2018 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

$29,037 - $45,113  MSRP Range
2018 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

245 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 245 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Smoothest 4X4 I have owned

by JFM 4x4Enthusiast from Portland Oregon on Tue Jan 23 2018

The 2018 4Runner SR5 Premium, is an extremely versatile and pleasant vehicle to drive. The ride is very nice for a full size sport utility vehicle. I have driven much worse in this group, and only a couple that are nicer. The premium offers the Entune sound system with integrated navigation, and many apps for your convenience. The leather seats are heated in the seat and lower lumbar areas, but only in the front. We opted for the fold flat soft Tex third row seating, which are amazingly comfortable for the usually cramped and miserably uncomfortable positions. The key to their comfort is the fully adjustable and sliding second row of seats. This is an amazing component on the third row seat option that truly makes them average size adult capable. The four wheel drive components are typical of Toyota, and work flawlessly, and are aided by electronic actuated traction assist, traction control on/off buttons and decline traction assist. Each does exactly what Toyota claims. From the nicely laid out driver appointments to the on the fly 2wd to 4wd control knob, everything is in reach. We love the privacy window tinting that is part of the SR5 Premium package. Overall we love the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota is consistently at the top for reliability

by Addysmom from Hagerstown, MD on Sun Apr 29 2018

My 4Runner has the 4.0 liter V6 and while it isn’t the fastest SUV, it is reliable and fun to drive. It has plenty of room and is easy to modify for looks and performance. One of the best features is the back window and the fact that it goes all the way down. There isn’t a ton of road noise, even with oversized tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by Gunnuh from Clovis on Wed May 09 2018

This car is beautiful and perfect in almost every way. The only teason it isnt 100 for me is because i have 5 big kids and altough we do fit in it the 3rd row is very small. I would also like the navigation screen to ne bigger.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love it

by Love the yota from Fayetteville,AR on Sat May 26 2018

TRD Premium: off road capabilities are un rivaled by any stock vehicle I've owned. Had a wrangler that was decent off road but the TRD goes places the Jeep could have only dreamed of. Comfortable on road trips and around town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4 Runner is the best vehice out there.

by Bev from Mpls, MN on Wed Jul 25 2018

My favorite vehicle, I owned a 4 runner before and it was mtce free. I had 167,000 miles when I traded it. I am sure it would of gone at least another 100,000. I would not buy anything but a 4 runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing capability to handle and haul anything!

by Outdoor Enthusiast from Stratford, NY on Sun Nov 26 2017

This vehicle has it all! Room in the third row when you need it and easy lay flat seat storage when you don't. Snow, sleet and rain it handled it all amazingly!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle for the value

by 4Runner Fan from St. Louis, MO on Mon Feb 12 2018

I’ve previously driven sports cars and sedans with the occasional crossover mixed in, but I wanted something different this time. This is the perfect car for anyone looking for a reliable SUV that can also do some fun stuff on the side. I have the TRD off road version and it’s been great so far. The only drawback is the miles per gallon you get for hwy and city. It’s a beast of a car so it does not compare to the mileage I got on my previous car (sedan) but I was given all of this information prior to purchase and the 4Runner still won me over.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Probably the most capable vehicle there is

by BDonaldson2194 from Denver, CO on Sun Apr 22 2018

When I was shopping for a new vehicle, I needed something that could "do it all" and last a long time. Everyone knows about Toyota's reliability and longevity, and the 4Runner has to be the most bulletproof vehicle I've ever been inside. After the recent discontinuation of the Nissan XTerra, the 4Runner and Wrangler are the only mid-size truck body SUVs that remain. The main difference between the two being the sheer quality and luxury available to the 4Runner, and the price you pay for said quality. That, and a close friend of mine has a 1990 4Runner with over 450K miles on it and hasn't ever needed any major service...which speaks novels about both the quality of Toyota and the 4Runner specifically. Overall, a very comfortable, capable, and enjoyable vehicle that is bound to last longer than anything else I own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect vehicle for our family!

by B & C from Wernersville, Pa on Thu Jul 05 2018

We love the 4Runner for its sporty body style and reliability. The 4 WD is the reason we choose it over the Toyota Highlander, since we live in the country and winter weather. The interior is comfortable but kind of wish it had more storage on the interior. I love my Nautical Blue color because it is not as common as Black, White, Gray, or Silver.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Ride!

by N.Bryan on Sun Jul 08 2018

The 2018 4Runner is simply amazing. The new sleek and edgy body style makes this vehicle turn heads. It not only looks great, but rides smooth too. The interior is spacious and comfortable. The SR5 has a third row too! Great for transporting family, friends, and animals. I love my 4Runner!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 25