2009 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2009 Acura MDX

$8,130 - $17,858  MSRP Range
2009 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

44 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2009 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I own this car- and am HAPPY

by Maverick2008 from Chicago on February 15, 2009

Buy this car- you won't regret it!!!! The styling of the 2nd generation Acura MDX is a big improvement!! Furthermore its interior and handling in aggressive driving are impressive. The use of trick shocks to achieve roll stiffness does have a payoff: Acura MDX's ride quality is clearly superior to that in the sportiest SUVs, from BMW and Infiniti. Noise levels are very low- the new MDX seemed quiet to me on every road surface I've ever driven it on. The 2009 MDX seems an excellent value, especially given it's available competitors (Mercedes, BMW, Audi etc.)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not a city SUV

by MDX09TECH from Washington DC on September 19, 2011

If you are looking for an SUV that has quick pickup and response this is not your SUV. MDX is rated very high, but I am disappointed by its performance. We noticed that there is a delay in pickup and acceleration. In our typical DC commute, we want to change lanes quickly and takeoff. I noticed that there is a drag/delay with MDX that is quite frustrating when you try to accelerate from a signal, stop sign or change lanes. Acura added a lot of control buttons that will confuse almost every one. It will take you a while to see external temperature, reset your trip meter etc. Even the radio does not display station names or song titles. (My 2004 minivan does!). The Navigation system is not very friendly either. My $150 Garmin will display speed limits and street view, where as Acura's do not. There are other irritations too. If you open the sun-glass holder, the glass will fall right down because of the door position (very silly). The ride once you are on a steady speed is good and it handles the road and turns very well. I liked the 3rd row seat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Luxury SUV

by Highly recommend the ACURA MDX from SW, OH on April 2, 2012

This is my first SUV and I could not be more satisfied with the MDX w/Tech package. Just the right combination of features, power, and comfort in a luxury SUV. I chose my certified preowned MDX based on warranty coverage, safety ratings, standard 300hp V6, large screen GPS, powerful cd changer/stereo with subwoofer, Sirus/XM radio, power tailgate/rear camera, third row folding seats if needed, etc. Consumer reports rates this luxery SUV as one of the best and I do not disagree.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wife is very happy

by For the Wife from Camp Hill, PA on April 20, 2013

We've been shopping for about 2 months for my wife, looking at SUVs (Enclave, Toureg, X3, MKV) and this was my wife's favorite by far in looks, comfort and performance. Most SUVs need time to accelerate, but the MDX having a honda motor, just goes when my wife wants to pass someone (very important to her). The car we got had both the Technology and Entertainment package, so basically has all the bells and whistles. She couldn't be happier. My only complain is you have to use premium gas, go with regular and the motor doesn't run as smoothly, but as most people say, if you can afford this car, you can afford the gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

grate but gas is a killer

by nick chicago from CHICAGO,IL on March 16, 2013

They say that is goes 15 in the city and 20 on highway IT IS NOT TRUE ON a highway it does 20mpg if you don't go over 70-80 but in the city 300horsep need so much gas for stop-go traffic it is not funny,best it can go is 12mpg but for short trips to Starbucks and back it is 9mpg in chicago SO IF YOU ARE WORRIED ABOUT GAS THIS IS NOT CAR FOR YOU IF NOT THIS IS GRATE CAR AND I DON'T SEE ANYTHING BETTER TO BUY FOR 30G

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High Luxury & great performance

by Luxury SUV fanatic from Burlington, CT on July 13, 2011

This vehicle is solid...low road noise, upscale materials, great turning radius, bells & whistles beyond beleif. On the downside all technology is not easy to use...NAV is not intutitive & requires much reading of the instructions to operate, and the voice recognition is tricky to use as well. Even though I don't need the 3rd row seat, it is nice to have. I feel safe in the MDX and it's fun to drive. If you want luxury and performance in an SUV, then this car maybe for you to!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Car

by ST from Plainsboro, NJ on May 8, 2009

Awesome! this is the fastest and best car in the market in the SUV range, take BMW and Mercedez-Benz, they only get about horsepower in the 260'range, but this gets 300! awesome ride handling and best comfort. i love this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Our MDX has been a real joy to own.

by Jons2k from Los Gatos, CA on October 22, 2008

Our MDX has been a real joy to own. The cabin is amazingly quiet which is nice on long trips. The sound system is impressive. The acceleration is ample. The turning radius is surprisingly tight for its size, which really comes in handy when it is time to fine a parking spot. The SH-AWD makes it feels like a much lighter car around the turns. The Navigation system is easy to use and especially to use and comes in very handy because it comes with a back-up camera. I feel the Sport version's rim complement the body style best. And most importantly I feel my children and wife are safe in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Acura MDX 2009

by Theomedic from Ann Arbor, Mi on February 27, 2012

The car is very nice and fun to drive. The only things we don't like are the center console set up and the fuel mileage. If the price of gas continues to climb we would trade it in for something better on gas. Great power, nice handling, sporty design. Rides very comfortable for a full time all wheel drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding SUV

by Bob T. from La Quinta, CA on July 16, 2012

Great vehicle, I would not have parted with the vehicle except medical issues made it difficult to get into the vehicle. I already miss the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2009 Acura MDX


I've always had a crush on the Acura MDX, so getting a week to spend in it was kind of exciting. Of course, no fantasy turns out perfectly, and the reality of the MDX was somewhat less than perfect - as reality often is.

While there were no major struggles, there were enough minor hiccups to push the MDX from "love" to "like." There were also a few bugs in the voice control system, which made it less than helpful. However, in the end, I was still sad to see this Acura SUV go.

My favorite part of the MDX is definitely the drive. I love all the power of the 3.7-liter V-6 engine, and the amazing handling of its full-time all-wheel drive. An adjustable suspension system lets you choose how you want to... Read More