2000 S80

Consumer Reviews

2000 Volvo S80

$110 - $5,698  MSRP Range
2000 Volvo S80

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

11 Reviews
82% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Volvo S80?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I love my Volvo!

by Driver of a Purple Geo. from Dallas, Tx on Wed Mar 31 2010

The only neg I have to say about this car is don't like that you can only open trunk with key or remote control, and the gas cap only unlocks when all doors are unlocked, oh and you have a certain amount of time to adjust the electric seats from the time you start the car and shut the door, real pain for long trips. But love the body and interior design, computer with warnings, and service reminder light. Heated leather seats a plus also! Never even looked at a Volvo but will def think about owning another.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, better value

by Looking for another Volvo from on Tue Aug 04 2009

I've a couple of Volvo's and have loved them. The last S80 I owned was an excellent car and will likely buy another.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sweet ride

by Commuter Girl from Stevenson, WA on Fri May 30 2008

We debated a smaller car for the economy of commuting, something more important nowadays, but you have to weigh how much time you spend in the car too. An hour driving something that's uncomfortable can feel like 3 hours. This Volvo makes that commute time way more reasonable with all of it's comfort features, smooth ride and excellent handling. We live and drive in a very rural area with icey, winding roads, and this car has performed flawlessly for 5 years now. On the downside, the cd storage bin between the seats is pretty inaccessible when driving, and all the bells & whistles (electronic features) take some getting used to, plus the cost of maintenence and fuel are higher than your average American car. It's just part of the deal though, and you have to take that into account when you're looking at a rather luxury car. The heated seats are great, as is the drive. When the times comes to part with this little mink, we shall certainly be looking at another Volvo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'd buy another

by Volvo owner from Pacific Norhwest on Mon Aug 31 2009

Have had gterat luck with this model/year car. Safe, very comfortable and fun to drive. No real issues with maintenance, pretty normal for a car of this value and quality.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great handling, comfortable, safe and reliable.

by Airplane Pilot from California on Thu Jan 04 2007

I have owned a 2000 Volvo S80 since new. It has been a great car. It is very comfortable for both drivers and passengers. It ranks in the top for consumer safety, looks good, and is sporty to drive. In comparing with others in its class, this has been a good value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very happy using as a road car for business trips

by Enjoying the Ride from York, PA on Thu Jul 21 2011

Bought the car in 2008 with 8000 miles on it. Just getting to 60,000 this summer. Enjoyed the car very much. I run a 2 1/2 hr road trip with it every two weeks and found it to be a great road car. Very comfortable and doesn't wear me out when I'm done with the drive. Has handled well in lousy weather in NE PA.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

mr

by naskey from nigeria on Tue Jun 25 2013

it's a very good car, in the future i will love to get one for myself. and one for my wife. and the jeep for family outing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo - reliable, safe and stylish

by Hcook from Ocean, NJ on Tue May 02 2017

2000 Volvo s80 has been dependable and has a very comfortable ride. Exterior looks new as car has been kept in the garage and runs well. A good buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Decent Car

by mountainmuffin from Eagle, Co on Sun Jan 18 2009

My husband convinced me to buy this car because of its really good safety reviews. We live in the Colorado mountains with alot of snow, so I thought it would work well. The first 6 months months were fine, but the last 9 months have been horrendous! Power stearing went out in a canyon(!), fuel line leak, transmission gone bad, turbos going bad, leaking coolant, and driver's side door lock broken. The interior is very nice and comfortable. I'm not a huge fan of leather seats, but the seat heaters make them bareable. The trunk is huge! All the gadgets and buttons inside took some getting used to. Expensive to get fixed and it has needed to get fixed alot. Overall a decent car, but I'm getting rid of it ASAP!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Money pit

by Not a 940 from new haven county, ct on Sun Mar 04 2012

Bought the 2.9 non turbo used with 63k on the clock. After 3 years and less that 100k, the following needed repair or replacement. Alternator, o2 sensors, cv joints, fuel pump, throttle body. Also sunroof failed in open position, driver power window failed, power door locks failed. Poorly emgineered, cheap plastic interior components. Can't wait to unload and buy another 5 series BMW

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2