Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2018 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

$34,810 - $45,160  MSRP Range
2018 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

188 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 188 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

WILL NEVER OWN ANYTHING BUT A 4 RUNNER

by Dixiemama72 from North Sioux City, South Dakota on Tue Nov 21 2017

We have owned 7 toyotas, 5 of which were 4 runners. (some leased) 2 tacomas we are in love with the toyota 4 runner, its a work horse. our 2006 had 183k on it and still ran well, our 2008 had 133k at time of trade and I am almost jealous of who gets that truck now that we traded her for our 2018 just 2 days ago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best trade I ever made

by djt384 from Putnam Valley, NY on Thu Jun 07 2018

I traded in my Nissan Xterra which was my FAVORITE car ever. I had to get something bigger because our family was growing. The 4Runner had additional space and the design is incredible. The 4Runner is actually a more capable vehicle off-road, safer on road, and better gas mileage. I don't know if I can ever get rid of this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota is consistently at the top for reliability

by Addysmom from Hagerstown, MD on Sun Apr 29 2018

My 4Runner has the 4.0 liter V6 and while it isn’t the fastest SUV, it is reliable and fun to drive. It has plenty of room and is easy to modify for looks and performance. One of the best features is the back window and the fact that it goes all the way down. There isn’t a ton of road noise, even with oversized tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smoothest 4X4 I have owned

by JFM 4x4Enthusiast from Portland Oregon on Tue Jan 23 2018

The 2018 4Runner SR5 Premium, is an extremely versatile and pleasant vehicle to drive. The ride is very nice for a full size sport utility vehicle. I have driven much worse in this group, and only a couple that are nicer. The premium offers the Entune sound system with integrated navigation, and many apps for your convenience. The leather seats are heated in the seat and lower lumbar areas, but only in the front. We opted for the fold flat soft Tex third row seating, which are amazingly comfortable for the usually cramped and miserably uncomfortable positions. The key to their comfort is the fully adjustable and sliding second row of seats. This is an amazing component on the third row seat option that truly makes them average size adult capable. The four wheel drive components are typical of Toyota, and work flawlessly, and are aided by electronic actuated traction assist, traction control on/off buttons and decline traction assist. Each does exactly what Toyota claims. From the nicely laid out driver appointments to the on the fly 2wd to 4wd control knob, everything is in reach. We love the privacy window tinting that is part of the SR5 Premium package. Overall we love the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by Gunnuh from Clovis on Wed May 09 2018

This car is beautiful and perfect in almost every way. The only teason it isnt 100 for me is because i have 5 big kids and altough we do fit in it the 3rd row is very small. I would also like the navigation screen to ne bigger.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love it

by Love the yota from Fayetteville,AR on Sat May 26 2018

TRD Premium: off road capabilities are un rivaled by any stock vehicle I've owned. Had a wrangler that was decent off road but the TRD goes places the Jeep could have only dreamed of. Comfortable on road trips and around town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Does it all well and with character

by KjTaylor from Boise, ID on Sat Feb 17 2018

Have long wanted a 4Runner. Finally got it, and couldn’t be happier. Comfortable, right amount of room, right feature set for internal tech, super 4WD functionality. Many inexpensive upgrades are available to”make it yours” through the dealer and aftermarket. Only lacking a bit of hp and to, which can be remedied by aftermarket CAI and high flow exhaust or even more by adding . . . The new available Magnuson Supercharger. Better styling than anything in its class. Love the red! Sales, accessories, service, and parts crew rock!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing capability to handle and haul anything!

by Outdoor Enthusiast from Stratford, NY on Sun Nov 26 2017

This vehicle has it all! Room in the third row when you need it and easy lay flat seat storage when you don't. Snow, sleet and rain it handled it all amazingly!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4 Runner is the best vehice out there.

by Bev from Mpls, MN on Wed Jul 25 2018

My favorite vehicle, I owned a 4 runner before and it was mtce free. I had 167,000 miles when I traded it. I am sure it would of gone at least another 100,000. I would not buy anything but a 4 runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle for the value

by 4Runner Fan from St. Louis, MO on Mon Feb 12 2018

I’ve previously driven sports cars and sedans with the occasional crossover mixed in, but I wanted something different this time. This is the perfect car for anyone looking for a reliable SUV that can also do some fun stuff on the side. I have the TRD off road version and it’s been great so far. The only drawback is the miles per gallon you get for hwy and city. It’s a beast of a car so it does not compare to the mileage I got on my previous car (sedan) but I was given all of this information prior to purchase and the 4Runner still won me over.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 19