH. There's no doubt this car is fun to drive (6 speed manual) and I find it to be worth the extra spent on gas (don't forget you need 91/93 octane). However, I have been getting avg. of 29MPG! Which is great because I drive close to 100 miles a day. The car comes with summer tires, so if you're in colder climates it's a good idea to get winter tires (just get tires with wheels so that you can swap them out every season on your own). Once the winter tires are on, this thing has great control in the snow. As for reliability and safety, I can't really say anything from experience, but this car holds its value very well and Subaru has a reputation for reliability. Both were important in making this purchase. Only complaint is the touch screen/steering controls system. It's pretty slow to respond to actions and is not setup well in various ways. You learn to work with it, but it should be the other way around. In conclusion, if you're looking for a performance car that can be used as your everyday commuter..this is it. Highly recommend it. If you don't care about the AWD and slightly less reliability, then go get the mazda3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Performance at a reasonable price

by JJ from Minnesota on November 2, 2015

This car is quick off the blocks and fast. The six speed manual is pretty precise. The interior is roomy and comfortable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased with the car I chose

by Aesthetic suburu from Sioux Falls , SD on June 30, 2015

Very pleased to purchase this amazing ride! Perfect fit for me and my son along with weather conditions

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Car for the Enthusiast!

by frontier1299 from on September 6, 2017

Awesome car! Will certainly satisfy any enthusiast. My only complaint is the infotainment system. It seemed dated not having apple car play. The base sound system is pretty bad for a $40k car. Other than that I experienced excellent reliability and a lot of fun on the back roads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 WRX Base

by First time Subaru owner. from Bluffton, SC on September 3, 2015

This is a great performing vehicle with lots of value. Subaru has put a lot of time and engineering into the handling, engine, and overall performance of this vehicle. It is truly a driver's car. Yes you can spend a little less and buy a car with a flashier interior however the car will look and feel like a commuter. This car is meant to be driven and experienced. I didn't have the option not to rate the reliability which I would've opted not to because I have not had the car long enough to make a fair rating. If you're looking for something a little less aggressive choose the Impreza. If you want the best of both worlds, choose the WRX. The interior loses a star for radio sound quality and no standard heated seats. The performance loses one star for a gear box that seems a bit clunky and I would like brakes that are a little more aggressive. Those are my only two complaints. The car drives, sounds, excellent with incredible visibility. Interior was roomy, back seat is very functional, and the door clearance makes it easy to get in and out of.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 WRX base

by Sports car enthusiast from West Allis, WI on November 26, 2015

This is an amazing machine! Great AWD system, beautiful color and dazzling performance on the road all together. Best bang for your bucks!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Eye catcher

by Blue from Michigan on September 7, 2015

Only had it 2 weeks, but fun to drive..only complaint is the ac/heater fan is loud..you need to turn it down to talk on the phone with the hands free ..also turned it down to converse with the backseat passenger.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect daily commuter

by LukaszK from Elmwood Park, NJ on March 14, 2017

To start off, everyone and anyone interested in the newer style of WRX's ( or even the older styles ) what you're buying is not just the awd and performance but the ideal daily car for under $30k and with close to 300hp that can get you from point A to point B any day of the week, by yourself or with a full car of people. Anyone anticipating the comfort or quality of an Audi or BMW has their expectations completely set to high, being that those brands pride themselves with a high price point and a different clientele, whereas the average WRX owners spans from the age of 18 to 80 because it's simply a perfect drivers car with the bare nessacities without all the fancy bells and whitles, it does everything you expect it too and more. Bought my 2016 WRX a year ago now and have owned numerous bmws and Vw's, and sure the interiors were better suited but the driving experience could never compare to the WRX, a year later and every single drive taken in this car brings a smile to my face. Oh and let's not forget the average 25mpg with 32-33mpg on the highway. If you're on the fence with buying one my one piece of advice is simply go to your nearest dealership and take a test drive in the WRX, that's what won me over and I'm sure many other current WRX owners. Enjoy and happy driving!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

I will never own one again

by Everyday509 from Walla walla,wa on January 19, 2018

If you get one buy the extended warranty my first winter i had the car my abs went out and caused me to slam into a curb. After that it was always at the dealer getting something worked on.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5