2004 XC90

Consumer Reviews

2004 Volvo XC90

$1,875 - $8,027  MSRP Range
2004 Volvo XC90

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

47 Reviews
77% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Volvo XC90?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

safe car for the wife

by telly from Shelbyville,Ky on Mon Jan 21 2013

I was looking for a car for the wife that was safe and this was the car and it was her dream car. It had 108,000 when purchased and needed the timing belt changed as it is supposed to be changed at 105,000. I upgraded the brakes to crossed drill and slotted with ceramic pads frt and rear and it looks as if they will last approx 90 to 80,000 miles.the car came with new tires and will get approx 60,000 miles on them the car has 144,000 on it now and there have been no problems small or large. I purchased the 5 cly because the six transmission is supposed to have problems. The wife using the car in her charity work and puts on over 20,000 miles a year and she loves the car. This is the fourth volvo we have owned,a 940,850 and my v70. all have been excellent. the xc90 gets 18 to 20 mpg which is not great but this is a heavy car.yes we would buy another and we do tell others about volvos

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

59 out of 59 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love it

by jbird from on Fri May 04 2012

by far the best suv I have ever owned--best gas mileage for a family of 6 with lots of "stuff"--especially if you like cruising the beach with 4WD roomy, feels great to drive--handles like a car and super comfy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo XC-90 T6 SR-7

by nader from Raleigh, NC on Thu Jul 20 2006

This is top of the line XC90. It includes the Bumper to Bumper factory warranty, rear 3rd row seats and the rear A/C in addition to the built-in booster seat in the middle row. The list of options goes on for ever. Please call for more detail.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great looks but nagging service issues

by Volvo Loyalist from N Attleboro, MA on Sun Apr 22 2007

We have a 2004 Volvo XC90T and while it is a great looking SUV and is very comfortable and decidedly safe inside -- and provides great sense of security in winter weather -- there are nagging issues with the power windows, front suspension, and poor OEM tires that wear out far too fast. We are really hoping Volvo improves the reliability in future models because it has great lines and appeal otherwise.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the Best SUV's ever made!!

by Volvo Owner from Bethesda, MD on Wed Jun 05 2013

This is a great vehicle. It handles like a car but carries an amazing amount of luggage + 7 people! It's a luxury SUV in all respects.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe as a bank vault

by Jjs337 on Sun Jun 03 2018

Inline 6 is virtually indestructible. Twin turbo adds power. All around quality. Ice cold AC. All wheel drive comes in handy. I wouldn't hesitate to buy an XC90 again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very safe and comfortable

by Draknier from Douglasville, Ga. on Mon Jul 24 2017

Drives very smooth we called it our spaceship. Has excellent capacity. Excellent handling. Entertainment on the go for the kids. much better than a minivan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bullit proof so far.

by gearhead from Cincinnati Ohio on Wed Sep 20 2006

My wife wanted this car. We have 30,000 miles on 2.5T drivetrain on our 2004 XC90. Mechanical reliability has been excellent. For small displacement engine, mileage has been a little disappointing about 18 mpg in town and about 24 mpg on vacation trips. Vehicle is heavy however and very solid. We intend on keeping this vehicle for a long time and so far have been happy with overall quality, functionality and reliability. Has been great in the snow and on family ski trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best ever for the highway!

by Johnson from Vermont on Mon Apr 13 2009

I've had my XC90 for a few years and i still can get over how well it performs, esp. on long drives. It is rock solid on the highway. I'm looking for another one for my daughter

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car

by Lala1 from Saint Augustine on Thu Jun 01 2017

This vehicle is great and comfortable. Drives very smooth and fast. Seats up to five people. It's a very reliable car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2004 Volvo XC90

Let me take a moment to introduce myself. I am not an automotive expert or car buff. I am a mother of two young children, and I spend my glamorous days in sweats, driving car pool and running errands. Sadly, I spend more time in my car than any other place. It's this admission that fuels my quest to find the ultimate "mom-mobile."

My first impression of the Volvo XC90 is that it's not your typical SUV. It appears very sophisticated and expensive. I'm a little weary about throwing kids in the backseat, knowing it will soon be littered with cracker crumbs.

My fist task is to install my kids' car seats. The Latch connectors are on the two outer seats of the second row, making car seat installation a... Read More