Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1997 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

1997 Toyota 4Runner

$1,921 - $8,145  MSRP Range
1997 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

39 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

All time great

by niugreg from Sugar Grove, Illinois on Tue Feb 08 2011

Bought used in 2009. 84,000 miles, I am the 2nd owner. Just did 120,000 mile maintenance at Toyota dealer. Nothing wrong, clean bill of health. I'm 63 yrs. old and expect to have my 4Runner until I'm too old to drive. I absolutely love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great!

by MDOMINIC from Jackson Heights, NY on Thu Apr 14 2011

I had a 1996 4Runner and sold it a few years ago. I missed it so when I totaled the awful Saturn Ion that I inherited I decided to get another 4Runner. I found an amazing green 1997 with 117k miles (April 2011) for $5500. It looks and runs like a new car. I love everything about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

"Great Deal"

by morphius1281 from Slippery Rock, PA on Tue Jan 16 2007

This is the ultimate buy for the money. I only paid 5,500 for a 97 SR5 4x4. This is a top notch vehicle with handling, and appeal. My wife is safe now driving, for our child to be.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST!

by Texas Truck from Texas on Tue Mar 09 2010

My mother bought the 97 4runner brand new. She bought a new 2010 Camry and passed the 4runner down to me. Ive put this truck through a lot and it still runs strong. 211,000 MILES AND STILL GOING! I dont think this truck has a "Check Engine" light cause Ive never seen it! Toyota is the greatest, Im sure my Runner will see 300K easily!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 4runner

by eric from on Fri Jan 29 2010

Have owned 2 runners and regret selling the first so i bought the second. I have never been stranded or felt unsafe taking a long distance trip. I drive back home to South Dakota at least twice a year and have nver had a problem. I LOVE My Runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mission in Africa

by TJ from UN Headquarters, New york on Wed Dec 19 2012

This car was given to me as a duty car by the United Nations Department of Peacekeeping Operations when i served in the mission in Eritrea. I drove it for two years through very difficult mountainous terrain crossing the border between Ethiopia and Eritrea, often at 7500 feet in the mountains. Road handling is fantastic and i never experienced a breakdown. Acceleration made me feel like i could disappear in a cloud of dust if the rebels ever decided to chase..... . My present 2010 SUV from a rival maker is like plastic compared to this. Great piece of equipment

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best work truck for me

by My Work Truck from Bayou Chicot, Louisiana on Mon Aug 16 2010

I use it for my business, great! Got it from my mom, she past away. Had 92,000 miles, now 240,000 and still going great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Older 4Runners rock!

by Avacado2go from Ashland, Oregon on Fri Mar 14 2014

I purchased my 4Runner new in 1996 and it's been running great for the last 18 years. It has never let me down through all kinds of terrain and weather. Even the white paint looks new after all these years. I've driven the Runner on two cross-country trips with a third scheduled this year. Total cost of ownership is going down with each passing year and I will never sell this SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by Love my 4Runner from Erlanger, KY on Thu Jan 21 2010

I have owned my 4Runner for almost 2 months now and got it very cheap! I expected that there may be some problems because of the age of the car but the only problem right now is that it may need a new starter which is a common problem for Tacomas and 4Runners...inexpensive and easy to replace, so I am very impressed. I really enjoy driving the car and looking at it lol. Very spacious and grocery shopping doesn't feel like such a chore with all the trunk space! Also, I didn't even feel like I was driving on 3 inches of snow the other day because the 4wd is awesome!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MY BABY!!!

by Lola from Portland,TN on Sat Apr 25 2009

I bought my 1997 4Runner Limited in 2004 with 87,000 miles on it. I am the second owner (and the last). It has 150,000 miles on it now and still going strong. I havent had to do anything to it except regular oil changes and tune ups. It is the best vehicle I have ever owned. 5 stars all the way!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4