2016 XC90

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volvo XC90

$20,941 - $37,905  MSRP Range
2016 Volvo XC90

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

66 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Volvo XC90?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 66 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best volvo ever

by don't like cars from Orleans, MA on Wed Dec 23 2015

XC 90 voted the SUV of the year deserves every praise it gets. Having owned many Volvos, this car is the best. (I am 83 years old) It has all the options and I am having fun discovering all of them. It drives very quiet with lots of pover. I used the 2 extra seats the other night to take 5 of my family out for dinner. I probably like best the adaptive cruise control. Almost drives itself. Recommend highly!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Germans have a rival!

by YYZDriver from Toronto, ON on Sat Jan 28 2017

Upgraded 4 mths back from a Mits Outlander as growing kids were finding its third row too small. Looked at the Q7 (3rd row too uncomfy), MDX (didn't like the look of the newer MDX and it wasn't comfy) and the QX60 (a friend who had one recommended against it). The Volvo is a comfy delight to drive. We did have the software slow down after a couple of months. But the update has made the system start quicker again. Overall, very satisfied with the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SUV Say "Suave"

by HAB,DE from Chesapeake City MD on Tue Dec 27 2016

Now have 17,000 miles on the car in ten months. I still love it as much as the day I took delivery. Interior on the inscription in the tan just gets comments form everyone that see the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb Vehicle

by Bob743 from Marietta GA on Fri Jan 08 2016

A great car. New body lines; new interior. Electronics are outstanding and, somewhat, surreal! The car is intuitive and can drive itself--Adaptive Cruise Control; Lane Assist; Park Assist; headlights that bend; 360 degree cameras; blind spot indicators; notification if you appear tired. Great value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This SUV Has It All

by RalphK from Mpls, MN on Tue Jul 26 2016

Purchased the CX90 Inspiration about 6 months ago and can't say enough great things about this SUV. Interior styling with the leather and walnut trim is gorges, Everyone who has gone for a ride tells me how stylish the interior looks. Seats are extremely comfortable and air condition. Don't forget to order the Thor Hammer headlights! The headlights automatically dim, wiper speed adjusts to the rain and they all work like they should. In the dynamic drive mode it showes some realpep for a 4 cylinder. Cap this off with a great Safety rating and there is no other car to consider! There is a reason it's Motor Trends SUV of the year.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most luxurious Volvo I’ve owned

by Volvo Familu from Saint Petersburg, FL on Tue Jan 01 2019

This car meets my families needs. It has a great infotainment system. The chairs are comfortable and it has a lot of safety features. The XC90 T6 suprisongly has a lot of power for a 4-cylinder.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I own

by mythmax from Newcastle, WA on Thu Feb 11 2016

Best car I own. I had other brand and this Volvo is on top of the list. Most comfortable seats and just enjoy driving it all around. The most enjoy tech is the HUD so I can keep focus on the road and the city safety is the best on the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Nice with Some Issues

by V’rdareOfVolvo from Goodyear, AZ on Sun Jun 18 2017

This is a very nice car. I own the R-Design with the Adaptive Air Suspension and the drive modes are awesome. One complaint I do have is that After a few months the left backseat began to squeak every time it was upright or my son sat in it. The brakes also began to squeak. The Sensus tablet-like infotainment is quite intuitive, but it takes a few minutes to load after you start the vehicle. My wife did not know this and tried to start the A/C and it froze up, making us stop the car and restart it. Overall, it is a very nice car with some minor quirks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A New Very Happy Owner

by Joanie from Ithaca on Mon Nov 30 2015

Colby you rock! We've never had an easier time buying a vehicle, Thank you Maguire, you do it right. We drove home a beautiful new car, with all the bells and whistles. This is a car that will make you proud to be driving it. Ask Colby about the car wash story!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by QT from San Antonio, TX on Fri Dec 25 2015

We bought our car in San Antonio with Ray Aguilar. The buying experience was like no other, we didn't have to haggle with the prices nor were we pressured in buying anything. The car itself is great, it has exceeded our expectations. We have a BMW 328i as well and the Volvo is pretty comparable in luxury to the BMW. Love all the cool features in the car, especially the 360 bird-eye view of the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2016 Volvo XC90

The 2016 Volvo XC90 is not only a redesign, it’s a complete overhaul that’s stunning inside and out, with a host of technology that not only impresses, it works instinctively.

One of the first true luxury three-row SUVs on the market, the XC90 has been a huge success, but it took years for Volvo to give such an important car a significant update. Unlike the previous generation, last sold as a 2014 model, the redone XC90 doesn’t offer front-wheel drive. It comes only with all-wheel drive, but still seats seven occupants in three rows. See the 2014 and 2016 compared side by side here.

Exterior & Styling
There’s not a lot of new ground in the realm of SUV styling, so... Read More