2016 XC90

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volvo XC90

$32,454 - $52,082  MSRP Range
2016 Volvo XC90

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

48 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2016 Volvo XC90?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

SUV Say "Suave"

by HAB,DE from Chesapeake City MD on Tue Dec 27 2016

Now have 17,000 miles on the car in ten months. I still love it as much as the day I took delivery. Interior on the inscription in the tan just gets comments form everyone that see the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb Vehicle

by Bob743 from Marietta GA on Fri Jan 08 2016

A great car. New body lines; new interior. Electronics are outstanding and, somewhat, surreal! The car is intuitive and can drive itself--Adaptive Cruise Control; Lane Assist; Park Assist; headlights that bend; 360 degree cameras; blind spot indicators; notification if you appear tired. Great value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most expensive and technicaly advanced suv I've ow

by luxury suv enthusiast from Albuquerque NM on Wed Dec 16 2015

The vehicle performs well and handles great. there is little to no maintenance that can be performed by the owner, this is hard for me coming from a mechanical back ground. Safety is rated top of it's class and with all the features I can see why. I'm leery about the computerized controls but Volvo seems to have a good reputation for reliability and only time will tell. Overall I'm very happy with the vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully styled car

by Luxury Lover from Western Washington on Tue Nov 24 2015

The redesigned Volvo XC90 is beautiful with many new function and convenience features. It nearly drives itself. Also, I love the excellent safety rating of the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I own

by mythmax from Newcastle, WA on Thu Feb 11 2016

Best car I own. I had other brand and this Volvo is on top of the list. Most comfortable seats and just enjoy driving it all around. The most enjoy tech is the HUD so I can keep focus on the road and the city safety is the best on the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best volvo ever

by don't like cars from Orleans, MA on Wed Dec 23 2015

XC 90 voted the SUV of the year deserves every praise it gets. Having owned many Volvos, this car is the best. (I am 83 years old) It has all the options and I am having fun discovering all of them. It drives very quiet with lots of pover. I used the 2 extra seats the other night to take 5 of my family out for dinner. I probably like best the adaptive cruise control. Almost drives itself. Recommend highly!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This SUV Has It All

by RalphK from Mpls, MN on Tue Jul 26 2016

Purchased the CX90 Inspiration about 6 months ago and can't say enough great things about this SUV. Interior styling with the leather and walnut trim is gorges, Everyone who has gone for a ride tells me how stylish the interior looks. Seats are extremely comfortable and air condition. Don't forget to order the Thor Hammer headlights! The headlights automatically dim, wiper speed adjusts to the rain and they all work like they should. In the dynamic drive mode it showes some realpep for a 4 cylinder. Cap this off with a great Safety rating and there is no other car to consider! There is a reason it's Motor Trends SUV of the year.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A New Very Happy Owner

by Joanie from Ithaca on Mon Nov 30 2015

Colby you rock! We've never had an easier time buying a vehicle, Thank you Maguire, you do it right. We drove home a beautiful new car, with all the bells and whistles. This is a car that will make you proud to be driving it. Ask Colby about the car wash story!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent design

by Former Truck driver from HOUSTON TX on Thu May 05 2016

Excellent redesign. Very powerful 4 cylinder super charged engine, but very reasonable gas milage. There are no shortage of safety features.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by QT from San Antonio, TX on Fri Dec 25 2015

We bought our car in San Antonio with Ray Aguilar. The buying experience was like no other, we didn't have to haggle with the prices nor were we pressured in buying anything. The car itself is great, it has exceeded our expectations. We have a BMW 328i as well and the Volvo is pretty comparable in luxury to the BMW. Love all the cool features in the car, especially the 360 bird-eye view of the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2016 Volvo XC90

The 2016 Volvo XC90 is not only a redesign, it's a complete overhaul that's stunning inside and out, with a host of technology that not only impresses, it works instinctively.

One of the first true luxury three-row SUVs on the market, the XC90 has been a huge success, but it took years for Volvo to give such an important car a significant update. Unlike the previous generation, last sold as a 2014 model, the redone XC90 doesn't offer front-wheel drive. It comes only with all-wheel drive, but still seats seven occupants in three rows. See the 2014 and 2016 compared side by side here.

Exterior & Styling
There's not a lot of new ground in the realm of SUV styling, so it pays to go simple. Volvo has no... Read More